We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”
Review of La Mela Stregata

La Mela Stregata
Ranked #10,035 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Bar
Restaurant details
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First thing - toilets. Do not go there, even if you really need it! You can expect toilet like this in Morocco or Turkey, and it's a big suprise in Rome city center. Dirty, full of flyes, no toilet seat.
Food - nothing special, but we are still alive ;) If you are really hungry, you can take it, but it's not cheap and you have got much better choice around. I agree with some people - it is a tourist trap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asc_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    18
    24
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This Can't Be Italy Surely”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently went to Rome and unfortunately the restaurant we had wanted to have lunch in was closed, therefore we took pot luck and went into La Mela Stregata. It was our first meal in Rome and therefore both my wife and I decided to have a pasta dish, what a mistake it was to go in there and an even worse one to eat there.
The pasta was luke warm, a slightly congealed sauce of differing flavours covered each of our meals and on first mouthful we knew that we must have come to the worst restaurant in Rome! We both agreed that the food you get in Carluccio's restaurants in the UK are 10 times better and we could not believe how they had the gall to charge 27 Euros for the two meals together, I will be adding the other restaurant reviews from our trip to Rome and I am happy to say the rest were all excellent and worth a visit. Italian food is fantastic if you visit somewhere where they are not out to just get rich off tourists who have come to the wrong restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OffThePiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“AVOID- RIP-OFF”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Avoid this place at all costs- its an absolute rip-off. €5 for a small can of coke. An absolute tourist trap. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theirishleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great late lunch”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stumbled upon this corner restaurant just across the river from St Peter's square. Outstanding ambience, great food and friendly service. Food was nicely prepared, the tortellini with prosciutto and cream sauce was a highlight. The staff truly made you feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“LADRI! Avoid at all cost! Brutally overpriced”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We paid €20 for 2 cokes, 1 (mediocre) tramezzino and 1 mediocre sandwich (!!!!).

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COST.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RTWTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mela Stregata also viewed

 

Been to La Mela Stregata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing