We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only in the rain”

Antico Caffe del Teatro di Marcelo
Ranked #149 of 160 Coffee & Tea in Rome
Neighbourhood: Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Piazza Venezia / Ancient City
Meyreuil, France
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Only in the rain”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stopped in this little caffe when it was raining and I was touring the Teatro di Marcelo. The refuge wasn't cheap, and the coffee not very good. It is made for the tourists but doesn't do them any favors. Pass it by. There are many better places just a few hundred yards away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    23
    15
    12
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“El Terrible Cafe”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The only cafe we visited in Rome that charged us for the toilet use! Crazy! To me it seems that they are thieves in white-collar shirts!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AC0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced and ordinary”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stopped for a quick snack after walking through Porto Ottavia. A small lemon granita and a thimble-sized coffee drink were 10 euros. As my father used to say, "Cheap at half the price."

This place seems to have earned a reputation for ripping off tourists. You can do much better at the many restaurants on the other side of Porto Ottavia. I'd stay away from Antico Caffe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stingy, nasty staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a Miserable experience there. The staff is nasty and unaccomodating.
I highly recommend they don't get customers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dev1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“6 euros for an ice cream, not that good... ”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Ice cream not amazing. 12 euros for 2 ice cream not artisanal... People not sympatic. Do not visit this place. Or please ask to show the kitchen befor.
A positive point: the free wifi. But that's all.

Helpful?
Thank Thibaut B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Antico Caffe del Teatro di Marcelo also viewed

Giuliano di Roma, Province of Frosinone
 

Been to Antico Caffe del Teatro di Marcelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing