We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome”
Review of Roma Dreaming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roma Dreaming
Ranked #406 of 3,691 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, Awesome, Awesome”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If I ever visit Rome again (I did not throw a coin into the Trevi, but still hope to return), I know where to stay. It will be in Roma Dreaming located very close to Roma San Pietro Station and within a relaxing walk to the Vatican. The historic center of Rome is a short bus ride away. Bus 64 starts just outside the San Pietro Station which will take you to the centro storico area and all the way to Termini. Most of the attractions are located around the Centro Storico and Ancient Rome areas which are accessible by No.64. Just be careful about the pickpocketers while the bus is crowded.

The manager, Alicia is a real gem. Friendly, smiling and always helpful, you will be hard pressed to find a better manager of a hotel. Simply put, Roma Dreaming is a dream place to be.
The Room (Fiori Scarletto) was absolutely fantastic with a private kitchen which opens out onto the spectacular terrace with views of the St. Peter's Basilica. The bed was very comfortable as well. TV with SKY dish can be set-up in English language. The Balcony has great views of the basilica and the uphill running Via Di Monte Del Gallo. There is a safety box in which you could keep your important documents. Wardrobe was good. Bathroom was great too with bath-tub and hot water. You have to be patient for the water to heat-up.

And the breakfast was great which is delivered to your room at the time you prefer. Capuccino, Apple Pie or Croissants, Buns, Youghurt, Orange Juice, Jam, Butter and Honey.

The restaurant which is recommended by the hotel (Osteria dei Pontifici) is very good too.

Overall, 5 out of 5 stars for this jem of a hotel.

If you read this review, take my advice and go for it. You will not repent your decision.

Room Tip: Try booking the scarlett Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viswanathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    69
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed for 3 nights in the lovely, 1st floor 'Pearl' Room, and although we had no view of St Peters Basilica (as we were on the lower floor) we had less steps to climb at the end of our long days walking around Rome & the room more than made up for it. The rooms are spacious, modern & have lots of storage space. The continental breakfast served to your room at your chosen time is a great touch & the option of using the shared kitchen was perfect for our last night where we cooked and ate out on our quiet private balcony. Felt like we had our own apartment as we never had to share our kitchen with anyone, amd was great to have a fridge to keep drinks in.
The ladies at reception were great. Incredibly helpful (printed off our voucher for the Vatican and left it in our room whilst we were out), very friendly, approachable & helped us research our train times for our departure.
The location was perfect. Away from all the noise and hustle and bustle of the historical centre.
Its set on the same side of the river as the Vatican and Trasevere, and is just a 2 minute walk up the hill from St Peters train station. You get to experience a tiny bit of real Roman suburban life away from all the central tourist traps & big name hotels & coaches. To walk to the centre of St Peters square at the Vatican took approx 6/10mins. To walk to the Trevi Fountains took 30/40mins from the Roma Dreaming hotel. A nice pleasant walk but the no.64 bus however takes you into town for €1.50. The hotel is ideally positioned with St Peters train station & the bus station for the no.64 bus both being only a 2 minute walk away. The no.64 bus goes right through the centre of town to/from Termini and goes to/from St Peters station 2 mins away from the hotel. It does get very busy though & I can now see why pickpockets would target this bus with everyone crammed together like sardines. However we encountered no problems but remained alert at all times & carried minimal valuables around with us.
If arriving into Fumicino airport I recommend getting the local train (FR1) to Trasevere (approx 20mins) & then 1 change and on to St Peters station (approx 5mins). These local trains are very cheap, very regular and ran with only very small delays of a few minutes. The other option is to get one of the shuttle trains or coaches from Fumicino to Termini station (over in the east of Rome) but then you would have to get the no.64 bus back across town to the hotel. With suitcases and how busy this bus always seemed to be I would not have wanted to do the journey with all my bags. The local trains were by far easier. Taxi from Termini or from Trasevere is your other option.
My only 1 very small gripe with the hotel was that our lovely modern bathroom with power shower and side wall jets never got any warmer than tepid & did have a tendancy to flood part of the floor. But with enough towels down it was no problem & the temperature was fine for a quick shower. Really not enough of a problem to let worry you with such a great place in all other respects. Would not hesitate to recommend or return on a future visit to the fantastic city of Rome. A GREAT place to stay in Rome.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PIR-SLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad, Arad, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 27-31.08 in the ECRU Room.

1. The room was great , very clean with nice balcony , mini bar and all that you need. Our room had a bath tub with water jets witch was great and very relaxing after 12 hours of walking in Rome.
The hotel is very near to S. Peter train station (5 min walking ) from were you can take the FL5 train to Termini or you can take the 34 bus (runs only until 9:00 PM) to Cavallegleri and from there 46 to Termini and it's 10-15 min walking to S. Peter square.
The personnel is 24/7 available and the entrance is always watched so you can feel really secure.
We had a shared kitchen which was equipped with all you need to cook a small dinner or to cool some beverages .So overall it's a 10 grade hotel!

2. The whole staff it's very very helpful and nice, they gave us some great advices on what to visit and how to get there very easy. Also we want to thank Cecil for recommending us a great restaurant in Travestere (Carlo Menta - Via lungareta 101 ) were we had our last dinner in Rome , great food and even greater prices ( ~30 euro for 2 persons in which we had antipasti, main course and desert ) so for the staff i give an 10+ :).
If you visit Rome I highly recommend this hotel!
And for the staff - Thank you again for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in the Blue Room and it was large and very comfortable. It had a fully-equipped kitchen and dining area. We had a view of St. Peter's from the balcony. Nice central location, near the Vatican and the S. Pietro train station. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was okay but it was nice that it was served in the room. Overall, it was a great stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slyManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I picked Roma dreaming for a short stay, (2/3 August) from the good reviews on this site and they were spot.

I was very impressed with the staff; they could not have been more helpful. The rooms are far better than expected for the price, very well presented, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was lovely and delivered at your requested time. Fantastic value for the money we paid.

The local restaurant recommended by the staff at Roma Dreaming was perfect, great food and well priced. The only bad point was a bar localted across the road from the hotel, (Bar Itigli) drinks were vastly over priced and staff were not particularly friendly, lesson learned; stick to the recommendations! definately one to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spend 4 days at the hotel on our trip through Italy.
The rooms are nice and clean with good air condition, which is essential in the period we visited (35-40 degrees). The breakfast was good and served in your room by the time you choose.
The location is close to the Vatican and has a supermarket nearby. The staff was really nice and did their best to help us out with all the things we should see in the few days we were in Rome.
We felt very comfortable and welcomed and will definitely choose this hotel again if going back to Rome
Can be recommended at all times!

Room Tip: Good value for the money and very nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonaskjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Roma Dreaming is a beautiful boutique-feel apartment. The receptionists were both very friendly and provided us with all the necessary information. The apartment itself was spotless and felt very modern, with a comfortable bed and a shared kitchen.

There is a lift which is handy for transporting your luggage and the place is very secure, with a modern security system.

The location is great - about 300m walk to the San Pietro station which takes you to any of the main Rome train stations. There is also a bus stop nearby which takes you to the Colosseum and other sites. It is also within walking distance (about 15 mins) to the Vatican which is very convenient.

The only downside with this place was that the shower was cold. The water was lukewarm for a short period of time then went cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Gravina San Pietro
#469 of 1,261 in Rome
450 reviews
Fragrance Hotel St.Peter
#114 of 1,261 in Rome
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#312 of 1,261 in Rome
573 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#334 of 1,261 in Rome
616 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#254 of 1,261 in Rome
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Dreaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Dreaming

Property: Roma Dreaming
Address: Via di Monte del Gallo 62, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 3,691 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Dreaming 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roma Dreaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing