We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our GO-TO hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel Adriano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Adriano
Ranked #182 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed here at the Adriano several times over the last several years and it is always our first choice of hotel when we are in Rome. Eleonora at the front desk dutifully arranges our airport transfers, remembers our favorite rooms, and books all of our restaurants. During our visit last month we arrived in Rome for one night then had to go to Bologna the next morning for business to return 3 days later to Rome. The hotel had our rooms ready when we arrived in the early morning and then put us in the same rooms upon our return. There was a very nice gift awaiting us on our return. The hotel has a great lobby bar where we can meet colleagues and clients and is in the perfect location for touring and shopping and business dinners. We prefer the deluxe rooms, actually room 122 is my favorite. A bit noisy, but it gets morning sun and is close to the stairs and lobby. I understand the rooms on the 4th floor are spectacular….. Next time!

Room Tip: I prefer to use the steps verses elevators so I like lower floors. However I understand the rooms on...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments and for continuing to select our Hotel Adriano for your preferred Hotel in Rome.
We are happy that you appreciated our Staff, Services, amenities and facilities.
For your next visit we look forward to booking your room on the fourth floor.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Adriano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The term 4* is getting so loose these days. It seems to me that if you have a room with a modern bathroom in it and a good breakfast, that is about it.

Well that's the Adriano. I am sure it will be popular for years to come. My special booking engine (none of the usual ones) found this hotel for €250 for 3 nights including breakfast. It was a good breakfast too so no gripes there.

Two points about the room. No draw space at all. The other thing, and you can see this in the Trip Advisor photo, the bathroom has no door, just a curtain and the toilet is so near the bed that romantic couples will need to work out some pretty nifty manoeuvres to keep the romance going. Bring some ear plugs and a scented candle as these are not provided.

In my room the air conditioning was not working. No worries here as it was winter. But if you like to sleep with the window open in Rome, well you sleep with a lot of Rome too. The Hotel is a stone's throw from a very big Carabinieri station so you can go to sleep to the sound of the two toned horn going off at irregular intervals throughout the night and wake to chorus of workmen banging garage doors and whatever - a sort of Messianic percussion piece.

Still, lets finish on a positive note. The staff are friendly, the atrium is comfortable, there is free Wifi in all rooms which cuts out at regular intervals just to continue the delightful surprises this hotel has to offer.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank beaucart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We would like to remind all our Guests that although Hotel Adriano seems like a four star hotel due to our decor and services, we are a three stars hotel so instead of loosing a point we gained some! To be a four star hotel it's not only due to a room with a modern bath and a good breakfast.

The rate you paid for your stay was exceptional ( normally the price for a pensione) ... you were in the center of Rome, very close to all of the major sights: Pantheon, Navona Square, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc., in a full service hotel with rennovated rooms, many large sitting areas, an atrium, two large Breakfast rooms, reading areas and the newly added Gin Bar, two elevators and all of this in XVII century historic building.

All our rooms have different typologies and layouts, the classics have solid wood doors, Superior and Deluxe rooms have glass doors; in some of therooms the curtains separate the bath tub and sink from the room whereas there is a glass door separating the toilet from the bath area in other rooms there are two glass doors.

We really don't know where you got the information about the Carabinieri Station nearby, there is none. During the winter we turn off our air conditioning system due to the external temperature and not due our personal choice. During the night the external temnperature ranges from 3 to 5 degrees, if you were to turn off the heat in your room the room itself would be cool but if you choose to open the window you could hear the sounds of the area. We also have interior rooms, did you ask to change to one of those?

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a family member and it was a great choice! The location of the hotel is perfect to walk around and see all the sites of Rome. The city is so easy to explore on foot, and you discover so many gorgeous streets, buildings and churches so this is a great location to allow you to do so. Hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious, ideal for several nights stay. We particularly enjoyed the new Gin bar at the hotel, great for pre-dinner drinks or a night cap. The waiters are really friendly and inventive for customers, also providing appetizers which I thought was a really nice touch. Breakfast was great every morning, a big selection to choose from. Will definitely be staying here again when we come back to Rome and have booked the hotel again for my parents staying in February. Thanks for a wonderful stay and making us feel at ease.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spursenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with such kind words on our Hotel Adriano.
It pleases us to hear that you were recommended, that you enjoyed your stay enough to suggest it to your parents next February. The word of mouth is the best advertising !

We are enthused that you appreciated our New Gin Bar "The Gin Corner", we take this opportunity to let you know that it is the first Gin Bar in Italy and a few days ago it won an award for Innovation in the Category of New Format 2014.
We are also happy to hear that our Staff was incredibly friendly and that you felt at ease, this is a great accomplishment.

We await your next visit and we are pleased to welcome your parents very soon.

We wish you a Happy Holiday Season to you and yours.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

nice hotel, central location, you can walk to everything including Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. Rooms are clean and bright, staff was helpful and friendly. great breakfast with lots of choices and lobby bar area. Would recommend a stay there decent value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btomasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your positive comments.
We are glad that you appreciated our location, to reach all the major sights of Rome, our Hotel and its services, staff and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel Adriano in the near future.
We take this opportunity to wish you and yours a Happy Holiday.
All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Its winter in Rome, and there are many good deals to be had at hotels all over the city, but I chose the Adriano because the photos looked nice and it was well reviewed. I was surprised when I arrived at the beautiful hotel lobby, but was led to the 'Annex,' which is actually an apartment building a few doors down from the hotel which the hotel owns several rooms in on the top floor. The entrance way to this building is dirty and grungy, with tenants' garbage and old furniture partially blocking the door, it is not an attractive building. Then I was led up to the top floor to my room, which had not had the heat turned on prior to my arrival, so it was freezing cold. The place was eerily quiet as if no one else was staying there. The room was ok, could have been cleaner, there were hairs from past guests in the shower which was a bit gross. The safe could not be opened. I could not close the window unless I basically slammed it shut, and I did not understand how to do this at first so it flew open while I was out for the evening and my room was freezing cold again when I returned. The woman at the desk was rude and unhelpful when I asked to be moved to another room. She sent someone to look at the window for me, but no one told me it had been fixed, so I stood there in the lobby waiting while she just continued to ignore me and did not bother giving me an update. Basically, if you go for one of their annex rooms, you are treated like a lower class guest that they resent being there or something, but they are happy to take your money for a sub-par experience. You can get much better deals on real hotel rooms at other places in the city, so steer clear of this place. Also, as Italian bank machines are known for giving two fifties when one takes out 100 Euros, I asked the man at the front desk of Adriano to give me two twenties and a ten for one of the fifties for my taxi ride, and he rolled his eyes at me and sad no. It was very rude. No explanation or anything, just 'No,' as if I were asking for some huge thing. I had very limited contact with the front desk, and the times I did talk to them they were unsmiling, unfriendly, and irritable. Not impressed at all with these people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneCb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel.

We are taking this opportunity to remind everyone that at the time of booking, on our website, the Domus Adriani is a well described: Exclusive rooms, are located in the Annex of Hotel Adriano a few steps away from the Hotel.

The annex is a historic building with typical ancient features such as a small entrance in which only afterwards was added an elevator that accomodates a maximum of two people.
The building is a condominium building and inspite of our efforts to maintain the area pristine, we cannot controll the behaviour of the condominium residents. In addition, there is a law for the centre of Rome that mandates refuse containers for organic matter to be kept in the entrance of buildings. So we want eveyone to clearly understand the situation when booking their rooms in the Domus Adriani.

Meanwhile we want to emphasize that the beauty, the illumination, the decor details and the lovely terraces our guests can benefit from in this annex are to be appreciated.

About the heat of your room, it takes five minutes to heat up and we let our guests regulate their temperature. It's well known that Rome's winter temperatures are mild.

It's unusual that a guest would complain about their room beeing too quiet, it's because of our construction of quality windows which block out the noise from the street!!!
At the time you asked how to close the window we sent someone up quickly to show you how, the window was ok and we would like to remind you that our staff suggested changing your room.

Your assumption that we treat our guests differently depending on where they are staying is completely erroneous and offensive. We treat all of our guest equally.

Our staff works and does their best to accomodate the needs of our guests and not the contrary.
We apologize if you felt otherwise.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A very nice side street hotel! The room was very clean and the breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy! We even had scrambled eggs for a change! It is in a great location and in walking distance to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

A real accomplishment, the best breakfast in Italy!!!!!!
Thank you very much for that comment.

Looking forward to your return.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Loved the location, the breakfast, the room, small but ample. We were even welcomed by a crush of 100 judges and their guests on our first night -- there were so many people in the lobby that it was difficult to cut through to get to the street. Strange they did not warn us about the reception -- the lobby area is not particularly set up for such a party. My husband did mention that the it was a bonus to see the beautiful Italian women in cocktail attire up-close and-personal. There were photo albums in one of the lounge areas that showed the street blocked off for parties outside. Looked like it would enjoyable to be invited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BG1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy that you appreciate our location, breakfast buffet and room.

We apologize for the fact that we did not post the cocktail party for the judges but due to security reasons we were advised not to.

The photos you are referring to were taken at the party to celebrate the rennovation of the Hotel and the other album refers to the annual Christma Shopping Event that we sponsor.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#80 of 1,267 in Rome
673 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
1,573 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#233 of 1,267 in Rome
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,267 in Rome
858 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#157 of 1,267 in Rome
1,710 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#132 of 1,267 in Rome
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriano

Address: Via di Pallacorda 2, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Rome
#129 Family Hotel in Rome
#198 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £89 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriano 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an elegant 17th century building in the historic centre of Rome, Hotel Adriano is very close to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and the Spanish Steps. It's just a few steps away from Parliament, the Trevi Fountain and from the most elegant shopping district. It's the ideal location for anyone staying in the capital on business or pleasure. But it is more than that. It is also a meeting place and a reference point, not only for guests but for locals to promote their events and activities.Managed by the Ricci Family who this year will be celebrating their 50th year aniversary. The hotel was recently renovated. With its relaxing and cozy atmosphere, the rooms are a perfect blend of design, tradition and attention to detail, providing both refined elegance and a home away from home.Our guests can enjoy each and every part of our hotel. It's starts at the reception area, with its large curved Welcome Desk which leads to our new bar The Gin Corner,with its 90 brands of Gin from all over the world, and the winter garden lounge. Not to mention the elegant and cozy bedrooms, the breakfast rooms, where rich buffets are served every morning, with our Technogym with treadmill, bicycle, weights and free weights and the well-equipped meeting rooms.Our discrete, professional and friendly staff are constantly working to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Adriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriano Hotel Rome
Hotel Adriano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing