We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant room with a terrace close to all the attractions”
Review of Hotel Adriano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Adriano
Ranked #179 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were delighted to find a room, not only with a terrace but also smoking allowed! Our room was in the annexe, on the 4th floor, It would only suit those who are fit to climb stairs. There is a tiny lift that will carry 2 people to the 3rd floor but only works if the internal doors are shut & not everyone closes them. This was the only problem though - I would definitely recommend it. The annexe gives you a real feel of living in Rome, the other 3 floors are private residences.
Breakfast is in the hotel. Buffet offering scrambled eggs & bacon, boiled eggs, cheese, cold meat, toast, rolls, fruit, both fresh & tinned, cereal, yoghurts, coffee, selection of teas, fruit juice, warm croissants & muffins. I tried a wholegrain croissant out of curiosity & loved it!
The air conditioning broke down half way through our stay, we reported it & it was working again within a few hours. The room was a decent size, large by Rome standards, the bathroom had a large 2 person shower (with 2 shower heads, rainfall & normal) toilet & bidet. There is a TV but the channels are all Italian speaking. There was a safety deposit box & a mini bar beside the closet which were located behind a large mirror partition which swiveled round.
There was a kitchen area on the left as you enter the hotel floor, where you can make tea & coffee, kettle, sachets of coffee, sugar, sweetener & tea bags & a Nespresso machine with supplies.
The terrace is shared with 2 other rooms but each has its own table & 2 chairs and catches the sun all afternoon. The view is the triangle of 3 streets meeting down below.
The reception staff all spoke good English but not all the staff do.
The location is fantastic, it's so central! 10 mins to the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Piazza Popolo , Piazza Narvona, Pantheon. The Colesseum is about 20 mins walk as is the Vatican. We went for a wander after we arrived & found the Trevi fountain without trying!
A street map (supplied at check in) is essential. Finding you way back to the hotel is difficult as it is not on a main road but armed with the map you will be fine

Room Tip: Smoking is very common in Rome so make sure you specify your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We were thrilled to read your detailed, positive review of our Hotel Adriano.

We are happy that you appreciated our annex Domus Adriani as it is more or like staying in an apartment in the heart of Rome. This ambiance is conducive to a typical apartment in a Palazzo in Rome and you "got it".

Regarding the channels on the Tv we would like to clarify that in all the rooms of the Domus Adriani you also have SKY TV so that English channel are available.

Thank you also for commenting positively on our breakfast, our location and reception staff.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

about 40 minutes from the airport.very central and easy to walk to Vatican,trevi fountain,pantheon,piazza navona,Spanish steps,borgese gardens.very modern superior double room although no view at all from window but not that fussed.comfy bed.good shower and comfy slippers thrown in!really good continental breakfast.friendly staff.gin bar in hotel pretty nice but slightly pricey but would definitely go back and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on our Hotel Adriano.

We appreciated the fact that you will recommend our Hotel to others and that you were pleased with our location, your room with its comfy bed, our continental breakfast, friendly staff and out Gin bar. I take this opportunity to state that our gin drinks go from €10 up to 18 depending on which gin and tonic water you select.

We look forward to seeing you agin.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel adriano Will not disappoint. 10-15 min walking distance to all famous sites. Beautiful Boutique hotel which has kept its charm as well as being modernised. we had room 305, which was on the corner so double aspect windows which was lovely. great modern bathroom, comfy bed, tv, mini bar,hairdryer.cleaned daily. You Will get noise at night as you're in the city but with windows shut and air con on we slept well. breakfast was superb..scrambled eggs,bacon,ham,cheeses,cakes, toast,fruit,cereal, coffees,tea...the list was endless. hotel staff were great . The gin corner, (hotel bar) was great for night cap...we are very choosy when it comes to hotels and this is a great hotel in a good location with great staff/facilities(even has small gym!) .can definitely recommend and Will definitely return...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your very positive review of our Hotel Adriano.
We also appreciated your thoroughness in describing all of the aspects of our Hotel and services.

We are quite pleased that you enjoyed your stay, recommended our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Would you like to stay in the center of Rome ? Choose Hotel Adriano. The location is the best ! As soon as you step outside you are just a few minutes a way from Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Fontana di Trevi, and the Spanish stairs. Many of the rooms are recently renovated. They are bright and clean. But the mattresses are hard as they usualy are in Italy. The breakfast is also good, with eggs and bacon etc. A minus: The breakfastroom can be a bit overcrowded.
If you want pay a bit higher to stay in the center of Rome, choose Adriano.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a positive review.
Thank you for also encouraging others to stay in our Hotel Adriano.

We hope to welcome you again on your next vist to Rome.

All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were a group consisting of 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 8 years. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late march. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment. We booked directly with the hotel online but they had problems processing the credit card payment. It was eventually sorted out.

The hotel is in a excellent location. Only 5 minutes walk to the pantheon and the best gel atria in Rome, Giolitti! The apartment was not bad size given the central locate. The hotel staff are all very friendly. The apartment had a double bedroom and a double sofa bed in the lounge. The sofa bed was already made up when we arrived. The room was quite dark and faced out over adjacent buildings. There was a small kitchen but not well stocked enough with utensils to cook anything significant. We were pleased to have the fridge and sink though. The bathroom was clean and stocked with toiletries. The rooms in the adjacent block ar emote modern and Brit but the apartment was I the older block. The lobby area was lovely with lots of seating and a gin bar that we never visited and looked pretty quiet. The Wifi was fine and reliable. The breakfast was ok, as good as can be expected in a small-ish hotel. There were cooked items and various pastries and a couple of fresh juices.

There is a small supermarket about 7 minutes walk away for any essential items.

We had a problem at check out when they billed our room for minibar items not consumed but that was rectified when we explained.

It was 25 minutes walk to the vatican entrance and about 30 minutes walk to the coliseum. It is very close the river Tiber which is pleasant to walk by. They have a taxi pickup service from the airport for 55 euros but you could quite easily and cheaply catch a bus from the airport if you could work out the local buses. As we were travelling with kids on a very early flight, we took the prebooked taxi and it was very efficient and pleasant.

Overall the value for money ( rome hotels are quite expensive ) and location of this hotel means we would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms in the new block appear to be more updated and modern than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your appreciation of our Hotel, services and location.
We are pleased that you found the apartment accomodating and we apologize not having enough utensils and we are rectifying the situation.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rome.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel Adriano is in Rione Campo Marzio, at the corner of Via di Pallacorda (Jeu de paume; the street where Caravaggio killed his opponent in that game) and Via d'Ascanio (not Aeneas' son but the Milanese cardinal Ascanio Sforza, brother of Ludovico il Moro, and patron of Josquin Desprez), facing Palazzo Firenze where the Società Dante Alighieri has its headquarters; a ten minutes' walk from metro Spagna. (But definitely not "a few steps away" from the Trevi fountain, as stated on the website). On arrival I was assigned a room at the rear of the third floor, which smelled fuggy and was right above the airco machines. Luckily I could change to a first floor room on via Pallacorda, much more spacious and perfectly adequate. (Except for poor lighting above the writing desk). The gentleman warned me that there would be even more confusione there. Via Pallacorda however proved quiet at night; but due to construction works going on at the garage right next to me, I was woken up abruptly every morning at 6.30 AM. This being the room above the entrance, I also received the occasional cigarette whiff from beneath.
Strangely, every morning some ladies were selling spectacles in the lounge (which during evening and night has annoying music). In a smaller room there was an internet point which proved very practical to me. Breakfast is really low quality (bad juice, prebaked pastries, one cheese and one ham variety of the cheapest kind). I had a raw egg, but then had forgotten to look at the cooking instructions. Caffè americana as usual barely drinkeable, but you can order Italian coffee. Still, it is about time that Italians catering for foreigners decide to make decent North-European style coffee, since one really can't have a full (un-Italian) breakfast with a caffè even lungo or a cappuccino. Staff is friendly and helpful, with Julio as a perfect cleaner, and the atmosphere is relaxed. A world apart from that memorably horrible Genio.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarnefelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We have noticed with pleasure that you read with attention the explanation of the neighborhood.

About the Breakfast we are sorry that you didn't appreciate it but many of our guests write about how good and plentiful the breakfast is. Everyone has different tastes. Regarding the egg we have on the buffet a machine for boiling on your own, so our guests decide to cook it to their own needs.

All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel Adriano is a great find, it's elegant, clean, very good price and the staff is friendly without being intrusive. The common areas are very nice, average room is, average. I would upgrade next time. My room though serviceable and clean was tiny (but that is common here, so fine) and it's window opened into the shaft with a open door abutting from the outside which felt like someone could easily crawl into my window. Though it may be noisier during the day (night time is fairly quiet in this particular area, I would ask for a room with windows overlooking the street. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an upper level room with windows facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you consider Hotel Adriano a great find.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in Rome in our Superior or Deluxe room.
We are pleased that you appreciated our common areas to relax in and that you highly recommed us to others.

All the Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#82 of 1,269 in Rome
680 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#240 of 1,269 in Rome
355 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Cesari
Albergo Cesari
#110 of 1,269 in Rome
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,269 in Rome
1,565 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriano

Address: Via di Pallacorda 2, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Rome
#129 Family Hotel in Rome
#198 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £86 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriano 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an elegant 17th century building in the historic centre of Rome, Hotel Adriano is very close to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and the Spanish Steps. It's just a few steps away from Parliament, the Trevi Fountain and from the most elegant shopping district. It's the ideal location for anyone staying in the capital on business or pleasure. It's manged by the Ricci Family, who have celebrated their 50th anniversary in 2015. With its relaxing and cozy atmosphere, the rooms are a perfect blend of design, tradition and attention to detail with a refined elegance. Our bar, The Gin Corner, offers more than 100 brands of Gin from all over the world. Our rich buffets are served every morning in our breakfast rooms. Our gym is equiped with Technogym equipment with treadmill, bicycle, weights and free weights. We also have meeting rooms for business and exhibitions. Our professional and friendly staff are constantly working to make our guests feel at home. Please visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriano Hotel Rome
Hotel Adriano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing