We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent breakfast included”
Review of Hotel Romulus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romulus
Ranked #1,042 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast included”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights in at the end of May 2011. Overall it was a great experience . The area was a bit seedy it's off of a highway where prostitutes stand by. However, there is a bus right in front of the hotel that takes you to the center of Rome. Also, the property is gated so I had no fear for my safety here. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is decent. Traditional European breakfast is served. Do not expect bacon my American counterparts! The espresso was really good. I would stay here again because of the facility of public transportation and cleanliness. One more thing complimentary maps of Rome with bus routes are provided by the front desk! total tourist bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle_travelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Romulus_Rome, Manager at Hotel Romulus, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank You very much for sending our hotel You impressions, we are sorry You found the area seedy, however we appreciated that You felt safe and like our services.
Thanking You once again for having notified us Your impressions, we await for Your next reservation with which we are pleased to grant a special gift to celebrate Hotel Romulus 50th anniversary in style, together with our best guest.
Sincerely Yours
Mr. Massimo Mencucci
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    90
    84
    48
    50
See reviews for
60
108
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UDINE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is small, with a very friendly people at the reception and it is clean. Yes, it’s located out from Rome (but there is available a free shuttle service to the center of Rome). It's not so far from the Stadio Olimpico (15€ of taxi cost): that was my reason for the travel. I would like to remarque that I forgot my jacket in the wardrobe of the room and the assistants were very collaborative to help me with the organization of the delivery by courier at my home. Really thanks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,


Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding Your recent stay.

The information You wrote are very useful, thank You for remarking that our Hotel is very clean and the Staff very collaborative, these are two important values of our company policy.

We thank You again for Your stay and we look forward to hearing from You.

Best Regards,


Corrado Curcio
Hotel Romulus
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What to say about Hotel Romulus?
The worst location ever! We were coming back from the city centre late at night and even though I'm not a person who gets easly scared, I was constantly looking over my shoulder.
We were told there was a swimming pool and yes, there was... big, inflamable, empty paddling pool, hidden behind the scaffolding, that we couldn't access. Massive dissapointment, hence that was the reason why we've choosen this hotel!
Massive mould in the shover didn't make me want to jump in and refresh after sleepless night ,due to the fact that another guest, next room decided to watch TV untill 2am.
Being woken up at around 6am by other hotel guests and screeming children, is not the best start of the day but you could hope that the breakfast might make it all up for it. Not in this case! The choice of breakfast was between a dry bread roll or cheap cereals, no scramblled egg or at least a fresh fruit. We had to buy our own food and eat on the bed in our room!
The only good word I've got to say is about the staff working behind the desk. They were very friendly and helpful.
All and all - waste of money!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank emilia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romulus, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank You for stay at Hotel Romulus.

Even if You wrote that is a waste of money, please give us the chance to clarify some points.

The location of the Hotel is in the northern part of Rome, in a Business area with important company headquarters like Sky television and near important parks like Villa Ada and Villa Borghese (not walking distance) and it is not a dangerous area.

As we always tell to our Guests, if You have any problem during the stay, please inform us and we will be more than glad to help You.

Regarding the breakfast we serve the continental breakfast with a big choose of different kind of croissant, cakes and coffee, tea and fruit juice. American breakfast is on request with an extra charge.

We looking forward to welcoming You again to Hotel Romulus in the future and we send our

Best Regards,

Corrado Curcio
Hotel Romulus
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hotel would be perfect if it have good location. But now this hotel is very far from the centre and there near the bus stop always (day or night) are "working" prostitutes (i don't know, maybe for some it's the advantage of hotel:D). I do not recommend this hotel for my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Zivile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a bad experience staying at this hotel. The bus stop was near some prostitutes and it took us more than 1 hour to get to Rome each day (1 way).

The breakfast was okay. We met some friends in Rome who showed us other hotels near for about the same price. Please do not go to this hotel.

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This place was so far from Rome (sometimes it took me an hour to get to Rome). I also took the bus and found many pickpockets checking purses.

You can see the prostitutes waiting for clients in front of the hotel....(you can imagine...).

It was my first trip to Rome and I had to come to this terrible "hotel"

The front desk staff was extremely impolite.

I feel so bad I spent my money here.....stay away please.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I wish I would have read that part that said that the hotel was far from the city...I guess I missed it but the hotel is about an hour away from the city which is obviously the biggest inconvenience. I was very concerned after reading the reviews about how the breakfast was bad and noise from the highway but it was just not true. The breakfast was very good a lot of variety. Loved the pinapple juice :) The staff was ok not too friendly but certainly not rude. Yes the rooms are a little outdated but what we really liked was the bathroom because it was very clean. The noise from the highway was defenitely not a problem. Yes we did see the prostitutes which was fun lol but who cares about them they don't bother anyone. The shuttle service is a joke to me really why take me to a station when I still have to get to another station to go to main terminal it just didn't make much sense. Don't expect to watch too much television as there were no english channels :( But overall the stay is ok it's good for the price. But it's best if you spend the little extra money and stay somewhere a little closer to the main terminal at least.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Giocca
Hotel La Giocca
#738 of 1,256 in Rome
144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#502 of 1,256 in Rome
231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Aniene
Hotel Aniene
#770 of 1,256 in Rome
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#942 of 1,256 in Rome
195 reviews
12.0 mi away
Palacavicchi Hotel
Palacavicchi Hotel
#1,054 of 1,256 in Rome
423 reviews
12.9 mi away
Marini Park Hotel
Marini Park Hotel
#430 of 1,256 in Rome
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romulus

Property: Hotel Romulus
Address: Via Salaria 1069, 00138 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,042 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romulus 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Romulus Hotel, your home designed by us! Would you like something different from the large, impersonal hotel with strutting waiters and friendly staff but no warmth? Want that homely feeling? The Romulus hotel is the answer you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romulus Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing