We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, public transport tricky but doable”
Review of Hotel Degli Aranci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Aranci
Ranked #346 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this elegant small hotel in a quiet residential area. My single (5) was a small but spacious basement room, with a very comfortable bed, air conditioning, bathtub and large, soft bathsheet - very clean and well-maintained. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and included some delicious homemade cakes but not quickly replenished after 9am.
For central Rome, turn right out of reception and take the 217 from the Bertoloni (Lagrange) stop - this is the one you need to get off at too when coming from Termini. An alternative is to get off at Santiago del Cile, cross the street and take Via Lagrange uphill. When you get to the top of the road, you'll see the hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Be wary of this hotel ~ We never got to stay there ~ rocked up after a 20 hour flight to be told we don't have a room for you and shifted us out to a "SISTER" Hotel much farther out of the City Wall ~ when we got to the other hotel other customers had had the same experience ~ THIS IS WRONG FOR ANY HOTEL TO DO ~ if there is no room or you are full DO NOT TAKE BOOKINGS TO FILL YOUR OTHER MOTEL STYLE HOTEL ~ was totally disgusted with the whole attitude to it by the staff ~ WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE ~ BE VERY WARY WHEN BOOKING HERE !!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
12  Thank BlueEyedKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed from for four nights,excellent hotel but a little far away from public transportation. Beware that the ingoing and outgoing bus stops of 217 are not the same. The bus stop from termini to the hotel is at the Bertoloni which is quite a long walk, while the bus stop from the hotel to the termini is at the Bertoloni (Lagrange) which is very close. Also beware of the trains and bus working hours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Areham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, in a nice leafy suburb about 6-7 mins walk to Villa Borghese. Villa Borghese is a beautiful oasis in the middle of Rome....a historic villa set in magnificent, large manicured gardens....a fantastic place for a walk, jog or lunch in the lovely cafeshop/restaurant overlooking the lake. From Villa Borghese its about another 10 mins walk to Piazza del Popolo - where all the historic attractions, designer shops and chic bars start. There is a very charming terrace at the hotel where you can have dinner. I did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on that, but breakfast was good. Room was clean and nicely furnished with all the expected mod cons (air con, fridge, hairdryer etc.). Overall I was very pleased with what I got for such an affordable price. Would definitely stay here again :-) The only complaint I have is that I had a problem with my booking on the lastminute.com website....but that was totally unrelated to the hotel itself. Would not recommend booking through lastminute - you may end up paying double compared to booking directly on the hotel website!!!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel through lastminute.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Jennie1980_13
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at the Hotel "Degli Aranci"
I was happy to read that you found our hotel good and enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which offers a large variety of foods trying to meet all tastes.
We regret that you found our location not convenient according to the majority of our guests that consider our Hotel good opportunity to relax, enjoy the green and to unwind after a busy day in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed from 6th June for four nights, the hotel is in a lovely quiet residential area, short bus ride to the centre of town. Comfortable rooms with good facilities. The staff were all friendly and helpful including the barman whose English was only marginally better than my Italian!! Breakfast on the terrace was a treat. Had dinner in the hotel on our first night and although not a large menu it was excellent.

Would definitely reccommend the hotel.

Not a complaint, but a suggestion - some comfier seats on the terrace would just be icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear "Aileen6",
Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, good service, relaxed ambient .
We are very much grateful for your compliments!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the "Htl degli Aranci" on your next visit to Rome!
With best regards.
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we first arrived in Roma. The neighborhood is outside of the city center just a short walk north of Villa Borghese with a good amount of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is nice, the room was clean and comfortable although slightly noisy from the shared wall with the lift/elevator shaft (room 165). Additionally the room is on a front corner of the hotel and a few of the spotlights shone directly into the room. Thankfully the electric shutters allow for complete blackout for a good night's sleep. The neighbor does have a dog though, so we were woken in the mornings a little earlier than we would have liked. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful while we found the restaurant staff at breakfast to be a little less so (we only had breakfast once, so this could have been an off day). Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 165 for the noise, otherwise it's sunny, comfortable and clean with a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena_laire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Lena,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the "Degli Aranci" Hotel and your positive comments regarding our hotel service and staff. Be sure I will share everything with them!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and you liked our Hotel, which is always a good chance to relax after a busy day or a long walk in the city.
We are also glad you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.
Thanking you again for your positive feedback and to have chosen our hotel I send you my
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Parioli is a very nice area to stay for a city break, with a few good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Easy access to city centre via 217 bus (bus stop 100 metres from hotel) Hotel well presented and furnished to a high standard. Very comfortable, food excellent and staff very helpful - very good value for money!
However, if possible, avoid Rooms 75 (very small, though comfortable with good bathroom facilities) or 100 as they are located on the ground floor, are not part of the main building and are both very near to the small car park and hotel reception area which can be very noisy up until midnight.
Otherwise, our stay was very enjoyable, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 75 and 100 for reasons given above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Robert R,
Thank you for your wonderful review and to have chosen our Hotel Degli Aranci for your stay in Rome.
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, staff and facilities.
I have shared your review with my whole team. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rome, very soon hopefully.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#225 of 1,271 in Rome
780 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
931 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#144 of 1,271 in Rome
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Fleming
#468 of 1,271 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#534 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#204 of 1,271 in Rome
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Aranci

Address: Via Barnaba Oriani 11, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
#185 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#217 Family Hotel in Rome
#302 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Aranci 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Aranci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing