We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked promising..... But a letdown” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Degli Aranci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Degli Aranci
Ranked #286 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Looked promising..... But a letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I are currently staying in this hotel. It is a very well kept and presentable hotel overall. We were quite thrilled when we walked in through the lobby. However, we were so disappointed when we got our room. The room is on the ground floor right next to where all the cars are parked, just like you would find in the cheap $30 motels in the US. The room itself is tiny.....it can't be more than 9 feet by 7 feet. This room is certainly not meant for two ppl. The bed is a little bigger than a twin sized bed. If you open a drawer you can't walk around the room. There is little to no place for luggage, and not enough room on the floor to keep your suitcases. The air conditioning works like a fan with no cooling. The mirrors in our room are stained ugly brown.

My wife and I have been traveling through Europe and stayed at over 5 hotels on this trip alone. This is by far the worst hotel on this trip thus far. We have visited the Dachau concentration camp memorial in Munich and most of the cells there were bigger than this room. It really is uncomfortable for two people. Considering the price paid for this room, this is a huge let down. We walked around the Rome city center and inquired about the rates there and saw rooms. Those hotels are definitely cheaper and more comfortable than this one,

The saving grace is that the staff has been friendly. They said they would transfer us to a better room tomorrow. Let's see how that goes and I will update my review accordingly.

For now, this has been a very uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaushik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Mr "Kaushik"
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hotel degli Aranci.
We are glad that the location of our hotel looked fine at least at first sight... Anyway, being located into an historical building reconverted in hotel, there are few rooms not very large, but are all well equipped, clean and comfortable and overall it looks quite and is quite unpleasant the cells'comparison isn't it? We are anyway very glad to know that the staff was helpful and make your stay easy and comfortable.
We do hope you'll chance your mind regarding your stay with us and in anycase thanks for taking the time to review your stay . I remain at your kind disposal
Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    276
    83
    41
    29
See reviews for
112
233
37
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here in the high season and had a great time! Yes, it is far from downtown Rome, but the bus and train are easy - and if you're late, cabs are easy to find. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, rooms clean. Would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sue
I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post your review!
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel very comfortable and that the stay has been fantastic.
I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

First of all let me say, I've had many years of experience in hotels, as a guest and as a employee.
The decor of the Degli Aranci is fabulous. It's very obvious that a lot of money has been spent on the fIxtures and fittings. A delight to see and enjoy.

Our room was delightful, comfortable and served us well for our needs.

The staff at reception were hard working and dealt with all our requirements efficiently.

I'm not going to talk about the location of the hotel apart from saying that you need to work out the buses to and from the center of Rome. My advice,...... take the 217 from the Termini and you're within yards of the hotel. (pm me if you want a dedicated account of the bus service to the hotel)

So here's the rub. The breakfast service really really needs some attention. I can roll with it quite a bit. I've worked in the trade and I know what it's like when a full hotel descends on you for breakfast............... but.........

.

The young members of staff looked like they were bewildered by everything going on around them, They appeared to have one speed and that was dead slow. Waching them walking past empty tables full of dirty crockery was painful. Watching them coming out of the kitchen with a handful of cups instead of a tray full was even more painful.

But then, we watched a very slim lady, who we assumed was the owner, walk out no less than five times. She walked to the buffet table and then back to the kichen door., totally ignoring the empty tables that needed clearing of dirty plates etc.

I was trained to never waste a journey. Always pick up plates etc etc on the return journey to the kitchen. If the owner isn't bothered about doing so, what reason have the staff to do so?

The biggest problem was that people couldn't sit at the table because they were full of dirty crockery from the previous guests. They really need to address this.

The food was ok-ish.......but the second morning when I asked for more scrambled eggs because the chaffing dish was empty, the waitress fetched more out from the kitchen and it was stone cold! It's obvious to me that the eggs weren't being cooked fresh and instead being cooked well before and just warmed through if required.

I really feel for this hotel. It's obvious a lot of money has been spent on the decor and amenities - and they truly are lovely! - but they need to sort out their customer service and food in the breakfast service asap or it will be their downfall in the long run.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthLincsChikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear NorthLincsChikky,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback on your recent stay and to have chosen our Htl degli Aranci !
We are very glad to know that we met your expectation and that you found our hotel excellent for families with very helpful and friendly staff, comfort, cleanliness.
Concerning our Food and Beverage offer in our Breakfast we do thank you for pointing out the negative aspects we'll work on with all our Staff.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at the Degli Aranci Htl again in the future.
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this elegant small hotel in a quiet residential area. My single (5) was a small but spacious basement room, with a very comfortable bed, air conditioning, bathtub and large, soft bathsheet - very clean and well-maintained. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast plentiful and included some delicious homemade cakes but not quickly replenished after 9am.
For central Rome, turn right out of reception and take the 217 from the Bertoloni (Lagrange) stop - this is the one you need to get off at too when coming from Termini. An alternative is to get off at Santiago del Cile, cross the street and take Via Lagrange uphill. When you get to the top of the road, you'll see the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Be wary of this hotel ~ We never got to stay there ~ rocked up after a 20 hour flight to be told we don't have a room for you and shifted us out to a "SISTER" Hotel much farther out of the City Wall ~ when we got to the other hotel other customers had had the same experience ~ THIS IS WRONG FOR ANY HOTEL TO DO ~ if there is no room or you are full DO NOT TAKE BOOKINGS TO FILL YOUR OTHER MOTEL STYLE HOTEL ~ was totally disgusted with the whole attitude to it by the staff ~ WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE ~ BE VERY WARY WHEN BOOKING HERE !!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank BlueEyedKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed from for four nights,excellent hotel but a little far away from public transportation. Beware that the ingoing and outgoing bus stops of 217 are not the same. The bus stop from termini to the hotel is at the Bertoloni which is quite a long walk, while the bus stop from the hotel to the termini is at the Bertoloni (Lagrange) which is very close. Also beware of the trains and bus working hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Areham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, in a nice leafy suburb about 6-7 mins walk to Villa Borghese. Villa Borghese is a beautiful oasis in the middle of Rome....a historic villa set in magnificent, large manicured gardens....a fantastic place for a walk, jog or lunch in the lovely cafeshop/restaurant overlooking the lake. From Villa Borghese its about another 10 mins walk to Piazza del Popolo - where all the historic attractions, designer shops and chic bars start. There is a very charming terrace at the hotel where you can have dinner. I did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on that, but breakfast was good. Room was clean and nicely furnished with all the expected mod cons (air con, fridge, hairdryer etc.). Overall I was very pleased with what I got for such an affordable price. Would definitely stay here again :-) The only complaint I have is that I had a problem with my booking on the lastminute.com website....but that was totally unrelated to the hotel itself. Would not recommend booking through lastminute - you may end up paying double compared to booking directly on the hotel website!!!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel through lastminute.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Degli Aranci, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Jennie1980_13
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at the Hotel "Degli Aranci"
I was happy to read that you found our hotel good and enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which offers a large variety of foods trying to meet all tastes.
We regret that you found our location not convenient according to the majority of our guests that consider our Hotel good opportunity to relax, enjoy the green and to unwind after a busy day in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#241 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#255 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Parioli
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#136 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
#529 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#224 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#184 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Aranci

Property: Hotel Degli Aranci
Address: Via Barnaba Oriani 11, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
#158 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#217 Family Hotel in Rome
#303 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Aranci 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Degli Aranci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing