We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in posh neighbourhood; far from city centre.”
Review of Hotel Degli Aranci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Aranci
Ranked #343 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My mother and I stayed here recently, and it is a truly lovely hotel in a posh, upperclass neighbourhood. Our room, #95, was small but attractively decorated. Roll down shutters and a good a/c unit ensured it was quiet and cool, although we did hear some noisy guests coming in late at night. There was a large tv, a small fridge fully stocked with the usual minibar drinks, and a safe in the closet. I found the bed to be too hard for my liking, so asked for a blanket to sleep on....which didn't really help either, but they did supply it. The bathroom was very big, and had every amenity you could ask for. We did find it quite dangerous, though, as the shower is one of those styles with no doors to control the water from spraying everywhere, and on marble floors that is extremely slippery. The garden was a lovely oasis of quiet to sit and read, and the other common areas were well appointed too. The breakfast offerings were extensive, and they would make you a cappuccino, espresso or hot chocolate on request, which was fantastic. We saw some guests complaining or being demanding, which was rather embarrassing since the staff were clearly working hard to make sure everyone had what they asked for. Armando, a concierge, was helpful with our bags and also when the phone wouldn't work. One of the front desk clerks, Georgia, was particularly helpful when our travel plans had to change, and she worked out the details for us. She also helped with transportation questions, which brings me to the main downfall of this hotel for tourists. It's too far away from everything! Sure, the neighbourhood is lovely, but it's almost a kilometre to walk to the nearest bus, train or tram (even further) stop. That might not sound like far, but after you've been sightseeing all day, and are footsore and exhausted, it is VERY far! Additionally, the closest train station, restaurants and grocery store were at the bottom of a long flight of stairs (76+). We usually don't stay right in the centre of town and we both walk A LOT when we travel, but this was very inconvenient for us. In short, I would recommend this hotel for people with a car or who don't mind staying far out from the sights. It is a four star, and deserves that classification. We felt we got our money's worth here for the service and quality of the establishment. But if you want to be in the centre of the action, and don't want to drag yourself home at the end of a long, hot day of sightseeing, look elsewhere. Also, book airport transfers yourself....we paid 48 EUR for a car and driver (Mercedes) from Fiumicino, and taxis cost the same....Degli Aranci charges 55 EUR for the same service!

Room Tip: #95 is right off the tiny parking area, which we found ok but others might not like. A bonus is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was such a lovely hotel, I booked because of the reviews and wasn't disappointed. Rooms were very clean lovely hot tub, area very quiet and lovely places to eat. Would stay here again. Easy to get to the local station as we used the trains.

Room Tip: Very clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the Aranci and was quite pleased after having traveled from London and Paris. The prices are exceptionally reasonable for a 4 star hotel in Europe. If you think 125 cad or us a night will get you more then you need to seriously adjust your expectations or stay in some cheaper places and see what kind of amenities and services you get. Try it. The staff was very polite and outside of not having an item on the menu I ordered there was very little wrong. It's north of the heart of Rome and 5 minutes from the Euclide station or a 45 to 60 minute walk to most major spots. A nicer, quieter spot away from tourist traps. Good little gym open almost all day, free wifi and lovely clean rooms. Seriously if you cannot see the beauty in this lovely spot, go somewhere else.

3  Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Very good 4 star hotel.
- lovely area - accessible with busses every 15 mins.
- nicely decorated room - good size triple
- excellent breakfast with good service all round.

Couldn t faulted except two minor things
- bathroom in room 165 where we stayed had an unpleasant smell
- room a bit noisy at night - maybe bexause of the lift?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alexandra Livia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I spent one night in this hotel during a business trip in Rome. I found an high quality hotel with a very professional staff (always more rare!).
The room was very well furnished and clean with a big and comfortable bed.
I suggest this hotel also for the position: Parioli area is very nice and not so far from the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel has such a cheek - we had two reservations here for three nights, one was pre-paid, one was guaranteed by credit card, and since I knew my husband, son and friend, would be arriving around 9pm I even called the same morning, speaking to one Francesco on reception, who assured me that all is fine, never mind the late arrival... well you can guess the rest...
When my family arrived at the hotel, guess what? NO ROOMS AVAILABLE - double bookings was their answer - but not just one of the two rooms were unavailable but BOTH ROOMS HAD BEEN GIVEN TO OTHER CLIENTS. They offered another room in one of their chains but far far away, which of course being part of a sporting group who were staying in the hotel did not suit us..... and even the next day when they should have rectified the problem - the girl Isabella who I spoke to on the phone just said "sorry also today we will not have a room available". Frankly i'm still in shock but BE WARNED - this hotel doesn't honor either confirmed reservations or pre paid reservations. WHAT A DISGRACE.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank lovesgreathotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Located in an elegant part of town. My room was small but cozy and v. clean. Avoid rooms in the basement if possible as they can be reached only via the elevator that is always very busy. Very standard but varied breakfast. Plus: there's a small gym available to guests from 7am to 9pm. The staff is professional and nice. I cannot comment on the price as I was on a business trip and the room was paid for.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emanuela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
779 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
931 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#143 of 1,271 in Rome
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Fleming
#468 of 1,271 in Rome
1,322 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#533 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#209 of 1,271 in Rome
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Aranci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Aranci

Address: Via Barnaba Oriani 11, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
#185 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#217 Family Hotel in Rome
#302 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Aranci 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degli Aranci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Aranci Hotel
Degli Aranci Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing