We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capo d'Africa Hotel ...”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Capo d'Africa Hotel ...”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Not much to add to the previous review (Anmich's). This hotel is a gem. We spent ten days there ánd everything went beautifully. We were in room 326, a large corner unit with a view both on the street (very quiet, although steps away from the Colosseum) and on a church. Spotless clean. Very efficient air-conditioning. Well equipped bathroom. Very comfortable kingsize bed. Ample closet space. Clever use of the space.

We would have breakfast on the terrace. Excellent capuccino. Scrambled eggs, pastry, diet stuff available, etc. etc. And, above all, a charming staff, attentive, friendly, capable. From Giuliana to Josef, Luigi and Fabrizio, what a bunch of nice people you wish you could make regular friends of ! All of them speak great English - and French. It came to a point where we were deeply saddened when la Squadra Azzura lost in the finals of the European Soccer Cup (even though the French side's defeat to the Matterazzi's bunch years before has been very, very hard to swallow at the time !)

What else ? The rooftop restaurant - very affordable - has a specialty of pasta. All of them are tasty. An occasional "bold" recipe, like spaghetti with lavender - very convincing !

The people at the reception were just as charming. Chiara spoke excellent French and English.

The hotel is located steps away from the Colosseum subway station. Very handy, but we did a lot of walking, for example to the Terme di Caracalla where we enjoyed a remarkable outdoors performance of the Ballets of Rome ("Giselle"). The only bad experience came with our first visit of the Vatican Museums, as we reported it on this site: a last minute closure of the Sistine Chapel
on the day and time we had reserved long before ...

The Capo d'Africa hotel really made our trip. We absolutely recommend it. As far as we are concerned, it is in the same league as the Duca di Venezia in Venice, the Lenox in Boston, the
Appia in Prague, the Maria-Isabel in Mexico City. Just to give you an idea of what we're after...

Room Tip: Room 326 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngBat, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that the final destination of your Italian roundtrip was the Eternal City, leaving you with an eternal memory of bespoke service. We all wish to express our appreciation for your eloquent recognition; nothing can be more gratifying! . We are honored for having contributed to a memorable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Angelo Battistini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    572
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
308
1,024
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel in a part of Rome in which we'd never stayed before. The neighborhood is full of wonderful restaurants and some fun little shops. It can be bit of a walk to other sites but you can easily head out or return in a cab for not too much money. At night it is great to be able to hang around and watch all the action around the Colosseum. And the buildings themselves are beautiful in the twilight and lit up at night.
The hotel itself is really lovely. We made very last minute plans and decided to bump up to a more deluxe room as the difference was little and it's always nice to have a relaxing place to spend the late afternoons when in Rome. Included in the room were nice extras like a welcoming bottle of Prosecco (which we enjoyed on the roof-top deck) a mini-bar stocked with a couple of beers, sodas and sparkling and still water. The great thing was that these items were included in the room and restocked each day! What a convenience to have that water waiting for us each day. You can also choose a newspaper from a rather comprehensive list to receive in the breakfast room each morning, this was a great plus for us. We really enjoy the Hearld-Tribune.
The maid service was impeccable the room was always ready upon our return and the turn-down was performed very promptly in the evening.
Each evening we enjoyed the roof-top deck before heading out for dinner. Nice views and very friendly and efficient service. They have a restaurant but ended up eating elsewhere each night but they seemed to do a good business.
The breakfast was more than ample. Loved the pastries and the beautiful, seasonal fresh fruit. The room is sunny and bright and the staff always welcoming and attentive. They all really had a great attitude and nice smiles to start your day. Love the coffee!
Front desk will help with any arrangements and recommend local restaurants, very helpful. Wifi available and free in the lobby.
I know I'm gushing but we really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The added amenities for the upgraded room were definitely worth the small cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngBat, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,
We are so grateful for your feedback and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are proud to offer refined accommodations and bespoke service and, whenever possible, we are delighted to extend enhanced rooms. It is a true pleasure reading comments like yours, the best recognition for all the Capo d'Africa team! We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope you will keep the positive memories alive till your travels bring you back to one of the most attractive cities in the world.
Kind Regards,
Angelo Battistini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 4th to 10th July 2012 having stayed there in May 2006. We were not disappointed. The staff, almost all of whom speak excellent English, are friendly and very helpful. Our room was comfortable with plenty of space to move around or sit and watch TV or to read. The hotel is in a relatively quiet location, although nowhere in Italy is particularly quiet. However the soundproofing of the bedroom was excellent, the bed comfortable and all the usual facilities provided with the exception of tea/coffee making facilities. The Colosseum is about 200 yards down the road and there is a good view of it across the rooftops from the terrace of the breakfast room; and the breakfast is excellent. Although the hotel doesn't serve lunch or dinner there are about 15 to 20 trattoria between the hotel and the Colosseum serving very good meals at (sometimes) reasonable prices. For example it's possible to get a light 3-course lunch with a bottle of water for a fixed price of €10. Dinner for two though is likely to cost €60 - €70. A glance at a map of Rome will show that the Roman Forum and the Palatine Hill are adjacent to the Colosseum with the Capitoline Hill at the other end of the Forum, so the hotel is extremely well situated for these attractions. Another very pleasant stay and if we return to Rome it will again be our 1st choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor (those starting with a '1' can suffer from noise from the lobby/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngBat, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Capo d'Africa during your recent visit to the Eternal city.
We are verry happy to learn that you rated our breakfast as excellent but we are sorry you missed our restaurant located in our amazing terrace where every night our Chef and the excellence of Gerardo di Nola's pasta are waiting for all our guest at SpaghetTiamo, pasta - bar with show cooking!
We are so glad to read that your had a good time and we hope to welcome you back in the near future in order to not miss our La Terrazza restaurant with the best italian pasta.

Best regards
Angelo Battistini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We really enjoyed our honeymoon stay at this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very well presented. It was very clean and spacious. The roof top terrace was perfect for breakfast and again in the evening for a pre-dinner drink.
The location of the hotel was great, just a short walk from the collesuem. Although it was close to the city, it was also very quiet and peaceful and we didn't feel like we were in a city.
We would highly recommend Capo D'Africa and would certainly stay there again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: We did not have one of the most expensive rooms, but we didn't need it. We had an average room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Minutes walk from colosseum and handy to everywhere.
Big room, free wifi and classy without arrogance.
Breakfast buffet was always charming with friendly personable staff who recognize what you like from previous days and greet you with a warm smile. The lady hostess was just incredible.
Rooftop pasta was delicious as fresh. Bar a bit pricey, but can be expected in rooftop bars.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel itself was in a very good location just a few blocks from the coliseum and other ancient Rome sites. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant on the roof was a wonderful place to begin and end your day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We chose this hotel partly because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and also its location near the centre of Rome...In a nice area with a lot of quiet and well priced restaurants to enjoy..
We treated ourselves to the studio room on the top floor with a large roof terrace including sunbeds and table, chairs and parasol..secluded and with a great view of the colosseum. Expensive for a 3 night break but worth it for a special occasion..

All the staff we met were polite, friendly and a credit to their profession..nothing was too much trouble, the hotel was super clean inside and out with a pretty terrace on the roof where guests were encouraged to eat breakfast or choose from the "pasta experience" evening menu..

If you enjoy walking, this place is ideal, you are 5 minutes from the colosseum and 15 from the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps...bit of a trek to the Vatican but you pass so many interesting buildings and Piazza's on the way its well worth it, the cabs are all stuck in traffic anyway..!!

If you are coming to Rome, stay here...you will love it..

Tip....from the airport use one of the private mercedes pick up...€40 each way with a smart meet & greet driver....highly recommended...We used Click Airport Transfer..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,258 in Rome
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing