We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to colosseum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to colosseum”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very close to Colosseum and ancient rome. walk to trevi fountain and spanish steps was a bit farther but doable. take a cab to the vatican. updated hotel and rooms with comfortable beds. rooftop terrace is a highlight. nice restaurants and gelato nearby. hotel staff made great recommendations for eating. Might have been nicer to stay a little more central to all the sites, but transportation is easy. San Clemente church is nearby and very worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiev21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    572
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
307
1,023
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed 3 nights with my husband for our first trip to Europe. The location was fantastic, close to many restaurants and the colosseum. We were able to use the "Roma Pass" and caught the bus or walked to all the major sights. The room was very comfortable, great to rest our weary feet after a hard day's sightseeing!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

my husband and i stayed for 3 nights at the wonderful Capo d'Africa Hotel, the staff were so helpful, our room was 5 star quality,breakfast buffet a great start to the day. The location is a real bonus, and the neighbourhood has a great atmosphere and selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in early June and loved it. The rooms are on the small side but beds extremely comfortable and with ancient Rome on one's doorstep there is no reason to be spending much time in one's room. Breakfasts are fine - buffet style with fruit, cold meats, cheeses etc and some hot dishes taken on the rooftop terrace. There is a small bar on the ground floor and drinks can be ordered and delivered to the terrace. Service can be slowish at peak times

But it was the staff that made our stay so great. From check in to check out they were immensely helpful, friendly and available. Recommendations followed were good, taxis arrived, food replenished at breakfast promptly and with good humour which we observed to be tried at time by unreasonable demands. We liked a lot the complimentary bottle of fizz and the restocking of water in our room,

Location is great especially if first visit to Rome as it is in easy walking distance of the ancient sites. But Rome is not large: it was our 3rd visit and wanted to see as many Caravaggios as possible and managed this with ease by walking!

loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Great unpretentious hotel and fantastic location near the coliseum and palatine! The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The service at the desk was fantastic...they recommended a wonderful neighborhood restaurant just around the corner! Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melkedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My Partner and I stayed at this hotel in May 2012 and really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is clean modern and comfortable. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean and modern. The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. The location is ideal for seeing Rome - Just a short walk from the Colosseum & Forum. We had one evening meal on the roof terrace which we enjoyed. Good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callummcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here in Feb of this year, Had a wonderful 4 nights here, Nice size rooms, Great location (Literally 5 minutes from the coloseum), Good bar staff, Great espressos and a red win called rosso angel, If you like red wine get yourself a bottle, Beautiful! Breakfast was ok, Could've been better, But there were a lot of people there when we went up on a saturday morning so maybe the selection wasn't the best.
P.s if your cheeky and have had too much Rosso Angel, Go up to the top floor where the breakfast is served and go out onto the terrace after dark, I don't think your technically allowed but once your up there it's just you and the coloseum all lit up. Just beautiful

Room Tip: Wonderful Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril21548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#42 of 1,258 in Rome
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing