We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We booked this hotel for my 30th birthday weekend, (after searching through hundreds of hotels!) and was a brilliant choice! Gorgeous hotel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff who welcomed us as we arrived outside! The location couldn't have been better either - just a 2 minute walk to the Collosseum and from there you can reach most other places easily on foot. Lovely rooftop terrace which overlooks the Collosseum, nice view at breakfast! The room was very clean with all the amenities you need and a huge bed! Was serviced almost every time we left the room! The reception staff were especially helpful, recommending good local places to eat and with a vast knowledge of the surrounding places to visit. Fantastic trip, already longing to go back! and when we do....would book this hotel again! :)

Room Tip: We booked a standard room which was more than sufficient for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly040908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Very well located for colosseum and other sites. Very helpful staff. Located on quiet road but plenty of amenities in neighbouring streets. Not a cheap place to stay but everything is of very high standard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. We spent 5 nights here in October and it was wonderful. Rooms were very big, nice and clean, and the rooftop was amazing. Location was a bit far from downtown, but still only about a 30 minute walk. Didn't have much luck with the receptions dinner recommendations, but they were friendly and helpful for other things.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, amazing location and views of Rome! Beds are a good size as are the rooms! Plus also very clean! The breakfast is a good choice each day and hotel staff are really helpful and friendly! We will go back to this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends. My sister and her husband stayed their after us based on our recommendation and they loved it too! Its within walking distance to just about all major sites in Rome and close to the metro if you want to get to the Vatican! This hotel is great value and a pleasure to stay at!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurn2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We found the hotel situated at the bottom of the main tourist area, but very close to the colosseum (5 minutes walk). The staff were very helpful and friendly,organising trips and willing to give advice on eating out, navigating the city, best times to get to places etc. We found it better to book direct with the hotel and upgrade the room, rather than go through one of the on line booking agents.
The room was superior room on the second floor, it was a big room had a huge comfortable bed a small fridge with a stocked mini bar, the bathroom was a reasonable size and well maintained with all toiletries provided.facing the road, the road is quiet. The views are not spectacular though their is a basilica at the end of the road, about 20 metres. The views though from the Roof bar/restaurant are superb especially the one that gives a rooftop view of the colosseum are spectacular especially as the sun is setting.
There are a number of good reasonably priced restaurants very close to the hotel serving traditional Italian food, a seafood restaurant. The ones we ate at had locals eating there so they can't be too bad.

All in all a very pleasant hotel in a good location in rome.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-T62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Easy walking distance to not just the Colosseum but also much of city centre. The hotel breakfasts were great, and to eat out on the rooftop terrace in the sun was a bonus.

My only minus point was the noise of bottles and rubbish being collected very early each morning; keep it quiet guys!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back, away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We are a group of 4 mature gentlemen traveling independently on a 14 day tour of Italy, all with experience in the Hotel/ Hospitality industry in USA. We were greeted warmly at the front Desk from Mossimo, with excellent suggestions for tour excursions while our room was getting ready for occupancy. Breakfast staff and food was Excellent. Special recognition to the mature Breakfast Server Guiliana for her great smile and professional demeanor. Only 2 incidents marred, what would have been a perfect stay . One of our group was not feeling well one day, and wanted some soup warmed up in the hotel's Microwave. Seems it was a big imposition for Giovanni to reheat the soup, and he remarked he would do it this time, but not tomorrow . Even after tipping him , his attitude was most unwelcome. Also, after having a wonderful day touring Rome, we entered the hotel and remarked to the female front desk attendant, " you have a lovely city " and her curt response was" yeah if your on a holiday". Hardly the positive attitude we would expect from a hospitality professional. Requested a hot water maker, and the response was , " we are completely sold out, and since you are not in a superior room, we cannot get one for you". Other than those negative moments, all in all , a pleasant average stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davewaikiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
216 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#32 of 1,271 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#151 of 1,271 in Rome
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £97 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Blastness , Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing