We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay..”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing stay..”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel was excellent. We had a premier double which was very spacious and had large french opening windows.

They gave us a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival as it was our anniversary, which was a nice touch.

The free bar was nice, with a couple of beers and soft drinks in.

Breakfast was very nice buffet style and great that it was on until 11am. You could sit out on the terrace if you liked.
Hotel was in a good place, just a few minutes from the colosseum. There was also a couple of restaurants and an Irish bar within a minutes walk.

Overall very happy with the hotel, staff, location, price & room. No complaints at all, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Premier room comes with free mini bar and wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    572
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
308
1,024
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The hotel is located near the Coliseum and just a short drive from the city center. (About 10 euros by taxi).

Hotel staff were eager to recommend restaurants and tours, but their recommendations were generally helpful.
The rooms were very clean and well equipped. However, weak stream shower not repaired during our stay there.

Breakfast on the fourth floor was nice and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and was very happy withour choice the location is fab and very quiet compared to the rest of the city.the staff were friendly and happy to help especially the staff at breakfast.
The room although compact was spotlessly clean and very nice.
our one complaint was that the roof terrace was not open of an evening which we found disappointing as this was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel.
We would stay again and our friends are staying there in December from our recommendation .

Room Tip: If you spend more time in your room you may want to book a delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Perfectly placed viewing the Coliseum with quaint restaurants and cobblestone streets all around.
The staff spoke English and went out of their way to make us feel at home.
Beautiful architecture, sparkling clean, bed beyond comfortable and room temp whatever we wanted. Every square inch has been updated with charm
Went jogging around the neighborhoods and felt totally safe
Fantastik morning buffet with a gorgeous city view and a restaurant staff to bring home to mother.
I would recommend this to everyone!!!!!! you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room faced the beautiful cobblestone streets, the area is quiet, we left the 2 windows open at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Very clean rooms, small but comfortable. Safe neighborhood. Very helpful and friendly staff. Decent breakfast with a variety of foods with traditional bacon and eggs, fruits, deli meats and cheese, great croissants and coffee. Walking distance to good, reasonably priced restaurants. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhorn, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for 4 days following our 12 day eastern Mediterranean cruise. The rooms are well appointed although the airconditioning was turned off and it was quite warm. Located right downtown by the colliseum, it was easy to walk or taxi everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. The concierge staff were fabulous. Massimmo took the time to suggest tourists activities and helped us plan our days. The rest of the concierge staff were most helpful as well, particiularly as we needed their help to confirm our flight home.
The roof top terrace is an added feature. Too bad it was a little cool at night.
And what can I say about breakfst offerings...... superb.
We will return..........

Room Tip: Rooms over the street were not very quit at night especially if you open your window. So choose an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A standard hotel in a good location near to the Colosseum and within walking distance to the Menzoni Metro stop for the red line. We stayed for 4 nights in October. I cannot express enough how fantastic the front desk staff were at dealing with our enquiries and giving us advice and restaurant recommendations- really outstanding service - nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast (as with all the food in Italy) was great - particularly the coffee. The room was a reasonable size BUT following a sleepless first night and returning to the room on the 2nd night I called reception to ask for some help with making the a/c effective since it seemed to be on yet the room was incredibly stuffy despite us trying to air it by having the windows open. I was told, sorry but the manager has turned it off, I am getting lots of complaints from the guests tonight. I was shocked! surely if one guest makes a complaint then the management should try to rectify the situation - but apparently not! I asked for a fan but was told to sleep with the windows open - the next morning I woke to several small insect bites on my legs and ankles (surely not mosquitos??) and when I tried to speak to someone else again the next day about getting a fan into the room or getting the a/c working I was told "this is the law in Italy, we have to switch the a/c off this time of year" which I sincerely doubt is true, I suspect the truth might be more like they dont HAVE to have it turned on and if this is the case surely the management should make a judgement based on the weather and the needs of their customers. There was nothing in the booking confirmation which mentioned this fact as I would have thought twice about making a reservation knowing they were so tight!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,258 in Rome
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,258 in Rome
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing