We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh No- I'm in trouble with the wife” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #65 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Oh No- I'm in trouble with the wife”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

It was well understood that I was forbidden to book any hotels for holidays after putting my wife into 1 star B and B about 5 years ago. But I thought I was on from ground after reading the Tripadvisor reviews on Capo d'Africa. But I'm in trouble again. We've been here for a night and a bit in a 4 night stay. We'll make the most of it, but we can see already bat our dream stay will be a disappointment because of the hotel. Why ? The steps up to the entrance can be a bit daunting on arrival, though there is an ground floor exit at a side entrance. Our superior room was upgraded automatically to a deluxe double room, but it is only a standard quality room. Small for two adults, wit the " smallest bath I've ever seen." ( wife). The much lauded breakfast was ok- fresh, tasty, not particularly well stocked ( I expounded the virtue of the coffee to my wife which produced a withering grimace). Room service on the first night produced a pretty poor meal- bland and dry. But the big No-No was the veto on any irons being used in the rooms- for health and safety reasons. This, of course, is ridiculous, with the vast number f other electronic items in use I-pad, kettle etc). How do I iron m clothes, my wife asked me ? Well, there is a laundry service, which of course costs money. So, one day in, I hold my hand up. The service is good, the location very good, it's a fair place to stay ( though no swimming pool but a fitness room) for £200/ night, below the standard of a good 4 star, and certainly not the base for a dream holiday. I don't think I am being sad- just honest ( and I generally over rate on my reviews).

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a room with a view because the hotel is situated in a series of side roads. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    545
    102
    32
    20
See reviews for
293
976
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Excellent location, super service, lots of nice little touches like a bottle of prosecco on ice delivered to your door five minutes after arrival, spacious room, double glazing so quiet, great breakfast. But it all seemed a little bland, tired and lacking in character. It reminds me rather of the identikit hotels of the big chains which give no feeling for the city you happen to be in. A boutique hotel normally has more personality. I was expecting something a little more special. Plus the bed (nicely large) and pillows were uncomfortably hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

It is difficult to disagree with the ranking of this hotel in the universe of Rome options. For the combination of value, comfort, and quality of staff, the Capo d'Africa deserves to be ranked highly in a city where those characteristics are not common. However it's also fair to point out that the Capo d'Africa would not stand out in most other major capitals. Its rooms are dated and the carpets overdue for replacement. It has infrastructure issues with malfunctioning elevators and odors on the meeting-room (basement) level. With due respect to the great servers and nice terrace, the food at breakfast (especially the quality of the baked goods) truly is disappointing. And some of the advice dispensed at the front desk (such the standard recommendation of the nearby "Il Bocconcino" as a great restaurant) is questionable. All in all and even in Rome, the Capo d'Africa really hasn't yet earned a 5 in the tripadvisor rankings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zville5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhodes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Hotel Capo de Africa Rome was the best,
friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in in the whole of Europe.
From first impressions to the last, staff were so attentive and friendly.The hotel is very modern and rooms light and very spacious. We were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe room which had 3 big windows, large bed and luxury items such as champagne on arrival, bottle of water every day and slippers gowns etc.
The hotel was very quiet and we were never disturbed. Breakfast was a real feast of fruit juice, yogurt, fruit,breads and pastries, bacon,scrambled egg and sausage...more than enough to set us on our way exploring the city
Overall I could recommend this hotel just a stroll from the Colosseum and some great restaurants to anyone wanting a special break in Rome.
Thanks again the the Hotel Capo de Africa and all their staff for a great break.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the building, non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidyates3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Look no further, this must be the best hotel to stay in for Rome. Situated on a quiet back street but within 5min walk of the Colosseum and 10min max to the Colosseo Metro, so easy to get out and about. The quiet location makes it a lovely and peaceful place to stay after a busy day. The staff are wonderful and speak excellent English. You are given maps and a run down of the main attractions when you arrive. They will recommend and book restaurants for you if required. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is room service available from 11am to midnight and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Rooms are spacious, modern and comfortable. I liked the way all the complimentary shower gels, shower caps, shoe cleaners etc were replaced every day if you used them. My husband had emailed the hotel before our departure to let them know it would be my 50th birthday whilst we were there and they had a chilled bottle of Prosecco waiting for me in our room which was a lovely touch. The breakfast is in a lovely sunny room on the top floor with the option to sit on the veranda weather permitting. Breakfast was comprehensive with plenty to choose from. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just returned from a three night break in this hotel with my daughter and it was perfect ,the position was excellent,in a quiet backstreet yet within walking distance of the Coliseum and many other attractions, we felt quite safe walking around here at night.There are many good traditional restaurants nearby. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were spacious and extremely clean.Breakfast had a good choice and the restaurant was situated on the top floor, there are tables inside and out.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor,with a room at the front overlooking the side street.It was extremely q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth_parish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stay at the Capo D'Africa for a few days this April and loved every minute of it.
Super clean and spacious room, super friendly and helpful staff.
Great breakfast in well lit room with seating outside when is warm.
The hotel is located in a quiet street close to restaurants and most importantly, the Coliseum!!!!
Our teenage girls also loved the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: first floor rooms were great after exhausting days of walking in the cobblestones of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaDoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#77 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing