We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have stayed at the Capo D'Africa Hotel several times since it was opened approximately 10 years ago. The hotel is located in an old converted school - the entry area is quite nice and the rooms are modern in style and well furnished. The hotel remains a good hotel for the price though rooms can be on the small side unless you book a premier room. The hotel is well kept and staff and service are good. The location is a few blocks back from the Coliseum so is well situated if you want to focus on that part of Rome- though the Coliseum metro stop is close by which means access to the rest of the city is relatively easy. The neighborhood is quiet. The hotel is typical of most small Rome hotels with breakfast a part of the room charge and no major dining room. Breakfast is on the top terrace level with outside seating when the weather is good. In the spring-though fall the hotel has a pasta only restaurant on the roof terrace that does pasta better than most restaurants. Several restaurants are within close walking distance- all with decent food. All in all a very nice hotel. But one caution (and the hotel should take note); after 10 years the hotel is beginning to show a bit of wear and tear in places and some re-painting and similar upkeep appears to be in order in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wanted to take a little time out to see Rome. We spent three nights at the Capo d'Africa and was pleasently suprised to the level of cleanliness, customer service, and location. The Breakfast Buffet was excellent, the evening dinners on the terrace were 5 Star. Without a doubt, this hotel was the topping on the cake for a perfect Romantic Trip to Rome!

Room Tip: Fair price for an exceptional stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gclinton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great location just minutes from the colosseum, and although its 'downtown' the surrounding streets and blocks are pleasant and don't feel unsafe. Lots of places to eat without walking too far, plus a small supermarket.
We booked a premier room, which was massive, and well presented. We arrived early but were able to get into the room as it was ready. Good standard toilettries (even conditioner, which lots of places don't have!) and was really good having a complimentary minibar since the price of drinks (especially coke etc) is so expensive in Rome.
We ate dinner at their roof terrace 'restaurant' - very limited menu (they just cook it on the terrace on a portable cooker) of pasta and salad, but what we ate was very tasty, if quite expensive. They have live music up on the terrace a few nights a week, so it was very pleasant to listen to a jazz flautist whilst we ate.

There were a few negatives...

There was mould in the shower (on the ceiling), and some items in the bathroom went untouched when staff came in to clean, so it appeared that e.g. the shower may not have been properly cleaned. (The room was clean otherwise).

It is too expensive, and normally I would not think it value for money, but this is Rome, where nothing is value for money, certainly not accommodation.

There isn't much room on the terrace, and as others have mentioned on here, once people are dining in the evening, there's not much seating/room left if you just want to enjoy a drink. The bar/reception area looks lovely, but I never saw anyone using it, and it could really do with being upstairs for people to enjoy more confortable lounge seating. The piped music tended very much to be geared towards an American audience, and certainly first thing in the morning at breakfast we found it a bit much.

Having said that, the breakfast buffet was wonderful, so much choice and attentive staff. Plus it runs from 6.30 - 11am, giving ample opportunities for both early risers with flights to catch, and those who need a lay in to eat their fill.

I also had the best nights sleep I'd had in months on the first night...I was exhausted with all the walking around we'd done, but the bed was ever so comfortable (and as wide as it was long), with comfy sheets and it was very quiet, even though we were facing the street. Only noise was from the scraping of chairs up on the terrace (we were on the 3rd floor).

I probably would stay here again, but might go for one of the cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you are in Rome, this would be one of the best place to stay! The location is right in the centre of all the attractions. It was less than a minute walk to see the Colosseum and was near the train station too. When we arrive the B & B, it took us a while to figure out how we should go in the B & B. There was a big door and there were few buttons to be pressed. I guess I am used to having an open door or a see through hotel reception so was abit panicking. But then we decided to just press the button which has B & B and hoping that it would be someone who could help us to get in. The owner Luca immediately came down to open the door and brought us to our room.

It was a really nice room and everything there was so homely! We fell in love with the place immediately. It was really quiet and very peaceful.

After unpacking and we decided to go around town and found out that we left one of our camera in the car who picked us up from the airport. We called Luca and he immediately call the driver and arranged it to be returned to us the next day! We were really grateful and will not forget his help! Hate to be in such a beautiful place without a camera!

I would recommend anyone to stay in the b & b and I will definitely stay there again if I am in Rome again.

Thanks again Luca.

Room Tip: The White Room is spacious and really comfortable. You will have shared bathroom but it is VERY clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_Rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were very happy with the hotel when we stayed 5 years ago, so decided to stay there again this visit.
Whilst most of it has been well maintained, certain things have not. We had booked for 7 nights, but were allocated a room with a small bathroom with only a shower. The ceiling of the shower had large black patches of black mould. The room was quite dark and had a patch of wallpaper hanging off. Not at all the room that I would expect to get as a returning guest staying for a week (most people stayed only a few nights).
When I complained we were given a much lighter room with a full bathroom Much better, but the grouting and sealing around the bath needed maintenance. Black patches spoiled what would have been a reasonable bathroom.

The girls on reception were very helpful although the advice not always accurate.

The hotel suffers from not having outside seating space where guests can relax after a hard day's sight-seeing(other than the terrace bar/restaurant). A small pool would have been great as it was over 34 degrees most of the time, but they dont have the space.

They have a gym but the A/C doesnt work.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor get some noise from roof top terrace above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is really close to the Colosseum which if that is a major thing in deciding a hotel then this would be one to look at.

My husband and I stayed there in June as a part of our honeymoon and felt that out of the six places we stayed this one let us down. The rooms are big enough for the city but the ac was shut off and only turned on from 11-7. Our sleeps were terrible due to the heat. We also tried the terrace upstairs for drinks and were asked to move to the other side after fifteen minutes so they could set up dinner. No big deal but we didn't see any reason for it while we were still there as they didn't do anything to the tables. The drinks took 25 minutes to come out as well. I ordered a glass of wine and my husband ordered a mint julep.

Compared to the other hotels we stayed at this was also the least costumer service oriented one. It could be a great hotel I guess if there is nothing else to compare it to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a package with Trailfinders to have 2 nights in Rome before joining a cruise. As many have said the location is great, just a 5 minute walk to the Colosseum. Our room was comfy and quiet with a large bathroom. The restaurant was on the top floor so the views were nice, you can sit outside if you choose but we saw seagulls landing on the tables so sat inside. All the staff and those on reception were friendly and helpful with giving us advice as to how to make the best of our time in Rome. They gave us a card of where to eat nearby but we found one even better called Luzzi, only a few minutes walk. As the guide book said it won't win prizes for food but it was simple, delicious and very reasonable. €2.50 for 500ml carafe of house wine and it was quite good too! Don't miss the tiramisu it's amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms should be fairly quiet as the hotel is located on a narrow street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M.C.Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
227 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#33 of 1,272 in Rome
1,880 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#32 of 1,272 in Rome
776 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
1,910 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £92 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Blastness , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing