We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We chose to stay @ the Hotel Capo d'Africa as we were travelling through Italy by Train.
the hotel was a short distance to Termini Train Station. Also the Colosseum & associated sites were only 5 -10 minute walk. There are numerous places to eat along the way. The Hotel was lovely, the staff we always welcoming, friendly & helpfull.
We had a premier room which was very clean, tidy & comfortable. Breakfast was very good, it was also located on top of the hotel ( with some views of the Colosseum ).
totally enjoyed our short stay & would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Premier Room, other family members stayed in a Deluxe Room, both were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWSAHperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you had a great time with us at the Hotel Capo d’Africa.

Our mission is to deliver a memorable experience to our guests, trying to satisfy their needs and meet their expectations and we are glad to know that we managed to achieve this with you.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards
Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

After six nights in the busy streets near Spagna, I was ready for a change. The welcome was good, the room large and clean, the bed very comfortable. Add to that a very charming bartender and a breakfast that included bacon and eggs, and I would recommend it to anyone. There are trattorie and restaurants in the area that are fairly priced and cater to locals as well as tourists.The location is perhaps a little far from some of the main attractions, though close to the Colosseum and St John Lateran. Very close, too, to the streetcars on Via Labicana. The 8 will take you to Trastevere, the 3 in the other direction will take you to the modern art museum, where you can change to the 19, which ends just outside the Vatican Museum. And it's not a bad walk if you cross the park and head for the center of Rome.

I tried the rooftop restaurant one night.Nothing but pasta, and a poor selection of wine. Hardly anyone was there. Better to go to the busy trattoria not far away.Or, I learned, go by taxi to the bartender's favorite restaurant near Spagna. Those who did were delighted.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience had at the Hotel Capo d’Africa.
I am glad to hear that you were happy with your room and breakfast, we always try to offer the best we can to our guests, considering the importance we give to every aspect of their stay.

On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that our “SpaghetTiamo” dinner was not ideal for you.
I would like to take this opportunity to explain that this gastronomical concept is based on a pasta bar with show kitchen on the terrace and it is not a real restaurant. Dining with us in a cosy and romantic atmosphere gives you a more intense experience than a traditional dinner and surely less expensive than going in a proper restaurant.
Thank you again for your comment,

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Best Regards
Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

No problems with the hotel whatsoever. Was very clean, easy to deal with, breakfast included. It is in a great location—and though I might prefer to be closer to the center of town next time—it was really quiet at night, and I enjoyed walking past the Colosseum and Forum every time we went anywhere.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms on Hotels.com worked out great for us. We didn't get moved to any annex build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravisCable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a fantastic location, just a short walk from the Colosseum. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble, from recommending and making reservations at restaurants, to directions and booking taxis! When arriving to our room a lovely chilled bottle of Prosecco was awaiting us, which was a lovely touch and a great start to mine and my husband's 40th birthday celebrations! Our standard room was ample in size, modern and very clean. There is a lovely rooftop terrace where we ate breakfast and enjoyed an evening drink or two! All in all a perfect time in Rome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guest,

on behalf of the Management and our staff we would like to thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor!

What it is essential for us is to meet our clients’ expectations and needs and I am glad we did it with you.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best regards


Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean with comfortable bedding and ample closet-space. The staff were friendly and very helpful with any questions we had as well as calling for taxis when we needed them.
The staff in the breakfast room were particularly welcoming, making us feel at home and even shook our hands to say good-bye on our last day. The breakfast buffet was also excellent with a nice assortment of hot and cold food as well as desserts, and also included a lovely terrace with a view of the city and Coliseum.
The hotel is in a great location on a quiet street, but still close to the metro and sights. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtraveler0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This boutique hotel was quaint and charming and in a wonderful location just two blocks from the Colosseum, Santi Quattro Coronati, and San Clemente Basilica (sites).

We especially enjoyed the breakfasts on the top floor. The rooftop terrace is a lovely, quiet place for breakfast and for evening drinks (assuming you don’t mind shooing the rather bold Roman pigeons, which we didn’t.) We adored the honeysuckle fragrance on the terrace and were disappointed when it was raining and we had to eat inside. The breakfast room staff were very cheery and extremely helpful; Cosimo deserves a special mention for his warmth and kindness throughout our stay.

One particular member of the front desk staff (sadly, we didn’t get his name) was extremely helpful as well, offering to book sightseeing tours as well as reservations for nearby restaurants. We took him up on the latter more than once and were delighted with the results.

The room was well appointed and a very nice size with sound-abating windows and room-darkening curtains; very comfortable, and housekeeping was excellent. We were welcomed with a bottle of Prosecco on arrival. We would absolutely stay here again during our next trip to Roma and highly recommend it to others who want a “bedroom neighborhood” for lodging that provides a quiet escape as a home base to visit the beauties and charm of Roma.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbpc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Well what can I say other then this hotel is brilliant. The staff are amazing, the rooms are a nice size and are very clean and well kept. The staff made my birthday a truly amazing experience, nothing was to much trouble and I was very spoilt, a special mention to Gialiono in the restaurant, she always had a smile to greet us in the morning, she actually moaned at me because I wasn't smiling one morning!!! The reception staff are always helpful and honest about getting the best from your stay in Rome and nothing is to much for them. We would 100% stay again, thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mikeyred09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#27 of 1,271 in Rome
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#35 of 1,271 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#150 of 1,271 in Rome
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £98 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Blastness , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing