We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

A lovely hotel with great amenities. Beautiful rooftop restaurant and bar. The staff are just wonderful and welcoming.
The rooms are spacious and modern. The location is a short walk from the Coloseum and public transport. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all, I would like to thank you for your positive review!
Your final sentence makes us proud and happy to have satisfied you, this is what we want to give and achieve.

I am glad to know that our services and amenities were appreciated by a guest like you.

I look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Capo d’Africa,

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    551
    103
    33
    20
See reviews for
298
990
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have traveled to Rome many times and this hotel was by far the best location and reasonable price, especially for Rome. The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly. The rooms were a nice size and very functional. We especially enjoyed the terrace for breakfast (which was very good) and for drinks after our active days.The view was great overlooking the colosseum and the staff very accommodating to our every need. We were welcomed every evening with a glass of wine and snacks. Also the bar in the lobby was great too. We could walk everywhere, even to the Vatican. The neighborhood was quiet with plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and shops. We would definitly stay there again and recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Well, it is an honour to know that after travelling many times to Rome, we were considered the best location for you.

We aim to offer a memorable experience to our clients from the moment they arrive to the moment they check out and we are so happy to have achieved this with you.

I will be glad to welcome you and friends here at Hotel Capo d’Africa whenever you decide to come back.

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have traveled to Rome a few times, we selected this hotel for its location, it was perfect just steps from the colosseum, and metro stations. the staff was great, our room was spacious and immaculate. their was a "Pasta" restaurant on the roof. the breakfast room was also on the roof. the only drew back was the steps... there are a few steps to the front door (8 - 10) they have a bellman to assist. there are plenty of small cafes just around the hotel. I loved it...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestbites26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travellers.

Our location helps us a lot when considering the distance to the Colosseum and the Metro stations as you mentioned.
I am happy to hear you loved your room and even if the hotel offers different types of rooms, each of them has its own style and facilities to meet our clients needs.

I really hope to welcome you again here at Hotel Capo d’Africa,

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The most beautiful asset of this hotel is it is situated just at the back side of Colosseum. So you get to see Colosseum daily during your stay in this hotel when you are walking towards taxi stand or the Metro or just taking a stroll. We arrived at the hotel earlier than normal check-in time of 2 pm and were still given the room. The room was clean and spacious and had all bathroom toiletries and a big bath tub. After walking up and down streets of Rome, a hot water bath is one of the most pleasurable luxuries in life :) The Hotel had good variety of dishes in breakfast, the breakfast mainly being continental. Both our check in and checkout were prompt. There is an in house bar- restaurant in the Hotel as well. We were suggested few dishes by the person there who also made a sandwich for us as we requested, kind of made to order :) Pleasurable stay, I would recommend the hotel to all. This hotel is 10 mins walk from Colosseo Metro so plan your itinerary accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience here with us at Hotel Capo d’Africa.

As you mentioned, the Colosseum is very close to our Hotel and it can be seen many times in different ways during the day.

The breakfast is for everyone’s taste considering the international clients we receive, that is why we care about every detail of the services and offers we propose.

I look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Capo d’Africa,

Best regards
Alessandra Laterza – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed based on a friend's recommendation so we didn't really know very much about the hotel before arriving-so to say we were very pleasantly surprised is an understatement! The rooms were beautiful and quite spacious (we were warned to be ready for tiny rooms in Europe). The staff spoke English beautifully and were extremely helpful in aiding us in getting around and in wonderful local restaurant suggestions. Breakfast is served with a view of Rome with outdoor seating available (weather permiting) and had a full selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, local meats and pastries. Location was wonderful-just a few minutes to the Colosseum and about a 10 minute walk to the Metro. As we were lucky enough to have a friend recommend the hotel to us, we would absolutely recommend this hotel to any of our friends heading to Rome!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starr k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review! Actually, we want to thank your friend too for recommending Hotel Capo d’Africa and for giving us the opportunity to welcome a guest like you here in our Hotel!

We are glad to know your appreciation towards our Hotel and we feel honoured to be part of your memorable experience in Rome.
Your pleasure is our pleasure, your satisfaction is our satisfaction, especially because you did not have a completely clear idea of how our hotel could have been before checking in.

Our staff and our hotel aim to provide our guests with the necessary information and service in order to meet their needs, so I am happy to hear that you liked our breakfast and our reception was helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends at Hotel Capo d’Africa!

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our first trip to Europe and our first time in Rome. My husband scoured TripAdvisor looking for hotel suggestions. We chose Hotel Capo d’Africa based on the location, price, room size and TripAdvisor reviews. We booked the hotel ourselves using the website and communicated several times with the hotel by email, before leaving for our trip. They were even helpful with helping us get from the airport to the hotel by train and taxi. Since we were coming from Paris via Copenhagen, we notified the hotel of our late check-in and they were able to accommodate us.
We were initially concerned about the room location, because we were the first room next to the elevator. It turned out not to be a problem at all, we never heard the elevator. Our room was very large, a premier double. There was an area like a small foyer, where the closet and bathroom entrance were located. The rest of the way into the room was a very large bedroom with a large television, a free minibar (and a free welcome bottle of wine), and a small sitting area with chairs, small table and a desk. (Oddly, the hairdryer was in the desk, bolted down. This was a little difficult to use, but still better than packing my own.) We never turned on the TV, so we can’t say anything about that. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, but the connection was terrible. I don’t know if there wasn’t enough bandwidth or if their service provider leaves something to be desired, but that was extremely aggravating. Luckily, our Wi-Fi use was strictly for pleasure and planning our daily activities, so it wasn’t the end of the world it might have been if we were business travelers. The bathroom amenities were nice and replenished regularly and the bathroom was a good size. The bed was large and comfortable. Other than the Wi-Fi, the only other complaint I have is that it was impossible to control the temperature in the room. It was always too hot or too cold. The fan was very loud, but rather than disturbing our sleep, it was welcome white noise.
Breakfast was included with our stay and it was great. It was so nice to start each morning with a few cups of coffee (served American style) or cappuccino (coffee made to order, if you don’t want just a carafe of coffee). The breakfast was buffet style, with juices, milk, pastries, rolls, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese and cold cuts and scrambled eggs and bacon. There is more that I’m not remembering, but the point is that there is plenty of food and choices to please people from all over.
The concierge gave us a map of Rome and highlighted the important sights and how to get there. They told us how and where to catch the metro, spoke fluent English and were very friendly. All of the people we met working at the hotel were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a few blocks away from the Coliseum, Forum and Palatine Hill. There were several cafes, restaurants and gelaterias in our neighborhood. We were often hungry during that window when the restaurants are usually closed, so we were sometimes challenged to find something to eat, but we managed. The concierge recommended an excellent nearby restaurant for dinner and gave us directions to the nearby gelaterias. So good! We turned out to be relatively easy walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see. Our feet were tired, but we saved a fortune in transportation costs!
The entrance area of the hotel is beautiful and welcoming, very classy looking. The inside is pretty and elegant. However, there is an unfortunately placed row of dumpsters right outside and the hotel was downwind of the dumpsters. We always had to hold our breath when walking by.

Room Tip: If you're traveling from the US and are accustomed to large hotel rooms, it's a good investm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BeachLvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, I must admit this is the most detailed review we have received so far!

Your description is excellent, it shows the unique and amazing location where the Hotel Capo d’Africa is situated and we thank you again for it.
It also helps to understand the inside of the Hotel and its rooms and the services that we provide such as the rich American breakfast of every morning.

The internet connection we provide in our Premier rooms is 1MB and it can happen that sometimes when the hotel is full, the connection can get slower due to the amount of guests connecting at the same time.

It is true the temperature of the room cannot be controlled by our guests, but we try our best to satisfy their requests when they inform us considering the fact that it is very difficult to find the right temperature for everyone.

Thank you very much for your clear and well explained comment,

We look forward to seeing you again in our Hotel soon,

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Spent 4 nights in October, was a very good choice. On as quiet of a street as you're going to find in Rome, about a 10 minute walk to the Metro. Very nice rooms, very clean, comfy beds, hot showers, nice robes. The staff was very friendly, informative and didn't try to push us into any tours. They helped us book one restaurant and when they suggested a place to eat another night (which was a block away), it was quite good and is even mentioned in the Time Out book. We splurged for the Unique Studio Suite. Worth every Euro! Don't you want to end the day sitting on your big private terrace looking at the Colosseum, with the dome of St. Peter's behind it? Would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Unique Studio Suite is worth the money (it's 406, I think). Private terrace, great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_M_Haas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

You chose the best room of our boutique Hotel and we are very happy to hear that it was worth it!

Staying in the Unique Studio Suite is the perfect opportunity to experience all the extra services including the private terrace with the amazing view of Rome as you mentioned. You will surely remember your stay in Rome with an extra smile!

Your enthusiasm and your satisfaction make us proud and glad to carry on with the same commitment towards our clients, no matter what room they choose.

We look forward to welcoming you soon, the Unique Studio Suite will be yours again!

Best regards

Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing