We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived at 10pm to a very friendly welcome and an extremely comfortable hotel room,which I thought was quite spacious for a city centre hotel. A big bonus of this hotel room compared to many in cities was that it was quiet and reasonably immune to traffic noise - probably helped by the fact we were on a slight side street rather than a main road.

Breakfast was an ample continental selection with cooked meats, cheeses, cakes and pastries that were kept stocked whatever time we arrived at the restaurant. A special mention should go to a lovely lady who seems to run the breakfast room and was there every day of our stay except Sunday. I must apologise because I didn't get her name but I'm sure you will recognise her if you visit; she has a big smile and friendly "ciao" for every guest and made us feel welcome every morning. She encouraged us to sit outside on the terrace one day in the sunshine which was absolutely lovely especially for a couple of Brits who had a few days earlier been in the wind and rain of February in England!

The location is good, literally two minutes walk from the Colosseum, which is absolutely magnificent! Consequently though it is a one end if you will of the main sights in Rome. If we visited Rome again we might choose to stay around the Trevi Fountain as this is close to a number of other sights such as the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Having said that it is only about a mile walk from the Colosseum to the Trevi Fountain so it is perfectly do-able!

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Rome and our stay in the Hotel Capo d'Africa. I would happily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. It's in a very covenient location, though the surrounding area doesn't provide a great outlook. There were bins on the pavement under our window. The area is quiet so we slept soundly. The room was generally well maintained, but I was amused that a couple small cobwebs remained in the bathroom throughout our stay. The restaurent is pleasant and the terrace is a bonus. There was a good choice at breakfast. I'm not one for a cooked breakfast so didn't sample what was on offer, but I was surprised that there was no freshly cooked breakfast on offer. The cooked food was available from a hooded area where it was presumably kept warm. Even the most basic British B&B will offer a freshly cooked breakfast. I can't comment on dinner as I didn't eat there in the evening. I booked direclty on the hotel's website thinking I'd got a good deal with a 25% discount. When I checked out I discovered that the price quoted was after, not before the discount, so was a bit disappointed with this. I think I could have got a better deal on one of the hotel search websites.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IanBBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Wonderful hotel and wonderful staff.

4 day visit to Rome (first time) made by our stay at Capo D'Africa. Cool, contemporary and very clean with attentive and friendly staff. Ideally located a short walk from the Colosseum, sufficiently tucked away to be not in the middle of all the tourists. Restaurant recently opened for evening meals and chef Davide Lombardi is going to create an excellent reputation for the hotel and himself. On both evenings that we ate in L'attico he produced 6 course tasting menus for us which were not written down anywhere and were superb. A bit like having your own personal chef. We had no idea what was coming next and Josef, the maitre d, even chose the wine for us. So much trouble and so very good. We were also recommended Ristorante Papagio, 100 yards from the hotel. Also an excellent eatery with an exceptionally talented young man running front of house very efficiently including various flambe courses. Would also recommend.

Overall a great trip with terrific accommodation and food, we will go back.

Barbara and Mark - England

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Location is brilliant only 5 minutes walk from the colosseum. Plenty of quality restaurants close by in a mostly quiet residential area. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is one of the best i have had, the cakes are delicious.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and thats exactly what i got
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshleyShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This is what you need to know......

It's clean.
It's on the doorstep of the Colosseum.
The staff are very helpful.
For central Rome it is very good value.
I would certainly stay again and would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHDBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in Capo D'Africa for three nights, this hotel was lovely and so close to the colosseum only a 5 minute walk. The reception staff were very friendly our room was spotless and breakfast was nice. The waitress at breakfast was very friendly and would highly recommend this hotel we had a lovely stay here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sass353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our tip to Roma was heightened by a magnificent stay in a beautiful hotel Capo D'Africa. Situated 5 mins walking distance from the Colosseum, the hotel boasted a central and discrete location for all the attractions Roma has to offer. Our greeting by Chiara was very friendly and helpful inviting the main attractions to visit during our 5 night stay and offering advice on trips and tours. All staff were of the same excellent stature speaking very good English and helping with Italian when needed. Facilities were impeccable, the rooms spacious and beautifully prepared with the largest most comfortable king size + bed, deluxe double room. Buffet continental style breakfast offering a wide range of deliciously prepared fruits, cold meats and cheeses and hot cooked food, the nicest cappuccino in Roma, if it's not on the menu just ask and you will get it, no trouble. An excellent choice of hotel and location, highly recommended to anyone visiting Rome.
Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable and enjoyable

Tony & Michelle

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#87 of 1,269 in Rome
1,887 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#27 of 1,269 in Rome
1,856 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £118 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Blastness , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing