We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capo d'Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Came across this hotel via an Expedia special offer, and it turned out to be a wonderful hotel!!

Even before our trip I exchanged emails with Marco, from the front desk staff about booking a car to pick us up and drop us off at the airport and he was much help! Even further I emailed him again a few days before our trip with a list of questions about how to get to all the major attractions via public transportation. Marco once again replied quickly and was very detailed and helpful!
To no surprise upon our arrival to the hotel Marco checked us in and was extremely detailed in explaining everything to us and super friendly! The rest of the staff for the rest of our stay was also extremely helpful as well!!!
The breakfast buffet is sufficient, with the normal eggs, bacon, pastries, and of course Italian staples of cheese and meats! The breakfast buffet staff was extremely attentive!
The location of this hotel is superb! It's literally a 5 minute walk to the Colosseum, although you would've never guessed you were in a neighborhood close to such a busy tourist attraction! Taxi arrived promptly when the front desk called them for us! And most other tourist attractions were a short taxi trip (most expensive being 15 euros for 5 people).
We had a room facing the street and needed our windows open to cool the room off, so it was a little loud at night just with cars and people passing by but I rather enjoyed being able to listen to the Italian as people passed!
The only issue with my room that was really disappointing was the bed, the mattress was extremely hard!

Room Tip: If going in the spring, ask for a room off the main road so you can peacefully open your windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    546
    102
    32
    20
See reviews for
294
977
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We chose this hotel as part of a British Airways package and after looking at reviews on Tripadvisor. From the start, we were welcomed in English though they encouraged my stuttering Italian. We were assigned a nice room with a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was on the fourth (top) floor with two parts of the room on an open air terrace with pleasant views where one can eat in the morning sunshine. The staff were helpful and friendly. The street where the hotel is located is a quiet back street but the hotel is only 5 mins walk from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum and is less than that from the wonderful San Clemente church with its 4th Century church and 1st century temple wonderfully preserved underneath. The best compliment one can ever give is that we will be going back there. A wonderful find.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwardEvans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Despite being so close to the busy tourist attractions of ancient Rome this hotel provides a quiet haven. We heard virtually nothing of the other guests and little of outside acitivity (except for rubbbish collection each morning). It wasn't perfect - despite very warm weather in mid-March the hotel's air conditioning was still turned off for the winter, so the only way to cool down was to open the window; and one morning we received a very early wake-up call we hadn't booked (from a very apologetic member of staff!). The attractive, clean and comfortable room, helpful staff, great view from the terrace outside the breakfast room and spacious sun terrace on the other side more than made up for these minor blips. We would definitely return to this hotel for a further exploration of all that Rome has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twickerstourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Clean room with nice bathroom. 5 minute walk to Colleseum. Metro stop across..very convienent to get to other parts of the city. Nice breakfast room. Staff nice, helpful at check in with city map of the sights to see!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kskrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Large room, especially for Europe. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was absolutely top rate. Eat on the balcony to the right for a view of the Coliseum. We were there for 7 nights. Walked to almost all of the sights in the city except took a taxi to Vatican city - only 10 euros for 3 passengers. Excellent "local" food right around the corner at Trattoria Pizzeria Luzzi for a cheap, delicious meal with crazy, funny waiters.
Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItsUsInLux2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed for 4 nights. We arrived very early after an overnight flight from the States. However, our room was ready and we were able to check in. The room was very nice with a king size bed and the most comfortable mattress we have ever slept on. Breakfast, which was included in our booking was located on the rooftop terrace. On nice mornings you can eat outside with a nice view. The area, near the coliseum, is not as upscale as some other areas of Rome but was very nice. It had more of a neighborhood feel. The hotel was very well maintained. Taxis, when called, arrived withing minutes. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a nice, although small, lobby and bar area. Highly recommend. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in April. The location is great -- in the shadow of the Coliseum in an interesting "real" neighborhood that is fun to explore. Note -- due to the maze of one-way streets in the area, it can be difficult for drivers to find. Staff was polite and helpful and the common areas are pristine. Breakfast was excellent -- buffet features scrambled eggs, bacon and some weird little hot dogs, in addition to fresh fruit, meats and cheeses and some really wonderful donuts. The breakfast staff was always cheerful and on the ball, happy to get you that second cup of cappuccino.
We walked everywhere -- it's a ways from the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain but really close to many of the ancient sites that held more interest for us. Check out the nearby church of Saint Clemente -- you can pay a fee to descend down through the fascinating excavation of 3 earlier churches, a pagan temple and an early Roman house. There always seemed to be a person with a basket at the entrance - the money goes in their own pickets and not the church so be aware. The real admission office is inside.
The only negatives were the street noise and the low level of air conditioning (would have been a bigger problem in summer) which made us want to keep the window open. Sure, you are in a city and can expect to hear garbage trucks but a lot of cars and Vespas do rev up loudly down the street during certain periods and are loud enough to wake you from sleep. The street appears to be some sort of short cut. Also the rooms are small with minimum space for unpacking or spreading out your toiletries
Staff was happy to make dinner reservations for places we picked as well as to suggest restaurants. There are a number of small informal places nearby with great pizza. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe not a room facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhealthmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing