We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were well taken care of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff with excellent English skills; clean and sizable room; near the Coliseum and some excellent restaurants.
Cons: Long walk to a lot of popular areas but the hotel is very close to a metro stop, bus stops, and is happy to call a taxi which always arrived for us within 2-3 minutes.
To start with, we had the hotel send a car to pick us up at the airport. I e-mailed Capo the day we were set to arrive because we had to take a later flight. They responded quickly and changed our pick up time for us. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a bell hop who took our luggage. The desk clerk checked us in and provided us with a map of the area. This map was our lifeline in all of the walking we did in the city. It was much better than the ones in our guide book we brought with us. The bellman escorted us to our room and showed us where everything was including the mini-bar, safe, closets etc and how everything worked. We only got one key, but that was never really a problem since my wife and I never really separated on the trip. The bed was extremely comfortable. The closet and drawer space was nice and the in room safe was nice to have. Our in room view wasn't great, but the breakfast room/roof views were amazing! Can see a bit of the Colosseum from the terrace. Breakfast was good, with cold and hot selections. Plus tea, coffee, or cappuccino included. The fresh fruit was wonderful! Every staff person we interacted with was extremely kind and helpful. They brought us extra towels, prompt room service, recommended restaurants and made reservations, gave directions and suggestions, and secured our bags on the last day we were there since check out was at noon and we didn't leave for the airport until 5 or so. Also, the terrace bar has a great selection with a very nice area to relax and enjoy the sun and the views. We looked at the exercise room, but didn't end up needing to use it because of all the long walking tours we went on. It looked nice though.
I posted some pictures below. I can't find two of them. One was of a chair and small table, the other of the TV over the minibar with desk in the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kersius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very friendly, helpful front desk staff. Clean hotel and rooms. Fabulous terrace/dining areas...both indoor as well as outdoors...fav part of hotel. Very nice breakfast buffet and excellent waitstaff. Found bedrooms to be on small side, but not a big issue. This is certainly a nice enough hotel and was a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethemountains2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pros/Likes:
- Fast check-in and check-out (but read about the extra room key incident below)
- Nice room with comfortable bed
- Good size bathroom with a bidet, always fun to have
- Big screen TV with multiple channels in many languages, including a channel from Cuba!
- In-room robes/sandals
- Free in-room wi-fi
- Extra space in the mini-bar to place your own beverages
- Gorgeous terrace (roof) with views of the city
- Fixed-fee four-course dinner option featuring Rome specialties in the restaurant for 35 euros was very good (but read about coke price below)
- There were several places to eat nearby (but there are places to eat all over Rome)
- Restaurant staff was super nice

Cons/Dislikes:
- I requested an extra key at check-in, which was refused. Later that same day, I left my key in the room so had to request another key when I came back.
- The view from my room was into an inside courtyard with a residential look, including clotheslines with clothes hung to dry
- No door eye to see who's knocking on the door
- No in-room coffee/tea
- No in-room iron
- Bathroom had no box of tissues; instead just two packets with three tissues each
- Asked for hair conditioner and soap thrice (twice one day and then the next day when they were finally delivered)
- Coke was 5 euros in the restaurant!
- Front-desk staff was moody and at times seemed angry
- The worst: The air conditioner did not function properly during the first half of my stay (the problem was fixed midway through my stay.) I asked that someone came in to explain how to regulate it, they sent a bellman who did not know and said he would send an engineer who never came. Then I find out that the hotel has a/c hours according to the time of the year. During my stay, a/c was only operational 7-10 am and 4-11:30 pm; regular air comes out during the other times. I could not leave the window open because people could get in as it was on the first floor. The average temperature in Rome was 80F/27C during the day and 60F/16C at night so the room felt stuffy most of the time.

Neutral:
- Hotel is located in a residential area (though there is another hotel across the street); 8-10 minute walk to the Colosseum and nearest metro station, which is next to the Colosseum. The Colosseum can only be seen from the hotel terrace, not from the rooms, and only the top can be seen.
- Breakfast buffet was average with the same cold options (cereal, pastries, fruit) and hot options (eggs, bacon, sausage) and was included in the room rate; otherwise it's 15 euros.

Miscellaneous:
- Decent exercise room but did not use
- No pool; no spa

Impression:
Average stay and I'm surprised so many people have rated this hotel as excellent

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MBWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and while we are pleased to read that the most part of your comments are positive, like for example free WI-FI, L’Attico Bistrot service and food and so on , we are sorry to hear that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. Like most hotels, we offer different types of rooms ranging from Superior– which you booked for your stay – through to Premier Rooms which have free coffee and tea facilities and minibar ( coke, beer and in general soft drinks are included).
I’m happy to inform you that from May 26th air condition is available 24 hours.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with the perfect stay.
Best regards,
Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked 24 rooms here for a conference being held just two blocks from the hotel. My guests and I were very happy with the accommodations. All the staff, from front desk, to bar, to breakfast room, were helpful and friendly. The manager went above and beyond to prepare our rooms early, hours before actual check in, because most of our travelers were arriving in the morning and hoped to check in, shower and head for the conference. The rooms are small but I think average-sized for a European hotel. The rooms and hallways are carpeted which helps with hallway noise.

Room Tip: "Superior" rooms are the standard, smallest room, located on the first floor. "Delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel50831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Pros : Good Location just five minutes walk from the Colosseum and the Colosseo metro station Attentive & friendly staff, yummy breakfast on the roof top, big and clean rooms.

Cons : No cons found for this hotel.


In general very satisfied and would definitely recommend to anyone!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 990bilalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On our first trip to Europe, we went on a tour by Orbridge. They booked us for 3 nights at this hotel which is very close to the Colosseum. Upon arrival in the early afternoon, the front desk staff offered to make reservations for dinner for us. he warned us of how busy the restaurants get on the weekend. We're glad we took him up on his offer. We later asked for help with a place for lunch. He called ahead to make sure there was an outdoor table that could accommodate us. The restaurants were nothing to write home about, but at least we were not those poor souls standing in line, waiting hours for a table. The room was substantially smaller than the one we had in Florence, but it sufficed.

The front desk staff also provided great maps of the area, which turned out to be invaluable as we navigated the subway system to get to the Vatican.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great staff, from check--in to room cleaning onward. Breakfast room staff were especially good: salutes to Giuliana and Luigi, with their welcoming "Buon Giornos" and unending cups of capuchinos.

And don't forget the wonderful re-creation at night of the breakfast room into the L'Attico restaurant, where Josef and Elizabeth are marvelous in recommend and explaining the offerings. Don't miss the "Menu Roma" in either meat or fish version. Splendid!

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Capo d'Africa street can be noisy if the windows are open at night, but the air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#37 of 1,272 in Rome
1,886 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#70 of 1,272 in Rome
241 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#80 of 1,272 in Rome
1,917 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Rome
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £116 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Blastness , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing