We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service and hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #68 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible service and hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We found this hotel on trip advisor and it had great reviews. Don't be fooled. Our a/c wasn't working. I complained 3 days in a row. They kept telling me they would send someone and when I checked out, she said they forgot to log my calls. The room was just ok and the food was blah. The roof top bar was a huge plus, but they never overcame their mistakes. They could have just apologized for their mistakes. But instead they were rude at check out. Don't waste your time here. There are much better places in Rome.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vegasparnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    551
    103
    33
    20
See reviews for
298
990
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Jan 13 with my girlfriend. Nice clean hotel, staff were very polite and helpful. They arranged tours and somewhere for us to eat. Breakfast was great, with plenty of food and sufficient staff.
The room was quite small and bed not the most comfortable. However over all great hotel, good location and great service. I would return..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay in a Deluxe room at the Capo d' Africa, and could not have been more pleased. This was our first visit to Rome and a friend had suggested this as the BEST location for 1st timers. It is near the Colosseum in a very quiet neighborhood filled with reasonably priced restaurants and pizzerias. The service could NOT have been better from the front desk personnel to the housekeeping staff to the breakfast waitstaff. I am puzzled by some of the other reviewers remarks...but realize that some people want to find fault. I witnessed several guests and their almost rude behavior to the waitstaff and to the front desk.
Every employee that we encountered throughout our stay greeted us with a smile. The front desk called a cab for us almost every day, and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes. The room was very nice and while not spacious, it was large considering the price paid. The water pressure was excellent, the towels were large and thick, and the bedding was top notch. My only complaint is that the bed was firm. (and I realize this is a personal preference).

The rooftop lounge was the crowning glory to the property...the jasmine was in full bloom and filled the air with a heady aroma! I will stay in a different location for my next visit to Rome, but STRONGLY suggest and recommend Capo d'Africa to anyone for their first visit!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe room....MUCH larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelinmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A modern hotel located just a few minutes easy walk from the Colosseum.
Spotlessly clean, bright and modern with helpful and friendly staff. Check in/out was efficient as was the ordering of numerous taxis and the staff were willing to recommend any excursions or tours and book for you if required.
You were able to take breakfast on an outdoor sunny roof terrace - but beware the cheeky seagulls who swoop down and snatch any unattended food! The fresh fruit was delicious and plentiful, a lovely start to each day.
There are several restaurants near the hotel which would be fine for a pizza/pasta lunch, but for a more varied culinary experience do try further afield if you can.
We stayed in Rome for three nights and found we were able to see all the main sights in this time. We walked miles and miles each day and the Capo D'Africa was a welcome place to retire to each evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first stop on our first trip to Italy and this hotel was perfect. A little pricey compared to other cities but perfect to have a bit of an upscale hotel for our first few nights. The lobby staff was marvelous! They immediately helped us with great tours and restaurant reservations making everything simple. The restaurants and tours they recommended was excellent! Breakfast is served outside on the 4th floor and one morning we simply sat and enjoyed sitting outside and loving the atmosphere without leaving the hotel. Loved the location. Near the Collesum and a lovely neighborhood for walking around. I was traveling with my 2 adult daughters and we all enjoyed being pampered. A great pick!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We could not have asked for more from any hotel. The room was spotless and comfortable, the staff uniformly helpful and welcoming, the breakfast outstanding, and we were just three blocks from the Colosseum with a Metro stop just across the street. There are several fine neighborhood restaurants and pizzerias within a short walk. Free wi-fi, multi-language television, an exercise room, and a rooftop lounge/terrace are but a few of the many amenities. We would recommend this hotel to all who visit Rome.

Room Tip: The side street location made every room quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjmoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff with excellent English skills; clean and sizable room; near the Coliseum and some excellent restaurants.
Cons: Long walk to a lot of popular areas but the hotel is very close to a metro stop, bus stops, and is happy to call a taxi which always arrived for us within 2-3 minutes.
To start with, we had the hotel send a car to pick us up at the airport. I e-mailed Capo the day we were set to arrive because we had to take a later flight. They responded quickly and changed our pick up time for us. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a bell hop who took our luggage. The desk clerk checked us in and provided us with a map of the area. This map was our lifeline in all of the walking we did in the city. It was much better than the ones in our guide book we brought with us. The bellman escorted us to our room and showed us where everything was including the mini-bar, safe, closets etc and how everything worked. We only got one key, but that was never really a problem since my wife and I never really separated on the trip. The bed was extremely comfortable. The closet and drawer space was nice and the in room safe was nice to have. Our in room view wasn't great, but the breakfast room/roof views were amazing! Can see a bit of the Colosseum from the terrace. Breakfast was good, with cold and hot selections. Plus tea, coffee, or cappuccino included. The fresh fruit was wonderful! Every staff person we interacted with was extremely kind and helpful. They brought us extra towels, prompt room service, recommended restaurants and made reservations, gave directions and suggestions, and secured our bags on the last day we were there since check out was at noon and we didn't leave for the airport until 5 or so. Also, the terrace bar has a great selection with a very nice area to relax and enjoy the sun and the views. We looked at the exercise room, but didn't end up needing to use it because of all the long walking tours we went on. It looked nice though.
I posted some pictures below. I can't find two of them. One was of a chair and small table, the other of the TV over the minibar with desk in the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kersius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#77 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing