We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very convenient ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and very convenient ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quite place not too fat from the city center that is the place
Near the Colosseo and really close to the main attraction of Rome
The breakfast on the roof is worth the staying. Staff is very kind and rooms are very quite and clean.... And quite rooms in the heart of Rome are not so easy to find!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IlaBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    568
    105
    33
    20
See reviews for
304
1,016
34
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Capo d'Africa and I'm still head over heels about the place. Although it is spread over 5 floors this is a real boutique hotel experience. I paid for one of their deluxe double rooms and waqsn't dissapointed. Unlike previous reviewers there was no issue with the air conditioning and it proved life saving as the temperature hit 35 degrees in early June ! The only issue I had was with the wi-fi which could on occasions be a bit hit and miss but as it was free I had no real compliants.

The staff and atmosphere make this my first choice hotel in Rome, it is perfectly placed close to the Colosseum & Roman Forum but sufficiently tucked away to make it a quiet oasis. I can't recommend this hotel high enough, although don't want the whole world to find out as I don't want it to change. I will most definitely be going back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIB132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June for 3 nights. We found the staff extremely friendly, they gave us a map and indicated the places to visit. When my husband asked where he could buy a sewing kit as a button had been lost from his shirt, they supplied him with one. We had a very nice dinner on the terrace restaurant where the staff once again were very attentive. Breakfast in the same place also good. Our room was excellent and air conditioning worked well!! It was 36c whilst we were there! We found the location fine for visiting the sights, everything being walkable, when we required a taxi to take us to the Vatican for an early morning visit, reception called one instantly which came within 5mins. If we ever return to Rome we would stay at this hotel and hopefully receive the same service. Doug & Linda Johnston

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Apr 2014. The hotel is closed to Colosseo and just a 10 mins walk to metro. Very convenient.

Before departure, we paid extra EURO 20 a night to upgrade to deluxe room from superior room. The upgraded room is a little bit bigger and we can enjoy free wifi. The room is clean and big. But, some problem in the air-conditioner in our room. We always feel hot in the mid-night. Besides, the wifi is not stable. And the breakfast is so so.

However, the front desk is nice and helpful. He is friendly and explained clearly how to get to different locations.

workheartplayheart.blogspot.com

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family for 2 nights. The staff was very nice and helpful and the rooftop bar was nice after a long day of touring. I enjoyed breakfast with the large selection of different cheeses and meats. My only complaint with the hotel was the air conditioning. My first day I complained and was told the a/c would be on from 4pm-11pm. The front desk clerk told me that Italians aren't as dependent on air conditioning as Americans!!! Finally at 4 pm the a/c was put on.....and around 11pm it shut off. The next day I was told it would be on from 6pm-11pm. When I complained about the room being hot I was told it was broken and would be fixed the next morning. Sleeping in a hot room is not my idea of a vacation and I'm certainly not going to pay to wake up covered in sweat, so the next day my family packed up and headed to another hotel...........one with nice air conditioned rooms.

Room Tip: Check that there is air conditioning before you pay for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dulberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June 2014 and the staff was very helpful. The room was nice size and the a/c was working! The breakfast outside on the roof top terrace was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay.
Bonnie, South Carolina

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights, staff are not that friendly, house keeping is a little laid back. Our room had a leaking air conditioner so we had a bucket with a towel in the room permanently. Staff did not seem to care when told. We asked reception if they knew of a self serve laundry and we had been told it would be a 40min cab ride. On more research we found one within a 10min walk from the Hotel called Ondo Blu on Alfieri. Breakfast is ok but not a great selection, some staff are very rude and not friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jenn_terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jenn Trigal,

thank you for taking the time to post your comments during your stay at Hotel Capo d’Africa on Sunday June 8th.
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the leaking air conditioner, but I’d like to inform all Tripadvisers that on Monday morning our engineer has immediately solved the problem and the bucket was consequently removed from the room.
I’m sorry to read that one of our Front Office Agent gave you a wrong information about the self serve laundry as Onda Blu is walking distance from the hotel and we always suggest it to guests who do not like to have hotel laundry service. I’m going to investigate to understand how it has been possible.
Your negative posting referred to the negative attitude of our team came to us as a great displeasure, all my staff remember you, your husband and above all your sweet daughter with affection and do not understand where and how they failed with you.
I kindly ask you to write me at info@hotelcapodafrica.com the names of the persons that you mentioned to be rude.
Even if during your stay we could not meet your expectations, we hope to welcome you again and have the chance to show that we normally serve a high level of service.

Thank you and best regards,

Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,256 in Rome
2,311 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,256 in Rome
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing