We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with really friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with really friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel on the 18th July, after a 4 night stay. It is a beautifully maintained hotel in a lovely district, plenty of reasonably priced local eateries with really great food nearby. Great for exploring the Colisseum and close to the metro and tourist bus stops. The breakfast in the hotel was lovely (lots of choice) and served on the beautiful sunny roof terrace. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were modern and bright and had lots of amenities ie bathrobes, slippers etc. We loved our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    573
    106
    34
    20
See reviews for
308
1,025
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here with two kids - one teen, one twenty something - and very much appreciated its charm, beauty, and the professional, friendly service. PLUS its an easy walk to the Colisseum, which makes it a good central location. We also enjoyed that it was in a very quiet area, with great little "bars" (coffee + pastry places, some also with alcohol) nearby with very good espresso drinks for only $1.00 and fresh pastries. There are also nearby Italian restaurants where you can enjoy a fresh, reasonable meal. We loved our room with its little terrace and table with a view of the Colisseum. Expect "views" in Italy to include the tops of other buildings, not "unobstructed" views like you might have in the states. Great breakfast, we avoided dinner after seeing some mixed reviews. Near the tiny, modest little "gay area," which is a half block with some t-shirt and gelato shops where my straight son said everyone was friendly when he went out for a drink at night (and found himself a straight girl for amusement).

Room Tip: Get a junior suite, 416 was great -- had its own little terrace and was roomy, with a bathtub. Same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent, and to say we were happy is very true. On arrival we was met by Marco, a very happy gent on the reception, who informed that the room wasnt ready(our bad we was early), but he chased up house keep and 15 mins later we was in. Marco in the meantime got a tourist map out, showed us where we were and what we needed to know, like bus stops, location of points of interest and restaurants etc. The room clean and tidy, one floor and this the only one we found. The shower room could have done with re-grouting and the extractor fan didn't work. So this caused a bit of mould on the ceiling. But the rest of the room was lovely, the air con worked brilliant and we needed it, coming from Yorkshire the heat was toasty. The La Piazza bar was a lovely place to sit, Victoria the bar lady was friendly and the area was clean and tidy. What else can I say, the end stay we had a 6 hour wait till our transport picked us up, the hotel had a bag drop service so we could leave them there till we departed. I forgot, breakfast, lovely the waiter staff friendly and helpful and the food, tasty. I work in a 5* hotel accommodation and this was a good 4* and well worth the money, 5mins from the coloseum, within a 10min radius there are a least 15 restaurants, a very nice little sandwich shop 5mins away.

Room Tip: Go for the 3 floor if you can, the general noise level isnt to bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for four nights with my 2 kids ... the last stop on as elf-guided tour from Paris to Rome. The location was excellent - just a couple if blocks from the Colosseum, Palatine Hill, and several other historical sites, as well as several good restaurants. The hotel itself was nicely appointed with a spacious lobby and dining area on the roof (one outdoor area has a good view of the Colosseum). The dining staff was fantastic and quite accommodating. The other hotel staff were hit and miss - some accommodating and some quite complacent. They seemed to be understaffed at reception, potentially leading to the lack of service. If you're looking for a nice hotel in a great location and care less about service, then I would consider this place. Personally, I will look for other accommodations on my next visit to Rome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cchecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just got back from Rome and stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It was clean, the room was a good size, breakfast offered you a wide selection. The head breakfast waiter was always jolly and friendly, in fact all staff were polite and friendly. The location was good, with many good places to eat close by which were recommended by the hotel. Would stay here again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: We only stayed in a standard room, but it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was unsure of where to stay in Rome and my travel agent suggested capo D'Africa, I was worried what the accommodation was going to be like I needn't have, the hotel is clean and well kept, the staff are well trained, helpful and polite, it is a well run hotel, there is a delightful roof top area, the breakfast was adequate. The hotel is sited a 5 minute stroll away from the Colosseum, the stroll takes you down narrow streets packed with eateries, the hop on hop off bus stops at the Colosseum and so do the public transport systems so all Rome is easily assessable from here, if you like walking though the Vatican City is a steady 40 minutes walk and so are the other main attractions (be warned though there is a lot of work being carried out, the Colosseum, Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain all have scaffold round them to some extent July 14) We stayed on the first floor at the front of the hotel and were never disturbed by noise, walking around the area I felt safe and to have your evening meal with the Coliseum as a back drop and be a 5 minute stroll away from your hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105, close to reception, not noisy fantastic A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Capo d'Africa proved to be a perfect place for my friend and I to stay for a week in Rome. It's conveniently located on a quiet street about 3 blocks from the Coliseum, the Forum, etc. etc. Walkable to just about any place in Rome. Also, lots of good restaurants nearby, which the front desk was very helpful in recommending which place for which food in particular. The included breakfast offered everything from cold cereal to scrambled eggs, and the most delicious coffee. Staff is lovely, helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. There is a very nice rooftop bar deck and restaurant. I really can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Great a/c in all rooms. Some rooms are larger than others, but at a different price. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,261 in Rome
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,261 in Rome
605 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#32 of 1,261 in Rome
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing