We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$358
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$342
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
US$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$1,133
US$801
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$455
US$420
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,180)
Filter reviews
2,180 results
Traveller rating
1,402
606
114
35
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,402
606
114
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelroof terracebreakfast roomancient romequiet streettop floorbreakfast staffpastriespalatine hillour honeymoonloved this hotelaround the cornerbreakfast is servedtrip to romewould highly recommend this hoteldeluxe roomthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,175 - 1,180 of 2,180 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2008

I stayed there last week with my parents and my aunty. I found the staff to be very pleasant and the rooms very clean. Its very near the Colossuem and there are many restaurants in the locality. We were recommended 'Comparone Restaurant' by the hotel. Do NOT eat here. They charged 4 euro per person for bread and then a service charge. The service was terrible and the food not great. I would recommend 'Il Bocconcino' which is a five minute walk from hotel. The meal was lovely and the service excellent. Overall we had a pleasant stay in Rome. Great place so much to do.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BallygarvieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We booked the hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, which we routinely refer to. (Suite Dreams was booked.)
For the first time, we were a tad disappointed.
First off, when we arrived, with five small bags, no porter offered to help -- two just stood around and watched. We actually didn't need the help, but to not offer was a tad unprofessional.
The room was ok, but a bit small. If you're tall and have a basic room, prepare to take a shower sideways, as the tub is narrow. No one goes to Rome to watch TV, but the channel selection wasn't great. Not what you'd expect from a place that charges well over £100 a night.
No hot items at breakfast, and at one point later during our stay, an employee walked straight into our room without knocking! She had the nerve to actually ask if we used the minibar rather than simply apologizing and shutting the door. How ridiculous.
Another time at the front desk, when asking about a restaurant, the receptionist answered the phone, which is no problem. When she was done, though, she spent about 15 seconds chatting to friends who were leaving the hotel before coming back to me. Again, it may sound silly, but I don't think that's great customer service. Perhaps staff should consult Locanda Orseolo in Venice for service.
We loved the neighbourhood, as it was a proper residential area filled with a pharmacy, supermarket and little trattorias and gelaterias, and it's only a short walk to the Colisseum.
Rome was awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrlondon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

After all terrific reviews I booked this hotel for my wife and myself..I think that many of the reviews are a little misleading. My summary after a nice weekend in Rome is following:

Location:
Quiet, but nearest surroundings isn't excellent. You wouldn't just go outside the hotel to grab a coffee. Be prepared to walk.

Restaurant:
Didn't try. The terrass at the roof was very dark and didn't invite us to dinner.
Breakfast OK - not more. Excellent coffee though

Hotell reception and staff
This is a small hotell with friendly and helpful staff. Though the lobby doesn't invite you to sit down and relax.

Hotel room:
Clean, and strict but it starts to get worned. In our superior room we had a large crack in the washbasin and the silcon at the batch tub had started to turn black.

My Summary:
Either the hotel standard in Rome is extremly poor and expensive or the reviews of this hotel is outdated. We payed 50% less at Grand hotel in Stockholm and got 50% higher standard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

A lovely hotel in an excellant location very close to the Colessum, the rooms are big, airy, modern and very clean. The overall impression of the hotel and services was excellant, they made us feel very welcome !

The little bit more you pay for this hotel is well worth it as its within a short walking distance of the main Roman attractions!
Its lovely to see the Colessum in the evening when the main tourists have all gone home.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ScarletNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

The location is terrific for exploring Ancient Rome. Our room was very nice and quite spacious for a city hotel. The Desk Clerk was particularly helpful with pointing out interesting local resturants and with travel arrangements. Having a glass of wine on the terrice with the sun setting over the Colosseum was enchanting.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elliott8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews