We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Ideally located in quiet area close to Colosseum. Friendly, efficient service. English speaking. Very clean and modern. Would recommend highly. Lots of lesser known attractions nearby, within walking distance. Cannot comment on restaurant as this was closed, which we had not expected. €10 taxi to Termini.


Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krax50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    561
    104
    33
    20
See reviews for
302
1,007
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was really nice. They have a rooftop restaurant and you can see the coliseum from the hotel. We took pictures and ate on the rooftop. You can all see some of Rome from the rooftop. You can walk around from the hotel to shops, the park and restaurants. The staff helped up with excursions and airport travel. This hotel is far from the airport but it is walking distance to the Coliseum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frencel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Cute hotel, great rooms, comfy bed. Picturesque terrace for drinks, superb breakfast service with friendly staff. Lovely little restaurants nearby, metro and tram is in walking distance, Colosseum 2 min. walk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evakatona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband & I stayed here at the beginning of August 2014 for 4 nights before travelling to Sorrento. Lovely hotel in a quiet street and a 5 minute walk to the Colesseum. We also managed to walk to alot of the major sites from here Forum, Piazza Navone, Pantheon, Spanish Steps. We stayed in a Classic room on the 3rd floor, room was larger than expected and a nice suprise. Very comfy bed and good air conditioning which was exactly what we needed at the end of a long day sightseeing. The staff were very friendly & helpful, sorting out taxis, places to eat. Would recommend this hotel & we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are nice the breakfast is outstanding and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would have said excellent but I have stayed here before and it was in excellent condition. This time I noticed some wear... carpet stains etc. I am picky about that stuff. I hope they pay attention and keep the place up because it is one of my favorite hotels in Italy.

Room Tip: I like the 3rd floor my kids room had a view of the coliseum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Rome. Very close to Colosseum...walking distance ...hotel is in a alley..kinda quite..but walking distance to a few attractions...Room was great..bed was great...service was great ...great rooftop breakfast ....would love to go back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gareebeaashena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is only a few blocks from the Colosseum but is not in a tourist trap area. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room was spacious, the bathroom spacious, and the air conditioner worked great. Our deal included breakfast and it was very good. The restaurant staff during breakfast were kind and friendly and very nice to my children. The cappuccino was excellent. It's only a 5 minute walk to the Colosseum, a 15 minute walk to the Victory Monument and Trajan's column, and surrounded by several very good restaurants. I felt the price was good value especially compared to the costs of the hotels near the Trevi Fountain or Spanish Steps. If I ever get the chance to visit Rome again, I will definitely stay at the Hotel Capo d' Africa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#76 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing