We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel close to ancient attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Cons: Don't know what it would be.

Location: The Colosseum, Roman Forum, the Pantheon, and Palatine Hill just to mention a few were within walking distance. Easy access to the metro, and train

We were so glad we chose this hotel. It was close to a number of ancient attractions, the subway, and metro lines. All of the hotel staff did a excellent job, was really grateful to Michael for his help in planning out our tour locations and how to get there. The rooms were nice, the cleaning staff did a great job, very nice breakfast bar. We would recommend this hotel to our friends, and family. We will also stay there again if we should return to Rome

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cenocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wow , the highlight of Rome sat on the terrace on our own listening to Rosario , what a lovely kind Gentleman , the Hotel would not be the same without him.

The hotel was Very clean , the cleaning staff fantastic and Breakfast brilliant .

Don't order a taxi from the front desk as it will cost 50 euro for a driver that does not know the city.

Room Tip: Not one that looks onto the street as all you will see is people in the bins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bradmeister1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough if you're thinking of visiting Rome. 5 mins walk from the colosseum but located in a quiet street with hardly any noise, especially good when you're having a drink on the rooftop terrace !!
The helpfulness of the staff is superb. Nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped with wifi that worked ok for us.
Breakfast was good.
All round this hotel is excellent !!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Kaisersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

As other negative reviewers mentioned, except for the breakfast lounge, most of staffs looked like irritated. Receptions often ignored our greetings. The atmosphere was uncomfortable and unhappy. I expected this hotel would be nice referring to Tripadviser, though.

Additionally I was so disappointed to read manager's responses against negative opinions in this web site. They are haughty as know. They should reflect humbly.

I strongly recommend you to stay at other hotels in Rome. There would be a lot of nice hotels. It was unfortunate that our summer vacation in Rome was ruined by this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank hellolemon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Hellolemon,
I’d like to express my regret reading that your overall experience in our hotel did not meet your expectations. Respectfully, I apologize if you felt not very welcomed by our staff that normally is very attentive and friendly towards our guests.
Best regards,
Alessandra Laterza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

As most of you have already seen, this hotel is located close to the Colosseum, so easy to get to many of points of interest in Rome.
The hotel is very clean, with a good/decent breakfast. Again the same paradox for me in Italy: no fresh juice at the breakfast, in a country with a lot of fruits trees.
Bathroom was very clean and with all the things you're expecting for 4*.
The view from the hotel is not as expected and the Colosseum can be seen only from the terrace of the restaurant and probably from only one suite. Despite this fact, I would not consider this a minus. In fact you go to Rome as a tourist or for business, not for staying in a room with a view.
There is a challenge with the parking around the hotel and the personnel could park your car in a parking place but with a huge price per day. If I well remember the price is 42.5 Eur/day
Staff was very, very nice, polite and helpful. They gave us all the information we needed and all the support and I saw only smiling faces at the reception desk.
I would definitely return there when I will visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vmu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Ideally located in quiet area close to Colosseum. Friendly, efficient service. English speaking. Very clean and modern. Would recommend highly. Lots of lesser known attractions nearby, within walking distance. Cannot comment on restaurant as this was closed, which we had not expected. €10 taxi to Termini.


Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank krax50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was really nice. They have a rooftop restaurant and you can see the coliseum from the hotel. We took pictures and ate on the rooftop. You can all see some of Rome from the rooftop. You can walk around from the hotel to shops, the park and restaurants. The staff helped up with excursions and airport travel. This hotel is far from the airport but it is walking distance to the Coliseum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frencel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#87 of 1,269 in Rome
1,887 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#27 of 1,269 in Rome
1,856 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £118 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Blastness , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing