We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Beautifully designed; excellent and quiet position; very helpful staff. The terrace for breakfast and for sitting out at other times is a real bonus. Good local restaurants; Bacconcino is interesting food and very good value; Da Domenica very good though relatively simple food, a little more expensive, very popular with locals.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    568
    105
    33
    20
See reviews for
304
1,016
34
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

My wife and i visited Rome between the 4th and the 8th of March 2009. After reviewing the hotels in Rome using Tripadvisor we have decided that Capo d'Africa Hotel is the choice of us.

1. The Hotel Location - The hotel is in a great location, about 500 meters from the Colosseum and the metro in a quit street which has many restaurants around.

2. The Reception - When we have arrived to the hotel we reception was quick, pleasant and included a review form Massimo about all the places we need to see during our stay with explanation and a map. As i told Massimo, it was the best reception i had ever.

3. The Lobby - is modernly and well decorated with warm and welcoming colors.

4. The Room - bigger than most hotels rooms in Rome, very clean, fairly accessorized, although the bed is big the mattress was not the most comfortable i have ever slept on,, but i wasn't something that kept me awake at night. The bathroom was very clean and comfortable. The room hold good size closets and a safe which are very handy, you will find robes and sleepers as well. The minibar is well equipped although i rarely use them in any of the hotels i stay. One thing about the room i couldn't figure out is how to set the air condition to a comfortable temperature.

5. The Service - We have always received a great, professional, prompt service.

6. The Breakfast - one thing which is a bit disappointing is the breakfast. The main thing the breakfast lacks in is choice. The are no vegetables but tomatoes, the is a choice of serials, cheese, not to much fruits, dairy, bread, cakes, juices and coffee.

All in all, i would surely return to the this hotel next time I'm in Rome.
My advice is to check the hotel website before booking this hotel form other websites such as hotels.com, i found a great promotion on the Capo d'Africa hotel which basically if you pay in advance for 3 nights you get the 4th for free.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Rome for our 10 year anniversary. We usually stay in budget hotels but, because of the occasion, decided to splurge (we got a great deal though...152 Euros per night). I spent SO much time online researching hotels and reading reviews (mostly on TripAdvisor) and it paid off! The hotel was gorgeous and our room was way bigger than the rooms we usually stay in. Everything looked brand new and the bed was super comfortable...I have a bad back so I tend to notice the beds :) The staff were all very helpful...our Internet connection wouldn't work and someone came upstairs within minutes to reset it for us. Also, it rained almost the entire time we were there and we were able to use the large umbrellas from the hotel instead of running out to find somewhere to buy them. We didn't eat in the hotel at all, so I can't comment on that, but I'm sure that would have been wonderful as well.

The best part about Capo d'Africa was the location. We were literally a few blocks from the Coliseum and a Metro station. Being that the Metro in Rome is limited, this was quite a luxury and made getting to the other side of Rome easy when we didn't feel like walking long distances. Even though we were close to everything, we were on a quiet side street and were able to sleep peacefully. There were plenty of little restaurants around the hotel and we ate at most of them during our stay.

Our trip to Rome was great, especially since we were there off-season. There were no lines at the Vatican or the Coliseum and we were actually able to sit down in the Sistine Chapel (which I've been told is an impossibility during the summer). The weather was cooler and rainy but it was definitely worth it for the cheaper prices and no wait times!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandi2doors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel was everything we were hoping for - modern, friendly and in a good position yet not too expensive for Rome. All staff were friendly and happy to recommend places near by to eat. Rooms a decent size and with everything you could need. Breakfast included which is a real bonus.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Had high hopes for this hotel after spending several days researching on tripadvisor and other travel sites, Everything started off fine...were able to check-in early, everyone was friendly, room appeared very nice....then we noticed the ants in the bathroom...thought maybe it was just a few random ants and not a big deal....not until the next day did we realize they were still coming into the bathroom from somewhere. Went down to complain and female concierge said she would get us a new room when one was ready and they would move our bags. Then we went to breakfast, went back to our room and noticed the ants were in the bedroom and in our bags, Went down to complain a second time and magically a room was ready (I guess because we complained twice?). So we were moved to a smaller room, with a worse view and it was a smoking room (we had requested non-smoking). This experience ruined our stay there. We expected an apology? Maybe a room upgrade for the hassle? But no. We basically got a worse room, but at least we didnt see any more ants. DON'T STAY IN ROOM 301....who knows if they got rid of the ants.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

The Capo d'Africa is a nice place, especially when you get the off-season rate (we stayed for 5 nites in January). The rooms are fairly spacious by European standards, and nicely outfitted. Breakfasts are delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is great.

I'm not sure that I would recommend this place if you are paying the high-dollar, high-season price. If you are going to go big and are expecting a big dollar experience, you may be disappointed. I paid about $180/nite, and that seemed reasonable. If I paid the rack rate of 400 Euros in July, I would have felt that the price wasn't worth it.

  • Liked — Location, clean, well appointed room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CMontgomeryBurnsLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I loved this hotel! We went to rome for a week, my fiance and I and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were wonderful, especially those at breakfast, very attentive and friendly. The hotel was emmaculate with nice touches like slippers and a bath robe in the room!

It was a block or two from the colloseum, our favourite part of rome so it was perfect for us. It was quite a walk up to the spanish steps area however so don't stay here if you don't like walking! We loved it and really enjoyed wandering through all the little streets at night. There is no need to go far though in the evening as the best wee restaurant we found was just one street away! Served pizza from 4euros which was amazing and a coke was only 2euros! Watch out for the couple that look onto the colloseum though they are extortionate for drinks. It's better to be in with the locals I think anyway!

We didn't use the gym but had a nosey and it looked very modern. We sat out a few times in the evening on the roof terrace as the weather was still quite mild. The only thing is that they show you a view from the roof terrace onto the colloseum (see their website) and that's only one of the balconies which is only accessable from the breakfast room which is only open in the morning!

loved it, would definately go back.

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — Em....a restaurant in the hotel might have been nice but I'm struggling to think of anything bad!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,256 in Rome
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing