We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capo d'Africa was charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Capo d'Africa was charming”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay at Capo d'Africa Hotel. The hotel is lovely modern and chic.The lobby has a pleasant bar and we were served around midnight with no problem. The breakfast room was so lovely. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the rooms were well appointed. If you are used to upscale boutique hotels this one is for you. The hotel is convenient to the Colosseum, Palatine, the Forum and the Metro. We stayed one night in a disappointing Colosseum hotel but change to Capo d' Africa and were so glad we did.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsh031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    568
    105
    34
    20
See reviews for
304
1,016
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We loved this hotel! The room was very quiet and comfortable. It has a great location - a block from the Coliseum, yet residential and quiet at night. If you want to get to the more touristy areas, the taxi stand is a block away. The subway is a block or 2 away. At night, you felt like you lived in Rome, frequenting neighborhood restaurants.

The breakfast was great – good variety of cereals, breads, danishes, eggs, meats, cheeses, etc. The lady who runs the breakfast is awesome. As soon as you walk in they ask you if you would like coffee. It definitely made us feel like VIP’s.

We definitely plan to return to the great city of Rome, and Capo d’Africa will be our home base.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pat1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I totally enjoyed my stay at this fine hotel. Everyone was friendly, so helpful, patient, and affable. The room was lovely with a well appointed bath complete with plush terry cloth robe and slippers. Laundry service was fast and well done. The bar is well stocked and very well tended, and the hotel food is well prepared. A short 21/2 block walk to the coliseum and a nearby taxi stand - just 2 blocks away. Some good restaurants and at least on trattoria in the immediate vicinity - no more than 2-3 blocks away. The rooftop breakfast is more than adequate with a variety of breakfast foods - cereals, cold meats and cheeses, breads, eggs, hot meats, fruit, juices, variety of coffee, even soy milk. One can choose to eat in or outdoors. The coliseum is clearly visible. I would definitely return. I have traveled to Rome on several occasions, and this was the best experience of all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polidori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it was clean and very quiet. Rooms not that big but definitely well kept. We really liked the area around the hotel - it was more residential which was nice to walk through after a long day of travels. Also - the road about one block up from the hotel turns into a busy spot at night, good people watching. Of course, the proximity to the colesseo was excellent - I LOVED walking past it every day.

Hotel staff was pretty friendly too - helped us out in making reservations for restaurants.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sjtenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOWAYPOSSIBLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Combining family vacation to Rome, Italy with a work trip to Heidelburg, Germany, my husband, 19 yr old daughter and I had the best experience of our lives . . .we love Rome and the Hotel d'Africa within viewing distance of the Coliseum was fantastic! It was on a quaint side street outside of the "craziness" of some of the other areas of Rome but we were still able to walk to some of the main attractions such as the Trevi fountain and Pantheon and of course the Coliseum, Forum, etc are right by the hotel. . . of course you must go to the Vatican . . also checl out the Capuchin Crypt in Rome - kind of creepy but very interesting . . The Hotel d'Africa is an art deco very neat boutique type hotel (which is not type of hotel I'm used to staying but we loved this hotel) - make sure at the end of a long day of sightseeing you order a drink/snack to be delivered to the rooftop terrace/patio . . right around the corner from the hotel is a neighbor wine/cheese shop that does "happy hour" tastings, there's also a gelato shop around the corner and a "college age' bar called the Tree or something like that . . .and literally couple block walk to the Coliseum and all the restaurants/little stores around there . . .and definitely take a "tour" of the monastery right at the hotel - unbelievably beautiful and rich in history and current mix . . we were in a room that faced the main street - narrow room but plenty big for the 3 of us -- large double or queen I think and a "twin" size bed for our daughter .. .hopefully we will have the change to go back one day - and I definitely would stay at same hotel. ..

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOWAYPOSSIBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel is nice, I'll give it that. But the location is bad, bad, bad. Out beyond Coloseum and not in historic center which would be much better. And the place is very, very, very expensive for what you're getting. I'm still fighting with the hotel about the charges on my credit card FOUR MONTHS after the trip. And the worst part of it is that the people who work there are so mean! This was my honeymoon and I was expecting much more. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leavingDCforatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and professional. We love the location as we started every morning touring the city by walking past the coliseum. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markito7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
2,315 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,257 in Rome
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo d'Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo d'Africa Hotel

Property: Capo d'Africa Hotel
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 54, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#46 Family Hotel in Rome
#63 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#75 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Capo d'Africa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capo d'Africa Hotel is an elegant and welcoming Boutique Hotel, located next to the Colosseum , with a breathtaking view from our roof garden. On the top floor, the Hotel's 2014 new service: L'Attico bistrot. Situated on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces, the restaurant offers a Roman cuisine reinterpreted in modern key. During Spring and Summer time the guests are welcome to enjoy a relaxing drink or a delicacy in the magic atmosphere of "La Terrazza" bar, situated on the roof garden. In the Hall, besides the reception, there is a Centrum Bar and a cosy lounge. When you enter the hotel, you can immediately admire the hotel's symbol: a wall of rubber roses ("Il cespuglio") created by the artist Paolo Canevari. The 65 rooms, arranged on three floors, are immersed in the warm shades of ochre, sand and yellow saffron . Capo d'Africa has three multi-functional and day-light conferences rooms able to seat up to 60 people and a gym provided with modern exercise equipments. L' Attico bistrot is open from 7.00 Pm to 11.00 Pm, from Monday to Saturday. The Chef prepares appetizing dishes from the Roman and Italian cuisine reinterpreted in a modern key, all strictly home-made express and creative, in line with the fresh and modern style of the Hotel Capo d'Africa. Selected ingredients and high quality products are the basis of our menu. The service is provided on the panoramic room with a double facade overlooking the two terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capo d'Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo d Africa Hotel
Capo d Africa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing