We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel- Cant wait to return!”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel was fantastic! we booked our weekend through expedia with flights and had a bargin price so was a bit concerned what the hotel was going to be like especially after speaking to other friends who have been to rome.

I honsently thought we had turned up at the wrong hotel as we were greeted by a bell boy straight away and athough the hotel looks small from the outside, its a lot bigger in the inside. The staff were execptional and extremely helpful, providing us with maps of the sites of the rome and recommending bars,resturants and tips as what to see and when.

The rooms are small but not small enough for it too be any issue what so ever. There was more than enought room for the two of us and all our bags.The rooms were clean, beautiful decorated and quiet - we couldnt here any of our neighbours or any street noise unless we opened the window.

The room is fantastically located -- its straight across the road from Piazza del Popollo its right next to the metro station - its less than 200 meters from the hotel so it ideally located for travelling back to the airport and to see the sites such as the vatican. The spainish steps, trevvi fountain is all within walking distance. If you are visiting rome to see any sporting events ( as we went to see wales in 6 nations) the tram to the oymplic stadium is straight outside the hotel.

The happy hour at the hotel was brillant as mainly the cocktails were fantastic. we were would have happily paid full price for them so it was a bargin to pay half price for them. The mojitos are to die for. A big thanks for the barman ( i think its freddy) who took the art of making cocktails seriously and as a result we had tasty cocktails which was decorated with fruit. The bar was always busy and it was lovely to chat and mingle with other guests. The snacks in the happy hour was lovely touch especially after a hard day of walking around rome sight seeing

The breakfast was outstanding with a wide range of cold meats,salmon, cheese, cooked breakfast,scrambled and boiled egg,( poached if you requested them )cerals, fruits,yoghuts, teas,coffee, fruit juices, pastries, randomly marshmallows(which i loved!!) ,toast and proseco .The breakfast was ideal start to the day before a busy day of sight seeing .

I got the impression from the hotel that the staff couldnt do enough for you which was lovely and made you feel welcomed which was lovely. The reception also gave my boyfriend directions to a bar which showed the England and France rugby game and drew directions the map for us.

Every night you would always have chocolate left on the bed with a postcard of what the weather forcast would be which was nice touch! sadly for us the weather was mainly rain but the hotel had complimentary brollies which you could use which was brillant as mine got stolen. The chocolates did cause rows between me and boyfriend as we both did not want to share them :)

My only complaint with the hotel is the lift is quite small as its a maximum of four that can fit in but the stairs arent that bad.We stayed on the 8th floor and the stairs were no bother and neither of us are particuarly fit.Again its not really a complaint - its just a observation really.

We adored this hotel and we will be returning 100%

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were 4 couples visiting Rome for the rugby and sightseeing, this is the 3rd time we've stayed in this lovely hotel, and it just keeps getting better. Ideally situated for tram and metro, easy access to all the sights by foot if you're fit. Rooms can be small, so would advise upgrade, the hotel is a delight, all the staff are helpful and friendly, every single one of them. Rooms are clean and each evening you receive a weather forecast for the next day with chocolates and the bed turned down. We had booked a people carrier through the hotel to collect us at the airport and take us to the hotel, it didn't turn up as there was a mix up of dates, however, when we did arrive we were given free drinks and a room upgrade by Diana, she couldn't have been more helpful and charming. Breakfast has just about everything anyone could want, even fussy eaters. Happy 'hour', is from 6pm until 10pm with lots of lovely snacks produced freshly on the bar. We'll be back in 2 years time and know that we'll have another warm welcome and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreyNomadBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed at River Palace in Feb and absolutely loved the hotel. The location is perfect, right next to piazza del popollo and a few metres from the metro. They gave us a free room upgrade and a bottle of wine which was was very nice of them. Very friendly and helpful staff esp Sergio at reception and Freddy. Room was a decent size, not too big but not too small either, with comfortable bed. My fiancé loved the free chocolates we received each evening. The only thing I would say was the shower cubicle was a little small but otherwise I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not stay anywhere else but here if I returned to rome.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank PriyaLaxhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Tardis (Doctor Who's preferred mode of transport!) would be a good place to start in describing this fabulous little boutique hotel - very small entrance on the outside, in a fairly nondescript side street, you walk into a small lobby very tastefully decorated in black and gold. When we arrived, the staff greeted us very warmly and then took us up to our very comfortable, if small-ish, room on the 7th floor via two lifts - one of which just about holds 4 people! All very un-showy, if there is such a word!
Breakfast was fab - great selection of hot and cold buffet - and the muffins (ESPECIALLY the chocolate ones!!) are to die for......worth smuggling a couple or three back to your room to help you survive the rigours of pounding Rome's streets later on!
The location of the hotel meant that we could walk to every important site in Rome without too much trouble....and it's only 100m from the Metro Line A if you find yourself at the other end of the Forum at the end of the day and you can't face the walk back...but then you'd miss all the boutiques and pizzerias!! And Happy Hour lasts for 4 hours - all drinks at half price.....and the nibbles aren't bad either...!!!

Room Tip: Go for 'Superior' or above if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Within walking distance of all the major sites and right next to a metro stop this hotel was ideally situated. We looked at a lot of hotels before we booked and were very happy we chose this place. All of the staff were very friendly, chatty (in English) and helpful. We had a superior room which was lovely with an archway through to a dressing area with illuminated wardrobe and safe, this led to a roomy bathroom, bath was quite small with some enamel marks but overall the bathroom was very well appointed, cosy gowns and towels. Breakfast was very good, everything you wanted and more. The bar area was beautiful, happy hour was a bonus, we had a drink and nibbles at the hotel and didn't need a starter when eating out later. Chocolates are delivered to the room and my partner received a bottle of sparkly wine on his birthday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicisleofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just come back from a 3 night stay at the River Palace hotel in Rome. As a party of six we all found absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel. Ideally situated close to the Piazza del Popolo and the Flaminio metro station. The staff at the hotel were knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms were small but well appointed. There was more than enough and plenty of choice for breakfast and whilst they don't do dinner they do have "happy hour" which lasts from 6pm until 10pm with half price drinks and enough free snacks, nibbles, sandwiches and rolls etc to fill the hungriest people. Will certainly go back and enoy the great atmosphere at the River Palace.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The River Palace was an excellent find among Rome's many lodging choices. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean, well decorated, and well appointed. The staff was courteous, friendly, and aimed to please. The front desk personnel all spoke fluent english and went out of their way to make our stay as easy and pleasant as possible. As for location, it is ideally placed at the entrance to the Piazza del Popolo, and provides easy access both by walking and via the Metro (entrance down the street)to the entire city. My wife and I enjoyed it here so much, that we went back later on during our month long stay in Italy. I know there are many wonderful hotels in Rome, but you certainly can't go wrong by choosing this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing