We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March, the hotel was exceptionally clean and well decorated. The room was a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, every one greeted you with a smile! The breakfast was great, a good selection on offer, the happy hour in the bar was great value between 6 and 10 pm a pint of lager was approx 2 Euros, in addition to this free bar snacks were provided, which were excellent.
The location was great, right next to Piazza de Popolo and within walking distance of all the main sites. I would definitely recommend this hotel, thanks River Palace for making our stay in Rome memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    576
    131
    29
    22
See reviews for
326
1,378
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our first visit to Rome we were greeted by the receptionist with a happy buonesera! Wonderful hotel within walking distance of the Colosseum, Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain its also 2 metro stops away from The Vatican. Close to designer shopping and restaurants.
Room was very nicely decorated, bed was comfortable with sheets that felt like silk. The marble bathroom was small and was well stocked with super fluffy towels and linen hand napkins. Ample hanging room in the closet and a safe for personal belongings. Each evening we were treated to turn down service and left a little card with the next days weather forecast and candies, what a treat !

Breakfast was great, a selection of cold meats and cheeses also eggs boiled and scrambled, sausage and bacon were provided for those less adventurous folks. Nice selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt, petite pan, breads and fresh juices and the best coffee we have tasted anywhere.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Loved it there, wish we could have stayed longer ... we will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

This is a first class hotel just a 55 euros cab ride from FCO. Considering it's 14 euros per person on the train why not spoil yourself?

Anyway - the hotel is excellent. Clean and tidy with an excellent location. You can walk to everywhere you'd want to go in less than 45 minutes.

The breakfasts are amongst the best I've had in a hotel - usual bread and cheese but also parma ham and sparkling wine if you fancy it. There always seems to be free food on offer at one point or another too which is never a bad thing.

Happy Hour is 6pm to 10pm in the bar with 50% off drinks which makes them cheaper than the UK.

Not many restaurants of real quality nearby so I'd suggest eating when you are walking back from sightseeing and the bar isn't really as "bar like" as you'd imagine - it's a bar with a large waiting room/lobby adjoining it but it's comfortable enough.

There is a small lift in one area of the building - two people are very cosy - but there are stairs just next to it so it's hardly the end of the world.

All staff speak English and are very helpful - issuing you with a map as you check in to help you explore Rome.

First class. And a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_lufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. On arriving at hotel we had a warm greeting from the reception and were promptly checked in. They spoke perfect English and were really helpful in pointing out where there were good restaurants and sights to see.

We upgraded to a superior room and although the room was small it was perfectly formed. We stayed on 5th floor which involved getting 2 lifts, the second being very small.

The room was furnished nicely, was very clean and had minibar, sky TV and a safe.

The bathroom disappointed me as it was very small and the bath/shower combo didn't really work as there was no seal on the bottom of the shower screen. Do if you wanted a shower you had a very wet floor. This meant having to have baths every day and the bath wasn't exactly big.

The room although street facing was very quiet and our floor only had 6-7 rooms on it so there wasn't any noise from other guests.

We loved the hotel bar. It is very cute and happy hour is between 6-10. 1/2 priced drinks (excluding champagne) making cocktails €5 and beers €2.50. They also have a big range of nibbles: crisps, sandwiches, pastries etc. if you have had a late lunch this would certainly fill you up.

I was really pleased to find the hotel offers free wifi throughout the hotel but they also have 2 computers for guests to use. They were kind enough to print off our boarding passes for our flights too.

Breakfast is lovely also. Loads available including cereals, fruit, yoghurt, breads, muffins, pastries, juice, ham, cheese, salmon, and much more. They also have hot food but I didn't find it very hot and the eggs are done on the well done side shall we say.

We had a great stay and would certainly stay again.

Restaurant tip; if you are looking for a nicer than average meal then try Life. It's about a 15 minute walk. Fantastic food and great service. Just google it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooeyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This lovely hotel made our first visit to Rome a wonderful experience. It is set in an amazing location within easy reach of all the main sites of Rome .For people who enjoy fashion and food this area is the place to be,simply breathtaking but the hotel does not rely on this to be sucessful, this hotel delivers all that you wish for in an excellent hotel with pride. The rooms are small but were spotless and contained all that you need and more, amazing staff delivering finishing touches like choclates on your bed at night with a weather forecast for the next day , excellent choice of breakfast meeting all dietary needs, a generous happy hour of snacks and drinks, and free internet. We will return worth our 100% rating

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Wonderful hotel that will make you feel like a millionaire! Turn down service with chocolates, beautiful rooms and bathroom, close to shopping and restaurants...and marble everywhere! Wish we would have stayed in this hotel before our cruise too--it was fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmt_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, amazing staff, amazing value. Generous happy hour (s) drinks, free snacks, huge breakfast choices, chocolates on pillow each night, walking distance to all sights, metro literally 200 metres from hotel if not. Staff will help with anything. Free wifi in rooms. Really would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecwhitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,927 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing