We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Personal opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Personal opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel River Palace is a very nice hotel at Piazza del Popolo... Near the historic center of Rome! The location is excellent... The metro station Flaminio is near the corner! Very safe and quite location but at the same time so close to the city center... You can walk and go anywhere by foot! The service of the hotel is excellent! The receptionists are very helpful and very polite! The breakfast is very good, with various plates... The rooms are very small and the bathroom is for tiny people! In the shower cabinet you cannot move or turn! This is something negative! The price of the hotel parking is also expensive. We had to pay 30€ per night to park our car in the hotel garage! :-( The hotel service offers every afternoon small chocolates with next day's weather forecast! Very gentle and smart gesture! I will definitely stay at the same hotel next time I will come to Rome but I will ask for a bigger room and bathroom!
Alex Greece

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    583
    132
    29
    22
See reviews for
333
1,395
55
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed from March 12th - 15th. Stayed in a junior suite room 109 which was everything we could have hoped for. The staff at reception, bar, breakfast were friendly and helpful, nothing was to much. Would recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you can choose a deluxe or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chippenham_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have to agree with all the positive comments in the previous reviews about this hotel, the service and quality of the breakfast and the "happy hour" made for a pleasant stay.
But the size of the rooms are much too small averaging between 10 to 12 sq metres, you will bang your shins or elbows on something. my partner and myself are both on the small side and getting ready in the morning and then on the evening meant one of us standing on the bed most of the time as there is not room for 2 to get ready at the same time, there is a small chair in our room which had to be moved onto the bed whenever you wanted to get to the small wardrobe or the safe, there is nowhere to put your suitcases out of the way either.
Talking of small sizes the shower has a corner opening door which can only be accessed by going in sideways in you are of a larger size than me you will struggle to get in it. To access your rooms you have to take an lift up a level and then around 2 corridors to the main lift which is will only take 2 people with luggage or 4 people very close together, this lift was broken again on our last but one day her and meant climbing to the 8th floor and back on 3 occasion's, this is when the friendly staff are not so nice, no apologies from 3 different members of staff because of this, just said the lift engineers had been called, "its out of our hands". I would have hated being stuck in that lift for so long, do not stay at this Hotel if you are even slightly claustrophobic or of a larger size. Its not centrally located as stated in a previous review but you can access the main tourist stops if you like walking which we did in the rain, hail and thunderstorm which Rome greeted us with our first 2 days there, but still had a lovely time there and even managed to see the final black smoke before the new Pope was elected.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are tiny, the more expensive rooms are not much bigger, check the Hotels own webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tismyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay in this hotel. It is situated in the centre of Rome and is in walking distance of all the major attractions such as the Roman Forum and the Vatican although buses and metro station are virtually outside the door. Our room was very well appointed, beds very comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Turning down of the beds in the evening with chocolates left on the pillows was a nice touch. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The choice of the buffet breakfast was excellent and catered for everyone's needs. Although not offering evening meals, the hotel had a 'happy hour' between 6 - 10pm every evening when all drinks were half price and there was a complimentary selection of canapes/sandwiches/eats on the bar. This meant you did not have to go out if you did not want to. However, there are many good restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the River Palace. Firstly on arrival the staff were very welcoming and all stayed polite professional and helpful throughout my stay. I could not have asked for more from them, from concierge, maid, waiters and reception, everyone always smiled, said hello and welcomed you and offered to help. When checking in they gave me a map, pointed out where I was and where would be interesting to go. This was helpful.

The general presentation of the hotel is lovely. Clean and classy. Breakfasts were tasty with a variety of hot and cold and sweet. The bar has a happy hour (or three) and serve a complimentary mini buffet but there is no restaurant for the evenings.

As for the location of the hotel it was ideal. I felt safe walking the short road (2 min walk) to the Piazza Del Popolo and Borghese grounds. Add a couple minutes more and you arrive at the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. As long as you are wearing the right shoes you can walk to almost anything including the Colosseo, on the way to which you will pass many fantastic places to stop, shop and admire. For Vatican City you will need to take the underground but that is also only a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

As for my room at the River Palace, I was in 210. This was a deluxe double room. Not huge but big enough with a double bed, a dressing area and then onto the bathroom. It was quite dark in this room and the view from the window was I believe the concrete courtyard to the kitchen, which meant waking up in the mornings was pleasant (pastries and bacon), but it was shared with a block of apartments which I felt slightly overlooked by, especially as there was a window in the bathroom which I am sure gave them a view of the toilet! There were plenty of hangers in the cupboard and a descent hairdryer in the bathroom as well as a magnifying mirror. There was also a full length double mirror and fantastically soft towels, dressing gowns and slippers in the room. You have control of the heating in the room and in the evening there is a turn down service and they leave you with a weather report and chocolates. There is a well stocked mini fridge and the rooms are decorated nicely. This was also a quiet room, I was very rarely disturbed by outside noise. Unfortunately there were only two plugs in the room and no tea/coffee facilities. I also could not work out how to turn the bathroom light out, (but that could be just me). The Hotel are environmentally friendly giving you the option for towels and bedding change.

Overall I visited this hotel on my own and was very happy with it. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DippyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March, the hotel was exceptionally clean and well decorated. The room was a bit small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, every one greeted you with a smile! The breakfast was great, a good selection on offer, the happy hour in the bar was great value between 6 and 10 pm a pint of lager was approx 2 Euros, in addition to this free bar snacks were provided, which were excellent.
The location was great, right next to Piazza de Popolo and within walking distance of all the main sites. I would definitely recommend this hotel, thanks River Palace for making our stay in Rome memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our first visit to Rome we were greeted by the receptionist with a happy buonesera! Wonderful hotel within walking distance of the Colosseum, Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain its also 2 metro stops away from The Vatican. Close to designer shopping and restaurants.
Room was very nicely decorated, bed was comfortable with sheets that felt like silk. The marble bathroom was small and was well stocked with super fluffy towels and linen hand napkins. Ample hanging room in the closet and a safe for personal belongings. Each evening we were treated to turn down service and left a little card with the next days weather forecast and candies, what a treat !

Breakfast was great, a selection of cold meats and cheeses also eggs boiled and scrambled, sausage and bacon were provided for those less adventurous folks. Nice selection of fresh fruit and yoghurt, petite pan, breads and fresh juices and the best coffee we have tasted anywhere.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Loved it there, wish we could have stayed longer ... we will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing