We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We beg to differ .......”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We beg to differ .......”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

with most of the reviews. We did not think this hotel rated its four stars. We had a 'superior' room. I should not have liked to see the standard rooms if that was superior. The twin beds were less than six inches apart. The bedroom was tiny and the bathroom very small - to use the loo, you either positioned yourself at at angle or opened the shower door to sit straight. The breakfast food was plentiful and had had variety but was of poor quality. We were given wrong information about what was open/available on 1st May (a public holiday) which spoiled our plans. We like the two guys who ran the bar very much. This was the fourth time we have been to Rome, and this is the first time we have had not had a very good hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRiverHotels, Direttore generale at River Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the River Palace Hotel.
We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As per several previous reviews our room are on the small side. If you look for larger rooms, in a big building, with several elevators and huge lobby area, this is not the right hotel. The hotel is located downtown Rome in a historical district, in an old building, our rooms are different, with different room categories. The hotel is intimate with a friendly and cozy atmosphere. Our breakfast is served every day from 6.30 to 10.30 with a wide selection of cold and hot items. All our cakes, pies and sweetes are baked every day. We serve Smoked salmon and Parma ham, with a selection of at least 4 italian cheese, and chilled Mimosa. I personally order the food every day. Our Food & Beverage Manager is in charge of checking the quality of the food. Beside that I feel very sorry that we did not offer our best performance in order to make your stay unforgettable. Our goal is to serve all our guests at our best and to customize the service on our guests' needs.

Kind Regards

Michele Scandellari
General Manager
River Palace Hotel
River Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,434
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is in the north part of Rome next to Piazza Polo and by Villa Medici Gardens. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. They know the best places to eat that are away from the tourist areas. The local eat in these and you will save money. They serve a great Italian breakfast in the morning but have no restaurant. Bar in the evening serves half price drinks fron 6-10 PM to guests of the hotel, but no champange. You can access your airline boarding passes from there computer and they will print them out. We stayed 9 nights and could walk every where, but to the Colosseum was too much of a walk for us. Took a legal taxi for 7 Euro.
Andre and and Diana were of great help. Diana is the manager.

Room Tip: Room 103 in front but quiet and since hotel has 2 elevators. this room only requires 1. King bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerlosososw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This was a great hotel. The rooms were small but beautifully appointed. The staff members were helpful. The breakfast buttet was wonderful and the lobby bar area was perfect for relaxing after a lond day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Beautiful rooms, delicious food, wonderful customer service!

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and the staff was amazingly friendly. The provided breakfast was perfect. The rooms were pristine. We had moved to this hotel after a terrible experience at another and the staff worked with us to extend our stay each day even though it was terribly last minute. This experience was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel is, bar none, my favorite hotel. The lobby is beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. Our friends were visiting Rome, staying at a different hotel, at the same time we were, and wanted to switch hotels (to river Palace).

Rooms: On the small side, but the bathrooms are gorgeous marble. Upgrade if you can.

Happy Hour: An afternoon favorite, with half price drinks. Low slung couches, and creamy yellow lighting add to the afternoon ambience.

Breakfast: Fabulous. Full American breakfast, wall to wall food, and included in the price.

I highly recommend this hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rome.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room. Do not miss breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtsidesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Excellent hotel.. Very clean..Beds were very comfortable..Excellent location..Staff were very friendly..The Breakfast had a great variety of food and drinks to suit everyone..The Hotel bar had a good variety of drinks and had a happy hour between 6pm to 10pm..With all drinks half price.. Would definitely recommend The River Palace and would certainly go back and stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

the personel was very friendly. the beds are good, the rooms very clean, and the breakfast is excellent! We had a very good stay at this hotel! The hotel lies just north of piazza del Popolo, most main attractions you can walk within 30 min. There is a metro station at less than 5 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacomien7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
2,220 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,257 in Rome
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing