We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of August and were very grateful for the airconditioning! Staff very helpful & a great location for sight seeing. Rooms were a bit small, but clean & tidy. Loved the chocolates at night with the weather report. Breakfasts was plentiful with a wide variety of cakes, cereals etc.

Can highly recommend the restaurant across the road, which was recommended by the hotel. Suggestion for those visiting the Vatican, check if it is open the day you want to go & if visiting in peak tourist times, get there by at least 7:30am. I arrived at 07:50 and the queue was already long with a 1 hour wait to get in. If you do arrive late, use the local tour to get in it (they're the ones walking up and down the line), costs an extra 25 Euro but is worth not having to stand in the queue in the heat.

  • Liked — Chocolates & airconditioning
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neubauten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,434
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Really friendly staff - went out of their way to help us. Really good breakfast, always well stocked and fresh. Great location in Rome - really close to all the sights (particularly spanish steps and trevi fountain). Rooms were small but big enough for their purpose, cleaned daily with fresh linen - the little chocolates on the pillow and daily weather predictions were a nice touch! Well worth its price, really cannot find a bad work to say, thanks!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at the River Palace for four nights to celebrate my wife's birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary. This a real gem of hotel. It is well maintained and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were well above average. Its reception and bar areas are very impressive - althought he bar is a little pricey. Having seen the reviews about the size of the rooms I upgraded to a de-lux room - a good call and I would reccomend doing so.The rooms are beautifuly decorated and complimented by the classic ensuites. The staff are very friendly,thoughtful and helpful. The evening turndown service acompanied by a little box of chocolates and the next days weather forecast were nice touches. Its perfectly located close to Metro/trams/buses and also within walking distance of a number of the major attractions. My wife received a beautiful book on Rome on her birthday. This is a unique little hotel and stands head and shoulders above the bigger chains offerings. It is one of the best hotels I have used and I would recommend it unreservedly. I certainly intend to return.

  • Liked — The decor of the room & ensuite
  • Disliked — Only CNN available in English
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bjayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I booked the River Palace Hotel through Thomson City Breaks and was really impressed with the hotel.

Before making the booking I checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor and also booked a tour of the Vatican through Presto Tours which I can highly recommend.

The room was fine but the bathroom was on the small side, but how much of your holiday do you spend in the bathroom!!!

The room was very clean and I liked the chocolate left on your pillow every evening, a very nice touch.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends, and I am sure I wil return in the future.

  • Liked — Excellent Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulesMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We arrived in Rome after 20 hours of travel with our 2 teenagers. We had contacted the hotel for an early check-in (we were arriving at 11:30 or 12 and check-in wasn't until 3). They told us that if we had wanted early check-in, we should have booked the room for the previous night. Ok, well, that's understandable, they can't know when the people who have the room before us will actually check out, even though I am more accustomed to hotels making at least some allowance for earlier arrivals.
We also arranged for an airport transfer through the hotel concierge. We thought that after 20 hours of travel, we would be in no condition to figure out the best way to get to the hotel. It was EU$80 but we considered it worth it. Well, we arrived exactly on time, but there was no driver there to get us. We waited at the doors just outside of baggage claim for 20 minutes, with no driver. We finally decided to take a taxi. Imagine our surprise when we were checking out of the hotel and the clerk informed us that they were expecting us to pay for the airport transfer. Of course we refused to pay for a service we didn't receive, but they charged my credit card without my authorization. Now I will have to go through the whole dispute process with my credit card company. It was definitely not worth all of the hassle I will have to deal with now!

  • Liked — The bellman was extremely friendly
  • Disliked — Maximillian
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MNCFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband took me to Rome for my 40th and what a fantastic weekend we had. The hotel was gorgeous, had to wait about an hour for our room to be ready, which wasn't a problem we had a drink at the bar and chatted to the friendly staff.
The room was small which we expected from previous reviews, but it was very compact and comfortable and of course it was lovely to have your bed folded back with a box of Godiva chocolates every night.
Hotel was in a great location, staff were very friendly and helpful and I even received a small present for my birthday. Some great cocktails at the bar. All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitley go back.

  • Liked — Very clean, ornate, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullIrish_whiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed three nights and it was fantastic, in fact it may have been one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Europe. Truly nice staff that helped us with dinner reservations, tours and any other info we needed. Our room was not ready when we arrived, we arrived about three hours prior to check-in time, but we waited only 15 minutes and were shown to our room, bags waiting for us in the room. We chose the standard room, with a queen bed. It was quaint, definitely not large, but it was comfortable, clean and air conditioned. There is a nice bar in the hotel and the breakfast was very good. On Friday and Saturday night they had a wonderful piano player, very nice to relax while having a drink at the bar before going out for dinner.

It is only two blocks from Flamini Metro station and two minutes from Piazza di Popolo. It really can't be beat for the location and definite class of this hotel. I have stayed elsewhere in Rome and you cannot do much better than this. A bad hotel can wreck a great vacation, this one truly enhanced it ours.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chirodoc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
2,220 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,257 in Rome
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing