We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$321
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$417
US$335
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$351
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$163
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$329
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$250
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$2,183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$733
US$466
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,578)
Filter reviews
2,578 results
Traveller rating
1,714
664
146
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,714
664
146
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf price drinkspiazza del popolospanish stepsfree bar snacksflaminio metro stationdeluxe roomwithin walking distancepastriesrooms are smallturn down serviceevery eveningclassic roomtrevi fountainan upgradelovely hotelhotel barfirst floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,185 - 1,190 of 2,578 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We found the hotel staff to be very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Boarding passes and attraction tickets were printed on request.

The room was comfortable and quiet. A buffet breakfast was provided with more than enough selection to set us up for a good days walking. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from Piazza del Popolo which is a the top of the main street leading to many of the major tourist attractions.

If we return to Rome, and I hope we do, we will likely stay at this hotel.

For those who need their gadgets, the WiFi was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went in early February and did not know what to expect, but everything was fabulous. The location was within a short walking distance from the Piazza Popolo, Spanish Steps, Borghese Gardens and Villa, and the Metro. We to the Metro to every important landmark and church with no problem. The front desk and all staff were friendly, polite and helpful. They handled all necessary ticket requirements, and handled problems quickly and efficiently. No complaints at all. The rooms were a bit small, and could have used more drawer space because we were there from nine nights and had a lot of clothing. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean, and bathroom had a heated towel bar and robes. Excellent breakfast with extensive choice of eggs, potatoes, pancetta, cheeses, ham caprese salad, mushrooms, cereals, juices, breads, various pastries and cookies, fresh fruits and yogurts. The pleasant staff kept everything filled at all times. Will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable albeit a little small, it was well appointed and clean. The only slight criticism was the air conditioning was centrally controlled and we found the room a little warm but to keep the windows open was too noisy. The location was very good, we used the Metro which was only a minute away, a couple of times, but as the weather was good we walked to most places and whilst some sites are a good half an hours walk, it is such a lovely and beautiful city it was a pleasure. The breakfast was fairly standard, but the food was of a good standard. We did enjoy the hotel bar which has a happy hour for residents between 6pm ans 10pm, which makes it incredibly good value. We tended to have a drink in the hotel rather than pay two or three times as much elsewhere. The hotel bar is staffed with friendly and attentive staff and the sofas are very comfortable after a day exploring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1G4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great hotel ideally located and within walking distance of main attractions. The breakfast was amazing and the "Happy Hour" in the evening combined with a good range of free bar snacks was a welcoming end to busy days of sightseeing. The staff are incredibly polite and helpful, rooms on the small side but comfortable and well equipped

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We visited the beautiful city of Rome for a birthday break and stayed at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights.

The service during our stay from the moment we were met at the reception desk through to our departure was exceptional, the staff couldn't do enough for us and they really did go the extra mile to ensure that our stay was special. We even received a surprise complimentary bottle of wine from the hotel management as a kind gesture for my partner's birthday.

If there is one thing I would advise to future guests, it's to choose a higher graded room to ensure extra space as the rooms are fairly small (we had a deluxe room and it wasn't terribly spacious). That said, the room amenities and cleanliness were very good. The turn down service each night with chocolates on the pillows, complimentary slippers and a daily weather report was also a nice touch.

Situated near to Piazza del Popolo (5 mins walking) the hotel is in a generally quiet location but close enough to walk to some of the main sights (e.g. Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain). The metro is also just down the road.

Thank you to all of the staff for such an enjoyable weekend. We will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel on our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLD0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews