We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable service”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unbelievable service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we entered, I felt very comfortable. We had a long trip, 9 1/2 hrs from LAX to Paris, a long layover and 2 hr flight to Rome plus driving time. 19 hours in total. The Jr suites are roomy, with a safe, 2 servi-bars and free wi-fi. The Mgr was kind and left us a bottle of Chianti. The bathrooms even have towel warmers. Lastly, you don't need to bring your electric converter. There is already one in the room. If you would like to stay here contact the Mgr, Diana Gojani at diana.gojani@riverpalace

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    589
    133
    29
    22
See reviews for
339
1,409
57
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful with helpful and friendly staff, the breakfast and the bar are equally lovely with the addition of happy hour making the cost of drinks very reasonable. The rooms as previously stated are very small, even though I had upgraded our room before we arrived; the bathroom especially so, the burning of skin when getting up from the toilet is especially uncomfortable. The main complaint I have about the room is the noise, first floor rooms are to be avoided, what with slamming doors and people walking past. When I commented on this on leaving I was advised that they would have moved us if I had asked, a little late if you have already unpacked and so forth though. All that said, the hotel, the staff, the location, the breakfast and bar are very good value for money. I booked transfers through Alessandro Marconi, I would recommend him and his service to anyone. The car is lovely, comfortable (a Merc) and extremely clean, he took us on a tour of Rome prior to taking us to our hotel and kindly on the return leg took us to a couple of gems we would not have visited. Email is romalimostar@gmail.com

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at this wonderful hotel. The location is great and the staff very helpful and friendly which all added to make a very pleasant stay. We upgraded our room and although slightly on the small side, the room was lovely and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome and wanting value for money.

The breakfast offers just about everything you could wish for and the bar has a happy 'hour' between 6 and 12pm and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Although our visit was in 2013, the memory of this delightful hotel lingers so I decided to write my first review. The location was very good, the staff was wonderful and the accommodations more than comfortable. We had the opportunity to pay a bit more for a suite and it was the best investment, we felt like we had a flat in Rome. The breakfast was delicious and we ended each day in the lovely little bar. Easy walking to wonderful places, loved Rome, hope to return and will definitely choose the River Palace.

Room Tip: Book the suite with the lovely terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysims16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from Rome, The hotel is in a good location although you may feel like you are a bit further away from everything. We walked to the hotel from Termini it was quite a walk but as long as you are able to read a map well and have your walking feet in order it a great way of seeing everything. The rooms are a little small but have everything you need after all you don't spend much time in the room. The bar is a quiet area and ideal to relax for a pre dinner drinks and after dinner drinks. We paid 9 euros fro a large beer at a bar across the square and the hotel bar was 3 euros and the cocktails are great at 6euros. We loved our time in Rome, visiting the Vatican,Colleseum etc. Walking to all these attractions is possible as we did but if you are less able take the hop on off bus or use the public bus,tickets are available from tobacco shops. Breakfast room is lovely here.Hotel staff are friendly and helpful just ask and they will help you with directions etc. If you are here on a Sunday I would recommend heading over to St.Peters square for the Angelus at 12.00.Piazza Navonna is a great atmosphere with musicians and artosts but I imagine very pricey to eat and drink there.

Room Tip: choose one on lower floors otherwise you have to take 2 lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

the river palace was easy to find,and they were very helpful on arrival,happy hour,drinks at half price is 6pm till midnight.The rooms are small but are really lovely,breakfast 6-30 to 10-30 and plenty of choice,the metro is just round the corner,A good central base to see rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to return to this hotel for my 40th birthday as we thought it was excellent when we stayed five years ago. It does not disappoint. Great spot for exploring, good sized rooms which feel very Italian. The bar is well used by the guests as it has a permanent happy hour and great bar snacks, you could skip dinner and stay there if the local restaurants weren't so good! A bottle of wine was left in the room as a gift on my birthday....what's not to like :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KezraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing