We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is very close to Piazza del Popolo, the Borghese Gardens, the Spanish Steps and the Metro. The staff are very friendly and the happy hour in the evening is a perfect way to relax after walking around the city all day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    576
    131
    29
    22
See reviews for
327
1,382
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This lovely hotel is in a great location for exploring Rome. It has a metro terminal and subway station on the doorstep too.
The rooms were perfect for a city break, clean and comfortable. I'm not sure how people could complain on this site/ to the hotel when one sees the number of homeless on the streets in Rome. The luxury of a roof over your head should not be taken for granted!
The staff were all very friendly. The snacks at the bar were a treat before going out for dinner. The breakfast came with lots of choice and was tasty.
Many thanks to all of the staff that made my stay with you a pleasant and enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

As you will read in most of the reviews on the River Palace the rooms are small but very clean and functional or upgrade as we did for not a lot of Euros. Other than that everything was spot on. Great breakfast buffet, first class staff, happy hour in evening great prices, location excellent for all the main attractions all within walking distance, Metro nearby if you want to travel further or to the main railway station to get the express to the airport only 35 mins. Not that we wanted to leave, had one of the best trips ever and will certainly like to return again in a few years or sooner and yes I would stay at the River Palace again. Shame there are not more hotels like this around Europe. Well done River Palace keep it up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in a good location right next to the Piazza del Popolo.

Rooms are compact, as mentioned in other reviews, but you shouldn't be staying in your hotel room when there are so many things to see nearby.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, full of great recommendations.

Happy hour must be taken advantage of!!

Would definitely stay here again, but would avoid room 306 (or any near the lifts) as the noise of people coming and going was quite distracting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diegobaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is so clean, friendly and in a fab location for visiting the sites of Rome. It's minutes from the main shopping streets also. Rooms are fairly small but very comfortable. Bar is lovely with happy hour all evening. Lovely breakfast selection. My only suggestion to improve this lovely hotel would be to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watford_EnglandLelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I can't recommend the River Palace Hotel enough. The staff were amazing before before we arrived via email and during our stay. Admittedly our room was on the small size but we knew this based on earlier reviews and it didn't detract from our stay because we were only in the room to sleep.

The happy hour(s) were brilliant. It was a lovely setting to have a couple of pre and post dinner drinks and get to know fellow guests. The nibbles were a great idea too.

We have recommended the hotel already and will continue to do so. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Thank you to the staff of River Palace for making our stay so amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the River Palace Hotel for four nights and found it to be extremely good. It is in a wonderful location and although on a tram line it was very quiet.. All the major sites are within walking distance or for slightly further afield the metro is within a few minutes walk. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful. I would defy anyone not to be able to find something to eat from the breakfast buffet - the selection was huge. The bar is a great place to relax in the evening and with a long "happy hour" it makes perfect sense to use it. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 397barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing