We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great hotel in a great location. Easy access to many of the sights but in a quiet area. Rooms were small, but typical for a boutique hotel in a large city. Overall I would say this is an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztxcajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    576
    131
    29
    22
See reviews for
326
1,377
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the second time that we've stayed at The River Palace while in Rome for the rugby 6 Nations. Its in a great location, just across the road from Piazza Popollo. While at the same time being within reasonable walking distance of Studio Olympics (about 2 miles I think). In fact most things are within walking distance. Breakfast is good, but the room is quite small so sometimes there is a queue for tables. Cappuccinos and lattes are available but you have to ask otherwise you just get the standard filter coffee. Standard bedrooms are small. So small you can touch the walls while lying on the bed. However the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. My one gripe (and this isn't just with the River Palace but a lot of hotels) they only put one set of toiletries in the bathroom. Given that most people take hand luggage only when on city breaks so rely on hotel supplies would it really kill them to set out 2 bottles of shower gel etc. There wasn't a problem with getting extras when we asks, but it would be good not to.
A nice touch is that they turn the bed down every night and leave chocolates and also a weather forecast for the next day.
The bar had a happy "hour" from 6pm until midnight and also served great free nibbles with the drinks. They were also very accommodating and put the other rugby matches on in the breakfast room as all the bars were full. Sadly France didn't help us out and we didn't manage to win the 6 Nations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxation_Finder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

this hotel probably one of the best i have stayed in.
the room was small but had big windows and everything you needed was in there.
The bar was very nice happy hour 1800 - 2200 every night fr the guests of the hotel and was nice and relaxing after a busy day in rome.
the staff were very helpful arranged car back to the airport printed out rickets for me and were always very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: do not go on the 1st floor as this is the room the breakfast floor is on, and alot of people walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was fantastic! The location was brilliant and the staff were really helpful and showed us how to get to all the main sights. Everything was within walking distance and doing so meant we saw all of central Rome.

The bar/lounge was lovely and people regularly relaxed there of an evening. The cocktails were fab!

Rooms are standard city size and my sister and I shared a twin room and were fine space wise. I would ask about an upgrade purely for better views. I agree with other reviews that the first floor should be avoided if you're a light sleeper. We were on the second floor and did face the tramline but it wasn't noisy and didn't disturb us.

I'd definitely stay here again if I return to Rome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rev1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is tiny as is the usual thing in Rome but very well situated and close to a lot of tourist attractions.
The hotel staff is very polite and helpful, always with a smile.
The one negative thing that I found was the elevator. You need to go to the first floor and the change elevator to go to the other floors. It is tiny and only fits one person with two suitcases (which was my case). This means that at check out time, I actually had to wait for 20 minutes until I could finally get on the elevator...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMLnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for a special birthday.We opted for a suite which had fabulous views over to the Gardens and right down the avenues and across the city.The balcony was large and had two sets of French Doors to access from the sitting area or the bedroom.The décor was gorgeous and the jaccuzzi bath fabulous.A complimentary bottle of wine in the room on arrival was a lovely touch as were the chocolates each evening and the bed "turn down".Breakfast was delightful and nothing says happy holiday more than a prosecco and fresh orange juice to start the day.The selection of foods,breads and pastries was most enjoyable and constantly filled up with the very pleasant staff.The reception were most helpful and indicated how close we were to walk to almost all of the sights and a tram stop was on the street.All in all we were so glad we chose this hotel on our first visit to Rome.

Room Tip: a suite is lovely as a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South YOrkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

After lots of searching for the perfect hotel we picked The River Palace as our base for a 5 day first time break in Rome.

Upon arrival in Rome to the Termini area, we were less than impressed, it seemed like any other big city. Fortunately our hotel was located to the North of Rome in a quieter location across the road from the Piazzo Del Popolo. This was a brilliant spot to see the street performers and watch the world go by.

From the hotel we could walk to all the main locations in Rome, such as Trevi Fountain, Vatican City, Spanish Steps, Colesseum etc.

The hotel itself is beautiful, we received a very warm welcome, and were escorted to our rooms promptly. Yes the rooms are on the small side (we upgraded) but they are well stocked and brilliantly clean. I loved the turn down service at night. We would return to find the weather report, 2 chocolates on our pillow and our slippper laid out ready for us.

Breakfast was continental, and offered a fantast choice. It really filled us up ready for a day of exploring.

Happy hour at the bar was brilliant and we spent most evening in there either before or after our evening meal. I can definitely recommend the cocktails! I loved the fact that they also had food on the bar, which included bruschetta, crisps and other nibbles.

If I come back to Rome I will definitely by staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAttenborrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing