We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Palace - A 4 Star with a 4.5 Star Service”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“River Palace - A 4 Star with a 4.5 Star Service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Neat, charming hotel close to several tourist attractions. The historic Piazza del Popolo is a stone's throw away and from there, we walked to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.

Hotel decor and lay-out is very interesting. Typical of a European charm, art work/paintings, stained glass ceiling in the lobby, impressive grand piano that added a classy touch. It would have been nice if someone played music while having a drink at the lobby (close to the bar).

Kudos to the bellman, he was very professional and friendly - more than the front desk personnel. Housekeeping - they have a ritual of sneaking into your room prior to bedtime and leaving some sweets (chocolates) and a little note (about the next day's weather). I thought it was interesting and a very sweet gesture. The bartender was a pro and just wonderful at what he does. Sorry, forgot his name - my husband would remember as he was always at the bar each night. Speaking of the bar, most drinks are half-price from 7:00 (or 6:00) thru 10:00 p.m., which came out to be a huge bargain compared to the restaurants and bars along the Piazza del Popolo area. They served chips, nuts and canapes for FREE.

The buffet was to die for. Even if they served the same stuff each day, there was no way for one to get burnt-out. Due to the extent of the selections, you can try some fare one day, and try another the next, so on and so forth. It was served as early as 6:00 a.m. thru 10:00 a.m. It was a fantastic way to start your day.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,434
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is lovely - the service was excellent. Reception staff could not have been more helpful, the bar is good with inexpensive drinks, and the internet service at the front entrance was fast. Reception helped us find opera tickets, quickly and inexpensively, restaurants, etc. The breakfast was outstanding. Would definitely return here. We were on our honeymoon and the room was automatically upgraded to a junior suite, at no cost, with lovely wine and a note from the manager, offering to help us with any arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I can't fault this place! I expected a reasonably good experience given I had paid such a reasonable price for a night's stay. In reality I was absolutely blown away by the delightful staff (helping with my bags, looking into cheap airport transfer options and generally being Delightful) - a free upgrade to a lovely room, gorgeous interiors,
Crisp linen sheets and a turned down bed at night. I have travelled around the world and would expect to pay so much more for this quality. I couldn't recommend this lovely hotel more highly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannainItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westlake village
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

First the good part. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
The room we had is the smallest room I've ever been in. Couldn't get two people in the bathroom at the same time. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets felt like sand paper. I wouldn't Reccomend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just been on a 4 day trip to Rome this hotel was in a perfect location the staff could not have been more helpful it was very clean and we couldnt find anything to complain about and would recommend it

Room Tip: Its worth upgrading classic rooms a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a short break to Rome. I have visited Rome many times for business but this is the first time we have been together. We arranged collection from FCO airport by the hotel. It was only slightly more expensive then taking a taxi and was nice to be met and not have to struggle far with bags.
When we arrived we were offered a suite for a small upgrade price. It had a balcony with lovely views over the city. It had a spa bath which did not work so they moved us to another room.
The hotel is spread over two buildings which meant some walking down corridors and using two lifts to find rooms. All the rooms are traditionally furnished and very comfortable. Ours was always clean and well cared for. Breakfast is a typical European buffet with plenty of choice including both meats and fresh fruit. Every evening the bar provides snacks and has an “Happy Hour” from 6pm until late when drinks are reduced and much cheaper than those in bars outside so it makes a really nice end to a day. The staff are all really friendly and do what they can to help you.
The hotel is in a great location; we walked everywhere and saw all of the main sites. It took us about 30 minutes to walk to the Vatican and a similar walk to the Coliseum which frames most of the main tourist sites in the city. The hotel is just outside the Piazza del Popolo and near to the Borghese Gardens. The Piazza is a nice place to stroll around in the evening and there are a range of street entertainers to watch. On the other side of the Piazza from the hotel there are two “salt and pepper pot” churches and three streets heading off towards the city. All three streets are a comfortable walk and the side streets between them are a maze of typical Italian streets with shops, bars and restaurants in them at lower prices than those on the main streets and around the Piazza.
Overall it was a great stay and my wife now understands why I love Rome so much.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the internal courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivos, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel located steps from Piazza del Popolo. It is well located and there is a metro in the corner.
It 's 5 minutes walk from Spanish Steps and 2 minutes from Via del Corso.
The staff is great, always trying to help you and the provide great customer service.
In the bar there is a Happy Hour from 5 to 10 pm, this is a good option if you don't decide to go out.
The rooms are not big enough, but for Europe Standards are ok.
I would return.

Room Tip: Not close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,621 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,257 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,101 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing