We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband booked this for my 40th birthday and it was fabulous. The room was small as expected for such a central location but the decor was just beautiful, the staff could not be more helpful and we were within walking distance for all the main attractions and literally right by a metro stop for access from the Terminus/airport. The happy hours each evening were a welcome chance to relax after a days sightseeing and each evening fresh complimentary snacks were placed out to enjoy with the drinks. We booked tours of the coliseum and Vatican at reception and both were excellent. The breakfast was a jot - such a vast selection of cereals/fruit/toast & accompaniments/pastries and cooked items, even Prosecco for those "starting early" and they were more than happy to bring lattes/capuccinos from the bar.
The decor was absolutely charming, lots of ceiling features and just "Roman" if that makes sense, it just a bland generic hotel - check out the photos on their website and you'll see.
It was a special, child-free weekend for us and I can honestly say the hotel really made the weekend feel even more special.
I have been recommending this hotel to everyone I speak to about our trip.

Room Tip: Book early and ask about upgrades - the hotel was full so we weren't able to, though to be hones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,433
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We started our trip to Italy at the River Palace and it was a great start to a fabulous vacation. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a larger room but it faced a courtyard and we preferred the street view looking down to the piazza. The location was great, we walked everywhere, and returning back to the hotel after walking for eight hours to happy hour and snacks was a treat. We enjoyed the chocolates left on the beds with the next day's weather report. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and assisting us in calling our tour operators to confirm pickups. Breakfast was always good and you can order espresso's etc direct from the staff there if you don't want regular coffee or tea. All in all, a great welcome to Rome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently enjoyed a great visit at the River Palace. The location is close to the Flaminia metro stop which makes it very convenient. The breakfast and Happy Hour had great food. All the staff was very friendly. The rooms are small and the shower very small. It was a clean room with nice amenities- in room safe and refrigerator.

Room Tip: Not on first fllor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we got to our room, we discovered the air conditioner did not work & the room was quite stuffy. When we informed management, they said they would check in to it & gave us a fan. Nothin was done the first night. We asked again the next day & they put it off till the next day. On our last day, we inquired again & were told they would not be able to get it that day. At that point, they offered to switch our room. It was our last night!!! Would it not have been more appropriate to offer us that different room the first night of our stay before our bags were unpacked? While lovely in so many ways, their attention to clients needs & comfort fell quite short!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overall great place to stay for our second leg of our trip. Great location, very close to major sites, yet slightly out of the hustle / big crowds. Nice staff, room a little small but worked great (we had a deluxe room). Well appointed, and nice lounge / bar area and the nightly happy hours were a great break in between sights and dinner. Very reasonably priced / great value. Only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 (if they had half's it would be a 4.5) was that the breakfast was mediocre. Coming from a nice B&B in Florence, it was not up to par. Had a great selection, but more people to feed. Staff very nice and helpful, always there to say hello and provide tips / information. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room if you can. The restaurant across the street, both the Sicilian one and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We ended our stay in Italy with 2 nights at the River Palace Hotel and were very pleased with the entire hotel. All staff were very nice and extremely helpful with maps to various sites. We had booked a double room and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite which had an amazing terrace overlooking the city. Beautifully appointed room, large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and shower spray. We highly recommend staying here. Easy walk to the Piazza and 2 subway stops from the Vatican.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine and S... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little place close to Metro and walking distance to most sites (40 mins tops to Colosseum, 25 minutes to Vatican). Breakfast is included and is delicious and more extensive than most places we've been.

Rooms are small but who cares its Europe. We were on the 8th floor and had a nice view of the Roman sunsets.

Chipped on a little extra for this place and it was worth it.

Would definately return.

Helpful?
Thank Jcnhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,094 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing