We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel Ever!....a must visit”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Favourite Hotel Ever!....a must visit”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have just stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights and it is probably the most loveliest hotel I have had the pleasure to stay at. Booked as package through Expedia for great price and flight times. We arrived a couple of hours early than check in to be professionally but warmly greeted by Andrea. We were shown into the beautiful lobby and enjoyed a drink whilst every effort was made to allow us to have our room early. Porter very friendly and informative telling us about how the two lifts work to gain access to high floor rooms. We were on the 8th floor and the room was small but this is not unusual in Italy and we had booked the basic standard double. Free WIFI, flatscreen TV and lovely products. During the whole of our stay we encountered no noise and there were plenty of guests. There is a happy hr ..hrs from 6-10 where Luca made us most of the cocktails off the menu...lovely and thoroughly enjoyed with delightful small sandwiches, cheeses, meats and nibbles. What has struck me most about this hotel besides having a brilliant location- two minute walk from Flaminio Metro and a nice stroll to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain was the whole ambience and feel of the hotel. The Decor is just beautiful!..gorgeous Lounge/Bar with relaxing sofas,s and seating, The breakfast room was well serviced and again you could have anything from bacon and eggs to cheese, hams, croissants, cereals and even Prosecco!. Just the most charming hotel ever that has made visiting Rome truly memorable. I would not hesitate to recommend or rebook this hotel. P.S we had notified hotel of our Silver Wedding and were greeted with a lovely bottle of wine and a hand written note from the Manager..small touches that make a holiday!..well done River Palace, you ticked every box for my trip..just wonderful..Thank you xx

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back, but noise does not seem an issue where the hotel is based.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cordy3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    606
    135
    29
    21
See reviews for
349
1,443
63
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Rooms very clean and serviced every day. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Atmosphere at bar during happy hour from 6 to 10 is relaxed and friendly. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone who wants a centrally located hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you don't like very small lifts and prefer to take stairs request a room on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53ChristineCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon, and we loved it!

Good points:
- Amazing location, just off Santa Maria di Popolo
- Staff were super-friendly
- Beautiful decor with a nice indoor temperature!
- Given a complimentary bottle of wine with a note from the manager to wish us a nice honeymoon
- Lovely bar with good drinks (and they had 2-for-1 on most of them most of the time)

Less good points:
- No tea/coffee in room
- Wish there was a hotel restaurant as we found finding food in Rome quite stressful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very impressive decor and rooms. Tile and detail incredible in bathrooms and in public areas of hotel. Beautiful view in room looking out the rear of hotel, front rooms street view not as nice. Also trolley in front and some subway noise, though noise level really not issue.
Incredible breakfast, location right on edge of good restaurants and shopping with very nice piazza and park very close.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The River Palace Hotel is about two city blocks away from the NORTH GATE access to ROME. Those two blocks enhanced our stay in Rome exponentially. We were in a quiet neighborhood, with treelined streets and small shops and also near a relatively large grocery store. The Piazza Del Popolo, the park of the people, was inside the gate and about a 4 minute walk. The Piazza area has a fantastic selection of types of food, restaurants, and prices within an easy walk from the hotel. Also just outside of the hotel were both a tram stop and a subway so that a short ride or up to a 30 minute walk can take you to most of the delights the city has to offer...museums, churches, VATICAN CITY, the Coliseum, and the Piazza Navona with the best gelato on earth. By the way if you like to shop, the high end designer stores are a 6 minute walk.

The staff was a delight. Accommodating, kind, helpful, and most had a sense of humor. They know several languages and many have traveled so they are aware of the highs and lows of "touristing." They provided us with superb breakfast, a smile, and a bit of time to chat. I think they are jewels in the Palace Crown.

The hotel has lots of marble and dark wood. The rooms are super clean, furnished for the traveler's needs. Art and flowers made delightful little contributions to the overall atmosphere.

Things I would like to have had included are one traditional armchair in the room and enhanced lighting for easy reading. It would also be helpful to have a website or little booklet that told about adjusting the room heating and cooling system, the remote for the TV which provides additional languages, and how to find things in the neighborhood like a stationery store, pharmacy, quickmart, etc. Of course, we could always ask at the desk, but this is a busy hotel and most of us are accustomed to using our devices. The last thing I would improve is the music that is played in the lounge and other areas. We enjoy latin music of all kinds and would love to have heard more of that and less of the top songs from Bob Dylan. All in all we loved our stay in Rome at the River Palace and hope to return often.

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the street and heard NO noise from the outside due to the wonderful windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've just returned from a weekend in Rome with my wife and two teenage grandchildren, as a treat on completing their GCSE exams. Because of shortage of time, We booked through a local travel agent rather than researching and booking the trip ourselves, as we usually do. We were not disappointed. Our superior rooms were clean, well furnished and comfortable. Staff were most pleasant and most helpful. Having warned them in advance that one child had a nut allergy, they approached her at breakfast when they saw that she had helped herself to some Nutella, warning her that it contained nuts. However her problem is (mainly) with peanuts not the hazelnuts that Nutella contains! Reception recommended and booked a restaurant for Saturday night, Sant'Ana, which will be the subject of another review. We enjoyed a great meal there. Breakfast was good, but I can't comment on the elongated 'happy hour' that so many reviewers enjoyed, as we were always too late and too exhausted! We stayed in rooms 402 and 405. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although 402 was at the front we had no disturbance from traffic noise. 405 overlooked an internal c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The room was a bit on the small side, but well kept and clean. Staff always friendly and willing to help with everything and anything. Well situated near Metro and nearby shopping districts. Breakfast was more than adequate - couldn't ask for more!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou-Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing