We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good location - very good stay!”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights & found the hotel to be a great place for us. The staff speaks great English & that is much appreciated. They were so helpful & went out of their way to help. Our TV lost its satellite connection and Antonio had it fixed within minutes. Giorgio was especially helpful & took our unusual request in stride. The location was excellent for us b/c we wanted to be in more of a neighborhood rather than in a busier, touristy area. The metro is 2 blocks away making it very convenient to go where we needed to. There is a small supermarket between the metro & the hotel and the restaurants in the area were good. Another supermarket is around the corner. Yes, the rooms are small, but since we were in the room so little and it is Europe after all, it was not an issue for us. Our room had its own climate control & it was GREAT to be able to control the air conditioning temp so we could sleep comfortably. The king bed was very comfortable. The breakfast had lots of variety & relatively standard fare. The happy hour was excellent! I was very impressed that the drink prices were so reasonable as are the mini-bar prices.

Room Tip: Some 1st-floor rooms will have lots of traffic b/c breakfast room is on this floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl5812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,380)
There are newer reviews for River Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip. The hotel had great charm and we were very happy with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The bar has a happy hour each night with great snacks and there's an open area to enjoy the drinks and meet other travelers. Breakfast was plentiful and of high quality. The location while north of everything, was very easy to navigate to...it seemed almost as all roads led back to the hotel. We were able to see almost everything by walking, though we did cab to the vatican out of convenience and timing. The room wasn't large by any stretch but seemed to be spacious enough by Rome standards. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the bar here for happy hour
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here in June, and couldn't have been happier. We were offered an upgrade for a very reasonable price, so of course we took it - a lovely suite with bedroom, sitting room and huge bathroom. The only downside was the shower, which was a hand held shower while standing in the spa bath. The bathroom had a an extra wash several times!!
Staff friendly and helpful, very nice buffet breakfast.
Central to everything, and 5 minutes from metro station, which is very easy to use once you get the hang of it.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieE1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is very well situated a couple of minutes from a Metro station and within easy walking distance of local sites and shopping areas. The rooms are small but very clean and they offer a very good breakfast buffet included in the cost of the room. It was our second stay at the hotel and again we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

There's not a lot I can add to the many (good) reviews on this hotel - location, rooms, happy hour, the staff etc all great. Our needs changed at the last minute from needing 2 double rooms to 1 triple, the staff were great in accommodating this. Re the room size, 3 adults stayed in a deluxe room, and we managed fine!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked the River Palace as a deal with Jet2 and it was not the hotel's fault that my friend and I had not been allocated the twin room I asked for (Jet2 had not passed this on) As two women travelling together we did NOT want to share a double bed and had requested a twin room. The guy on reception was most apologetic and for the first night we had a very small double room but were then moved to a twin bedded room (had to pay a supplement) which was larger but had a smaller bathroom. OK got that off my chest! What makes this hotel is the friendliness of the staff as nothing is too much trouble and they are always pleasant and make you feel special. The rooms although small have everything you could want ie a safe- mini bar- TV etc with comfortable beds and pillows (although we did have to ask for an extra one) The bathrooms are very nice with free shampoos, shower gels etc and a hairdryer. The one let down was that the bar had no windows so even though nicely decorated felt a bit oppressive and although a small outside courtyard this was not used due to being too near some rooms. For location this is ideal as you can walk to most of the attractions within 20mins and on a night within 10mins walk there are numerous shops, bars and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel but just make sure your tour company books the correct rooms(I am bringing up with JET2) as I say again not the hotel's fault and the staff did everything to help us.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have just stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights and it is probably the most loveliest hotel I have had the pleasure to stay at. Booked as package through Expedia for great price and flight times. We arrived a couple of hours early than check in to be professionally but warmly greeted by Andrea. We were shown into the beautiful lobby and enjoyed a drink whilst every effort was made to allow us to have our room early. Porter very friendly and informative telling us about how the two lifts work to gain access to high floor rooms. We were on the 8th floor and the room was small but this is not unusual in Italy and we had booked the basic standard double. Free WIFI, flatscreen TV and lovely products. During the whole of our stay we encountered no noise and there were plenty of guests. There is a happy hr ..hrs from 6-10 where Luca made us most of the cocktails off the menu...lovely and thoroughly enjoyed with delightful small sandwiches, cheeses, meats and nibbles. What has struck me most about this hotel besides having a brilliant location- two minute walk from Flaminio Metro and a nice stroll to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain was the whole ambience and feel of the hotel. The Decor is just beautiful!..gorgeous Lounge/Bar with relaxing sofas,s and seating, The breakfast room was well serviced and again you could have anything from bacon and eggs to cheese, hams, croissants, cereals and even Prosecco!. Just the most charming hotel ever that has made visiting Rome truly memorable. I would not hesitate to recommend or rebook this hotel. P.S we had notified hotel of our Silver Wedding and were greeted with a lovely bottle of wine and a hand written note from the Manager..small touches that make a holiday!..well done River Palace, you ticked every box for my trip..just wonderful..Thank you xx

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back, but noise does not seem an issue where the hotel is based.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cordy3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,267 in Rome
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £90 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing