We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed here one night while awaiting our flight out of Rome. We had previously stayed in the Campo De Fiori section of Rome and were looking forward to getting the flavor of a different area of Rome. The room was fine, nothing special, just okay (although the carpet was a bit dirty in the hallway), the turndown service at night was a welcome surprise. Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant was closed and we were not impressed with the ones suggested, several blocks away, by the front desk. The area is a block from the Piazza in a 'bit' of a rundown/less desirable section. However, this is Rome and all you need to do is walk one or two blocks in a different direction for a different restaurant, store or view. The bar and piano player was a nice bonus while awaiting to go out to dinner and the breakfast was one of the most comprehensive in all 4 of the hotels we stayed in Italy. All in all, we think the prices paid were a bit high for an aging hotel that was just a bit off of a more desired location.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmnra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,475 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2008

My husband and I traveled to Rome on our honeymoon and stayed at the River Palace for 4 nights.

We had a personal note from the hotel Manager with a box of chocolates waiting in our room which was an appreciative warmth after having traveled from Canada.

We loved this hotel and everything it provided.

We loved that you had access to free internet and in-house computers. Always pleasantly greeted by staff and the breakfast and food selections were delicious!

Location worked well for us and our “must see” tourist destination spots. The restaurant was not open but that didn’t put a wrench in our plans.

Highly recommend to others!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lbgizzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We have just returned from a four day visit to Rome and stayed at the River Palace Hotel. I had read all the reviews so knew about the size of rooms and first impressions of other guests. The hotel is right in the heart of all the major attractions and it was so easy to walk to the Vatican, Spanish Steps and Colessium. (Plus lots of cafes and other attractions like Trevi Fountain, Pantheon etc.) We booked two rooms and both were fine in size with a bath in one and shower cubicle in the other. The rooms were clean and decorated in an Italian style as advertised on the Internet. The staff were charming and could not be more helpful with excellent English. They arranged a taxi for us back to the airport and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic with a great selection of hot and cold food. (including wonderful coffee and cakes!). The hotel also had a room where guests can access the Internet free of charge which was also a bonus. I would stay at this hotel again and loved the fact that it was so central and personal. Excellent experience for us all. The only disadvantage that I can see is if a guest was disabled as the hotel has two lifts and the restuarant is reached by a small flight of steps.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CalebAyrScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We have just returned from a week at the River Palace and found it to be excellent. Unlike other posters we found that all of the staff we dealt with spoke English. It was an excellent place to stay- we would go there again.

Only downside was that the restaurant was closed (and looks like it is closed for good) but with so many restaurants in walking disgtance it was not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TimeTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

How nice to find such a gem in a city of tourist hotels, some good, some bad and most of them just plain overpriced.

We found this hotel to be an ideal tourist base. Well staffed, multi-lingual reception and well prepared rooms together with an excellent breakfast all combined to make our three day stay very enjoyable.

A great location 20 minutes (but you will take longer) walk through Piazza del Popolo to the Trevi Fountain via Spanish Steps and on the edge of the Borghese Villa & Gardens. 100 metres from the Metro for Vatican etc. We were four in party and found local taxis inexpensive and very easy for dining or just escaping the crowds and going back to the hotel.

The hotel has an unprepossessing exterior and small rooms but, as another correspondent commented, you are in Rome so why spend time in your room, for heavens sake!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Me and my husband went for 5 days to Rome and we wanted to see everything! The location of the hotel is excellent, so it was possible to walk to almost every possible tourist attractions. The hotel is supposed to be in the very centre (and apparently it is) but the neighbourhood looks quite deserted and scary (we were told it was like that because it was August).
I was aware of the size of the rooms in this hotel (thanx to TripAdvisor) but we were pleasantly surprised to get an upgraded room for free (103) which was enough for 2 people, suitcases and shopping bags!
The staff is nice and willing to help you but they don’t speak English at all! I mean, they understand you but they cannot utter one understandable sentence. They believe they speak English but the strong Italian accent makes it completely incomprehensible for me. Anyways, I found it sweet rather than annoying  Besides, they knew it was our honeymoon and we expected to find a bottle of champagne next to the bed or at least a fruit platter … there was nothing though.
Before going to River Palace I read ALL the reviews on TripAdvisor and now I agree with most of them. I was afraid of the elevator, but having the room on the first floor was a big relief for me. The air-con worked fine (except for the first night when there was a major power cut which left the hotel with no electricity for over one hour at 11pm! It was quite amusing for us to see all the guests in their pyjamas having good time in the hotel bar  The room was very clean and the service was excellent (chocolates on your pillows every evening will be very tempting …)
Since we did NOT find any good place in Rome with good pasta or pizza (SERIOUSLY), we were very happy to see a small restaurant right next to the hotel (Flaminia 9, as far as I remember, the same side of the street) where we would eat two delicious, generous portions with a JAR of wine for 25 euros!!! We highly recommend this place for dinner after a long day of walking.
So, don't let little mishaps upset or disappoint you and you will be just fine:)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrinityNicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August and really liked the location and the attitude of the people at the front desk. Giorgio was exceptional and Andrea was a great help too. Breakfast is terrific there. But everything comes at a prize, so please be ready for a more then modest room size.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,272 in Rome
2,562 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £70 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing