We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Staff and surroundings for couples”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We decided upon Rome to celebrate our 10 yr Wedding Anniversary and the River Palace was chosen because of previous reviews & location. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and shown to the bar for a well deserved drink. Because of the Special occassion I had already been in contact with the hotel and concierge and arrange for Roses on arrival in our room. I have to say that if you are expecting lots of space in Hotel Rooms in Rome, you wont get it, unless you pay top whack. Complimentary upgrades (for free) are available in low seasons mid July - September and are worth asking for before you arrive, or if your unhappy with your room then worth a try. The staff were very accomodating and because of the anniversary we were heavily discounted for the night into their best suite, which was stunning. Amazing views form the huge balcony over Rome and a bathroom with hot tub bigger than our previous room! The following nights we were accomadated in an upgraded room for free which was very nice. The Air Con in the rooms was a must with Rome's heat. Bar & Breakfast were both well stocked and very nice. Happy hour at the Bar 6-10pm meant we have some relatively cheap cocktails before we went out. Location wise, we thought the Hotel was excellent. Based 100 yrds or so from the easy to use Metro (Airport link to train station) and if you dont want to walk to many of the main landmarks. We did both, but found that the main strip to walk/shop was less than 2 mins walk away. Thoroughly enjoyed the Romantic 4 days away from it all (and the kids) with the Hotel & staff a big part of that. Top class location & service, especially when recommending places to eat and overall very chatty & friendly

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, apparently its quite common in Italy so Im told Remember Rooms in Rome are smal...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for River Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a complete disappointment and colossal waste of money. Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and we paid in full along with all portions of our trip.

We arrived to a room with three twin beds crammed in, and when I say crammed, you couldn't walk around them and by the time our luggage arrived, we had to put one case in front of the door to access the bathroom and the other blocking the bed, so the person in the far twin bed had to crawl over the person in the middle. There was only 18 inches to try and dress. We were staying for 6 nights... the closet was so small and only had 4 hangers, we couldn't even unpack!

We contacted the hotel and said the room would not work for our family (two adults and a 6 year old). They told us this was all they had, but another room a meter larger would be available for part of our stay and we could move there and then move back. We were more than willing to pay for a larger suite, but they didn't have any available (only for 2 nights).

We called our travel agent and she found us another hotel which we had to pay upfront for the remaining 5 nights - costing us $2400!!!

We are accustomed to staying in nice hotels - this was AWFUL! We have stayed at nicer Holiday Inns! The carpet was dirty, the room smelled, the sink leaked, the ceiling above the shower was cracking. Very disappointed this would be rated above 3 stars.

We went to check out the next morning and the front desk attendant curtly told us after we said the accommodations were not what we paid for, "Well you will lose money."

Room Tip: Book at another hotel for a good room.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Ynaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First off, the staff are wonderful - very helpful, professional, and friendly. My husband, daughter and I stayed here for three nights in June - it is several blocks from the Piazza del Popolo, and walking distance to numerous restaurants. The hotel is really lovely - the decor is representative of an older hotel that has been kept up well. Our room was small - an extra bed was brought in to accommodate our 17-year old - but the beds were comfortable, the linens good, and the bathroom (done in marble) had both a bathtub/shower combination and bidet. The room was immaculate and very quiet - we didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. Off the lobby is a bar and sitting area where a drink and snacks can be enjoyed; magazines and newspapers are provided. Breakfast is advertised as continental, but a large variety of foods is provided. As stated in other reviews, the elevators are small - bell staff will take your bags up to your room, to minimize challenges with people and bags in the small space. We didn't find the elevators a problem, just representative of staying in a older hotel. The lobby had a computer in a small room right off the entrance, so staying connected wasn't an issue. (WiFi is also provided, and we didn't have any problems connecting with my tablet or my daughter's iTouch.) We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lottosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family our four loved River Palace. The staff was warm, hospitable and professional and the hotel was lovely and very comfortable. The spread at breakfast was wonderful (we had to resist the Prosecco since we walked about 10 miles each day), but it surely tempted us. We enjoyed the cappuccinos however and the lovely assortment of food. The location near Piazza del Popolo was ideal and we found our favorite pizza (Pizzeria del Rey) just down the street. We walked everywhere but the tram and metro are very close by. Fabulous happy hour. Also very close to Borghese Gardens. It would be hard to stay anywhere else in Rome. This hotel is almost always sold it so if it's available, grab it. You will be glad you did

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Going555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What an excellent hotel. We stayed at the River Palace for 3 nights as part of our Italy holiday (Rome - Florence - Venice). We chose this hotel for the great reviews and the rooftop suite. It did not disappoint. The welcome and subsequent service were top notch. The breakfast was more than acceptable and the bar cheap for Rome during the long happy hour. The room was the big winner though. After a long morning & early afternoon sightseeing it was fantastic to chill out with a bottle of Rosso on the private roof terrace overlooking the city. Bellisimo.

Room Tip: Villa Borghese Suite is a must. Room 801
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roamer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am surprised at all of the glowing reviews of this hotel. It is just average. This was our fourth time in Rome and this the least favorite hotel that we ever stayed in. I am surprised that people think this is a good location. It is right outside of the city wall near the Piazza di Sant Maria di Popolo and near the Borghese gardens but this is an ugly area with graffiti all over the walls and it is at the very end of the city. Our room was so small that one of us had to sit on the bed while the other person moved around. It was impossible. The elevator system was so weird. You took an elevator to and from the first floor and then could take the stairs from there but you couldn't take stairs to the first floor. There were 5 of us and we couldn't fit on the elevator together and we would have gladly taken the stairs but we couldn't so we had to keep waiting for the elevator. They did have a nice happy hour but I would choose a more centrally located hote the next time. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CampHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from Rome, having gone there with 3 friends to celebrate my birthday. We decided to pay a little more for a nice hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel was really lovely. From the extremely friendly and helpful staff, to the clean rooms and facilities, we couldn't fault it.
There was ample choice at breakfast with both warm and cold food.

We really enjoyed the happy hour which was from 6pm to 10pm where all drinks were half price. I would definitely recommend the mojitos :). The hotel even provided a small buffet on an evening to compensate for the lack of a restaurant.

The location was good, within walking distance of many of the attractions and sites, and a metro station at the end of the road.

We found a good supermarket across the road selling some of the local chocolates and biscuits and slightly cheaper then nearer the centre of Rome.

We had a lovely holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the River Palace. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.
Beverley, Tyne and Wear

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bat0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,967 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,267 in Rome
2,261 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,267 in Rome
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £89 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing