We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Almost everything you would need in a Hotel in Rome. At most a 30min walk to furthest main attraction, close to many decent restaurants, the staff were very helpful, spotless room and couldn't fault Breakfast either. However the pillows were flat as and they had no other option for my wife and I. Also the room was very small that we knew about from on here, (luggage beside our bed small) but they fail to show that on there web page.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean_Mc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    603
    134
    29
    22
See reviews for
348
1,434
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay in Rome for our 25th anniversary and stayed at the River Palace. The staff could not be more helpful,the location was fantastic, rooms small but clean and breakfast really set you up for the day. We would start every night in the lounge for happy hour and have a cocktail before heading out. Really reasonably priced and free snacks. The Bar staff were great. An offer of upgrade to larger room on arrival but we were happy to stay in the standard room which was comfortable but small. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would be really happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After long travel, we arrived at the hotel (which was booked and paid for 6 months in advance) to find the friendly staff telling us that the hotel was overbooked and our 4 rooms were not available and we would be moved to another hotel. After almost a year of planning and selecting this hotel specifically for location and amenities, this was an abominable welcome. Luckily, my mother stood her ground and miraculously, 4 rooms appeared. I do not know if this is the regular course of business for this hotel, but it is very poor. After this incident, we enjoyed the hotel immensely, including happy hour (divine drinks and snacks), location (near Piazza del Piapollo), and rooms (clean and charming). My room was not upgraded, so was on the very small side, but there was a painted alfresco on my ceiling! Shower would not be large enough for a man or woman 6' or over. Many pizza/pasta/gelato places around hotel and small grocery within 2 blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the River Palace in early July 2014 with a large group. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was tiny! We had to get dressed one at a time, but we managed without too much difficulty. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. Rooms are clean and staff is very helpful. The desk clerk pointed out how close/far most of the major landmarks were from the hotel, complete with walking times in case we were feeling adventurous. Some folks in our group were able to upgrade to larger superior rooms on arrival, but we stayed in our standard room. The lobby elevator only goes to the 2nd floor and a switch is required to get to higher floors. The second elevator is only large enough for 3 people. Even staying on the 6th floor, I found myself taking the stairs down and up. Happy hour is a nice time to meet other hotel guests before dinner with discounted drinks and pretty good bar snacks.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 1 don't require a switch to the small elevator and make the trip to breakfast a b...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Psmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Easy location to get to (we caught the Leonardo Express from the airport and then the local train to Flaminio. There are stairs to tackle, so be ready for that. Hotel is one minute from Flaminio. Will it doubt the nicest staff at the hotel to greet you and show you to your room. Rooms are small but hey, you are in Europe, a few minutes away from some of the most important sites in history, so who cares if you havnt got too much room move around, it's all part of the experience. I would have loved a chair to sit in, a bigger bathroom, wifi that works I'm the bar and breakie area to read the local newspaper, but really, those things don't matter. It's clean, safe, and staff are delightful. Would happily stay here again.

Rome can be expensive. My girlfriend and I were paying 50 euro a meal in and around Rome but only realised on our last day there that a restaurant right across the rd had "tourist" meals for 10 euro each, including beer or wine, just as good as we had anywhere else. Sorry I can't remember the name but it's on the opposite side of the hotel, right in front of where the tram stops. Do yourself a favour and eat there and then explore the city.

I truly enjoyed this beautiful city, and this hotel is in the perfect spot to launch yourself into the cities famous attractions. Be warned, the queues for the major attractions here are a lot longer than anywhere else we have been in Europe so book tours and skip the line entrances with your travel agent before you go
Y

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partener and I are both 26, and we loved this hotel.

On our first trip to Europe this was our 6th hotel, and so far (we're currently up to the 8th) we both agree this was th best.

Where to start?

Staff were amazing, friendly and understood English/ were forgiving of our terrible Italian. Showed us to our rooms, offered us a bigger room for a price increase, no hassle or pressure, just if we wanted. They showed us both at their time expense (it was quite busy too) We opted for the smaller room we had originally booked and there wasn't any feeling of I'll will as we've had at other places, very refreshing. You feel as if they actually care about the comfort of your stay rather than their profit margins.

Very friendly consierge, didn't feel rushed or any lack of attention as we had previously, being a young couple that look like back packers.

Lounge/bar was beautiful, played awesome music (nirvana??? Wow) though quietl. We spent every beginning of our night out at this bar, very lively with other guests, and why wouldn't it be when happy hour drinks were cheaper than going out? First time we'd ever seen that.

Room was beautiful, though understandly small. Hotel is soooo close to amazing streets and piazza's, my girlfriend loved shopping near by, and we were only a few minutes walk from the metro, a few stops either way from the colosseum and Vatican. We were never bored.

The mini bar was so cheap, cheaper than I'd ever seen, it was less effort to just grab a drink from there rather than bring back drinks from supermarkets or delis. More hotels should adopt their price strategies, as all my money for water and alcohol ended up going to the hotel rather than the streets.

Wifi was flawless, sky satelite tv was also flawless. Housekeeping were quick and neat.

Overall, an amazing hotel, I recommend this to anyone traveling to Rome, we could not have found a better place to stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was shocked to find our room that was booked by AAA as being so small that we couldn't open our suitcase on the floor. The shower was the smallest I've ever seen. We had just came off of a cruise ship and our shower on the cruise was huge next to this one. The management was nice and the honor bar was affordable. The bar was nice and had a great happy hour. They did pack us a breakfast but we didn't get a chance to eat it before going to the check in at the airport

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggwoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,256 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing