We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Rome”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Honestly, I do not not understand how other reviewers can complain about this hotel. We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. The staff were all very friendly from reception to the breakfast room, bar and cleaning staff. You really do get back what you give.
Our room was lovely (603), bed comfy, plenty of wardrobe space, good wi fi reception and air-con quiet and very welcome. The windows even had blackout curtains, a big plus when trying to sleep. Our room was at the end of the corridor away from the lift so was very quiet. We used the hotel bar each night whether for pre-dinner or post dinner drinks, all half price and large servings, in a nice, cool relaxing area.
Fantastic position, we walked everywhere, apart from one day when we had to be at the Piazza Republic for 7.15am so used the nearby metro, so easy.
The 2 lift system was fine, we used the stairs from reception to next floor. The small lift caused quite a few laughs and comments but it was all done in good fun. (I have seen smaller lifts in Paris!)
The breakfast choice I thought was excellent, everything you could possibly want, bacon, eggs, sausage etc., cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, excellent pastries and any coffee you wished.
We had a complimentary bottle of wine in the room as it was our wedding anniversary and even the breakfast staff wished us a Happy Anniversary.
There were plenty of good restaurants in the vicinity, one just down the street to the right of the hotel if you didn't wish to travel far.
Thank you River Palace Hotel for making our first stay in Rome so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Second floor and above, away from the lift (as with all hotels I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrissieExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 2,508 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The following is the main points about this hotel
Good location
Good Staff
Clean rooms
Excellent service
Very small rooms and baths
WI-FI is not that efficient.
So if you are looking for 3 star hotel with good service it is OK. But is very difficult to stay in room because it is too small.

Room Tip: If you looking for big rooms/baths do not chooses this hotel Service and staff are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tabuharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a disastrous flight from Malta. We arrived at the hotel at 4 in the morning and had to return to the airport by 12 noon. The hotel bed was great, room was clean, breakfast was great and they bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. Convenient location. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the second part of our honeymoon after the fabulous reviews received here. However I just don't get it. Let me start with the positives. Fabulous location. A stone's throw from the metro. A few steps to the beautiful Piazza Polpolo. We were able to walk everywhere (attractions are closer than they look on the map! ). Reception staff friendly. Great recommendations on restaurants. Happy hour brilliant value. We were apparently upgraded to a deluxe room which was of an adequate size. Now onto the negatives. Quite dark and gloomy decor. Our shower head sprayed water all over the bathroom. We did advise reception and it was looked at once. The shower is just a hose attached to the bath. The 2 lifts are a bit of a pain but we took the stairs. Breakfast is very disappointing. Surly staff. Tired buffet. Wide screen telly on all the time in one room. No friendly atmosphere to be had. Not even an industrial toaster. Just 2 household ones. Cold coffee even when we requested freshly made cappuccinos. Although the half price drinks are great, again a soulless bar area with no atmosphere. I think the hotel is good value for money but they could do better. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had this hotel booked by our travel agent. The staff was so very helpful. From finding a place to eat to booking a ticket to the Vatican, they were on point. This will be a favorite stop when we come back to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was my kind of hotel : Perfect location near to Piazza del Popolo,Spanish Steps ,The Trevi fountain and nice shops and cafés !! The price was good and included a rich breakfast buffet . Nice people in the reception and the hotel bar....BUT the best of all for a stay in Rome in the end of july: A great air-condition system that worked perfectly and quiet ! ( We stayed at the hotel for one week and had a great time , and I missed the air-condition the following week when we stayed in Capri at a hotel with a bad system ,which meant partly sleepless nights ) The room we had was not so big, but we had a great week in room 701 at River Palace hotel in Rome ! We can highly recommend it !

Room Tip: I only saw the one room we had - room 701 and we were very happy with that. The view was overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Siri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Where can i start we found this hotel via Trivago then after selecting it we read all the reviews especially as most of them seem to mention that the rooms are small ( which i will come to later on)
The hotel is practically very central for Rome only about 15 mins walk to the Spanish Steps.It is only two mins away from a lovely ornate square called Piatzza del Popolo.In the evening you might get street entertainers here we had a Michael Jackson lookalike every night at about eight o clock.He was very good.also straight ahead off the square are three streets where there are an abundance of shops & restraunts.there is a lovely church in the square called Santa Maria del Popolo.
Back to the hotel the staff can not do enough for you,.when we booked in we were offered an upgrade but after the concierge showed us both rooms we stuck with our original classic room.DO NOT BE PUT OFF WITH ROOM SIZE.We were there for 5 nights in room 506 it had a wardrobe with draws where we could put our 2 cases also a safe there was a desk & chair & you could still walk round the room comfortably,also a mini bar with reasonably priced drinks for a change a tv with English news channels & also sky news & sports ,there was no problems with the pillows or mattress.
The bathroom was very ornate with marble sinks & lovely tiles a nice shower & plenty of toileteries, free wifi in the room,a silent air con & our room overlooked a pleasent courtyard. one nice touch is that the maid comes in the evening to leave the next days weather forecast on a card with a couple of chocolates.
Breakfast was to die for,it had everything,eggs,bacon,mushrooms,fresh fruit,cereals,yoghurts,cheeses,hams,breads,& pastries, coffee as well if you want ed a cappuchino or hot chocholate they would make you one.There was also a point where you could get ice cold still or fizzy water.
The hotel has a happy hour which lasts 4 hours ( 6-10 pm) this is half price drinks where you can get a cocktail for 6 euros.,also a steady supply of nuts crisps,sandwiches.One restraunt to try is Santa Anna the hotel will give you directions ,very nice seafood pasta.All in all would i stay here again you bet i would.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangerinechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#81 of 1,272 in Rome
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £82 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing