We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“river palace hotel we loved it”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“river palace hotel we loved it”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

the service was very good throughout. all the staff were very helpful.the rooms were clean and comfortable.
the hotel is very central to all the ancient sights the Vatican is just 20 minutes walk as is the Collisseum, with the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and the Pantheon.
there are numerous restaurants for all tastes and pockets within easy walking from the hotel.
if shopping is your thing then the Via Corsa has all the labels required.
we will be going again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    590
    133
    29
    22
See reviews for
339
1,411
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Not sure if they planted a bunch of reviews to get a good rating, but I thought the place was horrible. First if you hope to go to the hotel and get recommendations of where to eat, how to do something, where to buy something, forget it. They are nice enough, but ZERO help in that. When we asked how we can get an international operator, they said they didn't know how. Then on to the elevator. Tiny, tiny, tiny. But hey, it's an elevator. Then rooms. Our room was a jr. suite. Very dark and very tacky. The 2 windows, when you peeled back the layers of curtain, looked out on an small empty "courtyard" with a couple of plants and weeds. There was hardly room to put stuff and the beds were ROCK hard. Felt like those beds in the dept. stores where they show off the bed spreads. Horrible. Then the shower. It is a bath with a hand held shower head. It had this glass partition that covered maybe a third of the bath. The water pressure was very strong which is a good thing, but then you end up with water EVERY where and then because the seal isn't very good, you end up with wet carpet in the room. AWESOME. That was our room. My folks room, the AC didn't work hardly at all. They came up and "fixed it" and still didn't work. They eventually, after a ton of begging, moved to another room for the next night which was moderately better, but the hotel acted like they were doing them a huge favor. The free breakfast was what you pay for....nothing. Undercooked bacon, watery eggs, burnt pastries. The front staff was fine, but others were cold and seemed like they could careless. They claim to have internet access, but the wired port in all rooms we tried (3) didn't work, so had to snag random unsecured wireless locations from around the hotel. The location is OK, but not in a great part of Rome. Dirty and tons of graffiti.

This is absolutely the worst 4 Star hotel I have ever stayed in. In no way should it be considered 4-star. It is 2-star at best. It is clean enough, but do not think you are getting anything special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank volntitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalace, General Manager at River Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear Tripadvisor member,

thank you for your review on this site. I'm sorry that you didn't like at all the hotel itself and the service delivered. It is a matter of fact that our elevators + some classic rooms are on the small side . Beside that our Junior suite is 24 sq meters, it is hard to believe that there is no rooms for luggage. Our Front desk is always at your disposal to solve any problem you might have. Just let us know!
I'm also sorry that you forget to mention that the Front office offered any help to find a wheelchair free of charge to a member of your family. We do really accept any review. Our point of view is that reviews help us to improve our services + understand which services our guests like most. Social networks are very important for future guests to help to make their choice. This is their main goal. But if a reviewer thinks that the hotel can publish fake reviews in order to have a better ranking + that Tripadvisor allows this situation, the reviewer is thinking that social networks are useless. Why wasting time writing on them? Please keep in mind that any personal impression of the hotel may affect the choice of future guests.
In any case we are more than glad to offer 1 night complimentary in any of your future stay as compensation of your bad experience at the River Palace. I'm sure you'll have a different impression of the hotel.

Best regards

Mr. Michele Scandellari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My Husband and I stayed here from 19th – 22nd June ’09 to celebrate my 30th Birthday. The hotel is situated a couple of minutes walk from the metro station and Piazza Polpolo. We had booked a Delux room but it wasn’t ready when we arrived (bit too early) so we had a drink in the bar and within 10 minutes we were informed that a room was ready.
The room was very small (and that was a Delux!) but clean. We had a room overlooking the road / tram line (look to the right and you could see Piazza Popolo) but there was no rad noise to be heard in the room (3rd floor). The room was decorated in a very traditional style with fabric wallpaper, however because so much of the room is the same / similar colour (yellowish) it did feel a little claustrophobic. The bathroom was clean but poorly designed – the situation of the sink and the toilet made accessing the toilet a bit of a challenge. The shower was a joke – the shower head is located on the wall in the centre of the bath whereas the shower screen is located at the far end of the bath so water goes all over the bathroom. In our room the shower head would not stay up until my Husband fashioned a quick fix using the belt of a dressing gown provided by the hotels!
The service in the hotel was great, and the lobby, bar etc beautifully decorated. However, other areas of the hotel could certainly do with a re-vamp (the corridor carpet / lifts etc).
Upon check in we were given a very comprehensive map of Rome and the Receptionist took time to highlight all the major attractions (including telling us about the not so touristy areas, where food & drink was cheaper etc), and was more than happy to answer all our questions. We ended up using the hotel’s map far more than the one we’d brought with us!
Breakfast is served in a small dining area – you may have to wait for a table. There was quite a large selection of food including cereal, fruit, pastries, cold meats and cooked. The quality of the cooked breakfast wasn’t great but I was more than happy with fruit and pastries!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We rated it on TA as 4* as our first impressions of the reception and bar area was that of a 4* hotel however we felt the rest of the hotel was more on par with that of 3*(in desperate need of some TLC in rooms/corridors and other public areas). The hotel is in a great location and allows you to walk to many major sites: Spanish Steps & Trevi Fountain (approx. 20mins), Pantheon (approx. 25 mins), Piazza Navona & Campo de’fiori (approx 25 mins). It’s a 2 minute walk to the nearest metro station to take you to the Vatican, Colosseum and more!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We found this hotel using a combination of tripadviser and expedia, and it all seemed too good to be true - excellent reviews and a really decent rate for a city hotel. We knew the reviews said the rooms were small, so we upgraded to superior rooms. These weren't massive either but were lovely rooms of a more than adequate size for a sightseeing holiday. Couldn't fault the hotel at all - beautiful decor, spotless rooms that were well serviced, a lovely lounge & bar area, free internet, great breakfasts (with fabulour espresso - just ask for it), and just a few metres from Piazza del Popolo & the metro stop. I'll definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

The hotel is in an awesome location in walking distance to Spanish steps (10-15min), Trevi Fountain (10-15 min). We also walked about 30-45 min to Vatican. We took the subway to the Coloseum, there is subway stop at the end of the block that the hotel is on. The hotel is nice, staff friendly, b-fast good, rooms small, quiet block.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RaleighMotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Hotel staff were very friendly, professional and helpful and breakfast was very good with lovely pastries, cold meats, fresh fruit and cheeses. The only letdown was the coffee which wasn't very good.
Location is okay, very close to Piazza de Popollo which is the northmost of the attractions in Rome. The other attractions in Rome are walking distance, 15-25 minutes with the exception of the Coloseum which you need public transport for.

The rooms were small with the air conditioner in room 603 barely working. Rome is very hot and humid in Summer and a good aircon in the room is a must. The staff very kindly moved my partner and I into a triple room which had a working aircon but the next night we had to move again into a 2-bed room, 303, which again had a poor aircon. It seemed to me that the '03 rooms, which are on the corner of the hotel seem to have faulty aircons. The lift system is also not very good with 2 very small lifts servicing the entire hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The hotel is well located close to Piazza del Popolo, The staff and generally helpful and friendly. The value is probably OK in a city where most hotels are a bit pricey. The usual small-ish Roman room. There were one or two issues though. Most rooms require you to take two elevators and walk along a corridor. Both elevators were small
and showing their age a little. If you have a room on the first floor then you would have to endure a lot of noise from the people walking to reception or the breakfast room. The breakfast was good, but the room was too small for the size of hotel. The bar was generally good, except during Happy Hour when the one member of staff simply couldn't cope with any more than a few customers. A 25 minute wait just to get served because of the time taken to make a few cocktails - they need to sort this out!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalace, General Manager at River Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Dear TripAdvisor member,

thank you for your review. I'm sorry that the size of the room did not meet your standards. It is a matter of fact that our classic rooms are on the small side (about 12 sqm). Beside Classic rooms we are able to offer Superior rooms or Deluxe rooms which are larger than the Classic ones. If you are looking for a larger room please book one from these room categories or check if it's available at the check in. Please let us know during your stay if there is something we can do in order to meet your expectations. Our staff is at your completely disposal 24 hours per day 7 days per week., or ask for the General Manager, I'm very pleased to help our guests in any needs.
Hope to see you during your next stay at the River Palace Hotel

Regards
Michele Scandellari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing