We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fab location”
Review of River Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
River Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fab location”
Reviewed 5 January 2007

My husband and I went to Rome for 3 days after christmas for a special break. The River Palace Hotel was in a great location, walking distance to most of the popular sights and very helpful staff. We were given a free upgrade to a delux room, which was beautifully decorated, very clean but a bit on the small side, although, plenty of room given the amount of time spent in it.
The beds was turned down in the evening with chocolates and the following day's weather report left on the pillows.

The city felt very safe to wander around and the Metro train station was on the corner of the road which was very handy for further sights further afield. Tickets can be purchased at newsagents as well as in the train station and very cheap to travel.

The only down side of the trip was the airline 'Alitalia', very unorganised and definately would not recommend them. Fly with another airline if you can.

All in all. a fab fantastic trip, St Peters Basilica was mind blowing
and an absolute must see. Will definately go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — IBeware Italian drivers !!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shar0nswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    590
    133
    29
    22
See reviews for
339
1,411
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

This hotel was just a short block from the Metro and the city center. The guest services were great. The room was extremeley small. It bathroom was beautiful but it was hard to pick up your shampoo from the floor without knocking the door open (and I am a 5'4 small woman. There is so much to do in Rome so the room was sufficient because it was only used to sleep in.
The breakfast was nice and although the lobby was empty at the time we spent, it was beautiful.

  • Liked — Location and decor.
  • Disliked — Room size was small.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring walking shoes because you can walk to all the sites!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sa23nike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2007

My wife & I stayed at the River Palace Hotel during our honeymoon visit to Rome. We stayed for 7 days and each day/night in the hotel was fantastic.
Right from the start the hotel staff could not do enough for you - they were extremely courteous & polite and had very good English.
The food in the hotel was also fantastic - like other people the promise to us was that if we did not like the meal the receptionist would pay - we could not take him up on his offer - the meals we had were the best during all the time that we spent in Rome & the wine selection was delicatable.
For the rooms yes I have to agree with other reviews they are a bit small compared to what we are used to in Ireland (or England) but you quickly get over this.
The location of the hotel is just right for everything as well - the Forum, Panthenon, Vatican etc all within easy walking distance.
If You Are Going To Rome Use This Hotel !!!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Lift
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Enda-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We stayed here for a business trip to Rome, which turned into a leisure stay due to the location of the hotel - it was fantastic! We were very impressed with the staff in the hotel, they couldn't do enough for you. As stated on previous reviews, the rooms were fairly small but the bathroom was lovely with robes and slippers provided. The continental breakfast was good. We loved the extra touches like the weather forecast report and jelly sweets delivered to your room and not forgeting the fact the porter wouldn't let us touch our own cases!. There is easy access from the hotel to all the major attractions, you could walk to most places or pay 1 Euro on the bus for 70 minutes and you can travel across the beautiful city. When we return to Rome, we will definitely be staying here again - highly recommended!

  • Liked — The service and location
  • Disliked — The small lift
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guzzler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2006

River Palace Hotel has a great location within walking distance for Romes attractions. As previews reviews have said the rooms are not massive but this seems to be the same in City Hotels throughout Europe. We booked via Relaxabroad which had the Hotel on special offer so we were pleased with the price as Rome tends to be quite expensive. The breakfast was very good and we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank MB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2006

My Boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel at the beginning of November for a birthday suprise. I had e-mailed the hotel beforehand to check rates for an upgrade and was told i would be able to check when we arrived. We didnt need to, the room was great so kept it as it was and had a personal note from the manager wishing my boyfriend a happy birthday and a pleasent stay, Such a nice touch we thought.
The turning down of the bed covers every night and the weather forecast for the following day just added to the nice touches.
The staff were very helpful, nothing was any trouble for them, location is brilliant, 1 min walk from the nearest Metro and short walking distances from all the major sights.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we ever go back we will definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2006

I travelled with my sister and mother for a "girlie" weekend to Rome for the first time in late October. I had researched the hotel and finally decided to give it a go after reading the reviews posted on here.
We were not disappointed. We negotiated our way from the airport to the Termini and then on the Metro(as suggested on an earlier review) with no problem and for a lot less money than a taxi would have been.
The Hotel staff were extremely helpful, spoke perfect english and were most accomodating. We also ate in the hotel restaurant , with the promise that if we were not happy we would be refunded.The food was excellent , the manager a charming host and the whole experience a pleasant start to our weekend break. Breakfast was plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, cakes, breads, a selection of hot food, all fresh and homemade.
Many reviews quote the room size as being "tiny". I would have to say that we found them perfectly ok, with a lovely marble bathroom. A nice touch was the turndown of the bed on an evening, with chocolates and the next days weather forecast!
The hotel is situated in a great position for walking to all the sights. We walked to the colesseum, trevi fountain, pantheon, vatican and the spanish steps are only 10mins away.
Make sure you visit the palazza navona for a cappucino and people watching!!
We would definitely return to stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean environment
  • Disliked — lift
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Palace Hotel

Property: River Palace Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 33, 00196 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Family Hotel in Rome
#83 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your River Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Palace Hotel Rome
Hotel River Palace
River Palace Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing