We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Santa Costanza
Ranked #549 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is in good order, well decorated and excellent value for a budget trip to Rome. I was on a girls break and stayed 4 nights. The first room was small so we asked Emmanuelle at reception for a better room and he moved us immediately to a 3 bed spacious room at the rear of the hotel. We requested extra towels & pillows and everything appeared straight away, they could'nt do enough for us. Quality of towels, linens very good, toiletries, bidet, well stocked fridge, all excellent. Always had hot water, hairdryer, a/c etc. Free internet but via a code on a printed receipt from reception which expires every 24 hrs which is a tad annoying. Coffee at breakfast is terrible, breakfast is cold continental buffet / no eggs, great pastries, croissants. Local Tabachi kiosk and Carrefour supermarket 5 mins walk, bus stops on Nomentana Street very assessible to everything so did'nt use the tube. Return journeys from central Rome after a day's sightseeing or night out were done by taxi and we split it 4 ways so was very cheap, on average 2-3 euro per person so well worth the time saved on waiting for a bus. TOP TIP REMEMBER TO WEAR TRAINERS OR SPECIALIST WALKING SHOES!!. My heart goes out to Emmanuelle who looked after us admirably he deserves a medal from Loan hotel group. Try the Cotton Club (jazz club) near the hotel and a great pizza pasta traditional cucina also closeby. Very enjoyable trip would recommend this hotel only if you don't want to be in the centre of the City (you still have traffic noise at Santa Costanza). If you want to be close to Vatican, Trevi etc. don't bother with Santa Costanza.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, number 23 or 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzysbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    365
    199
    63
    25
See reviews for
155
281
66
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel was booked by us via a travel agent. After our flight of 3 hours and the bustrip we arrived at the hotel. We were very disappointed that we were told to be moved to a 'sister' hotel nearer the Vatican because of a need for rooms from a special ambassy in Rome. More travellers were experiencing the same and we were moved to that hotel in the middle of nowhere for us as Roma tourists. That hotel was in no way near the vatican and as well far away from any public subway (only a bus transport downtown possible). We also heard other reasons were told for moving to other travellers, for instance the water supply was suddenly not good anymore at Constanza.
For us this hotel is not even worth to get any grade, because fooling the tourist is the worst you can do.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Rome recently and I booked this hotel for our stay. The staff were very polite and knowledgeable about the local area and transport links. Breakfast was very well stocked and a great start to the day, The rooms were spacious, showers were hot and the rooms were of a decent temperature.

The only down side was that you could here alot during the night. The walls are quite thin and you can hear people in the corridor,

All in all this is an excellent choice and a great base for exploring Rome.

Room Tip: We were given a twin room when we arrived. This wasn't a problem as we just moved the beds toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hotel Santa Costanza was not my first choice when i wanted to book in rome but it certainly was not a bad choice. It is a simple hotel located in a quiet neighborhood of rome, well connected but still a bit off-centre.

Location : The hotel is located a few bus stops away from the train station of rome and is not exactly city-centre. However it is very well connected with the super dense transportation system of rome. There are a bunch of buses(public transport) which leave from right outside the hotel and a couple of them stop almost right at the hotel doorstep.Some are the superfast ones which take you to Roma-termini in 5 min tops. I think this more than compensates for its location bit far from the city centre.It is located in a very quiet residential neighborhood which seems a bit upmarket. I saw a couple of foriegn embassies when i took a stroll around the hotel. There is a supermarket right across the street from the hotel which is an added advantage ( for some). It is not located close to ANY of the sights but the buses next to the hotel take you almost anywhere in rome including to the vatican.

Hotel and rooms : The hotel is not the most posh and well maintained hotel one can find but this needs to be co-related to the price you are paying. The rooms are well kept but are not very recently renovated. The bathroom is quite spacious but i found the shower cubicle tiny. The decor is kinda old and due to the wooden steps and lobbies,one can hear faintly the footsteps of people in the hallways or stairs.The carpeting is also old and holds the cigarette smell so kinda smells smoky most of the times.Some rooms windows open out on the street which isnt very busy and also the window blocks out all the noise if any.The TV was not the latest and basic at best...but again, its what you pay for.All and all not at all a BAD room to stay in but definitely could do with improvements.

Staff and service : the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The guy running the night shift when we arrived was very friendly but i couldn't say the same about the lady or other guy in the morning shift. They were not rude but not very friendly either. The friendly receptionist helped and guided us a lot with bus routes and sights to see.The staff at breakfast was not as prompt as one would want and only turned up when a refill was seriously needed. The housekeeping staff was ok but they forgot to replace the towels in my room but did so when asked for later.Check-in Check out was also effortless. We checked in really later : 2 AM in the morning and a special mention for the friendly receptionist..coz he was as cheerful and accommodating..as one would want..after a ryanair flight and long taxi wait and taxi ride.

Breakfast: The breakfast is the usual European bfast with cold meat, lots of rolls and buns and 2-3 types of bread, cereal, cereal bars, rusk, jams, marmalade, nutella and likes.Very well stocked to be honest. The Coffee and tea was good too and only slight downside was that it was not supervised very well coz although we got our coffee refills in time, the bread rolls or milk were not replenished untill couple of people were standing there waiting.

Other : there is a very nice restaurant down the road ( away from the bus stop) and couple of good cafes and bars as well...Decent lunch or dinner places for sure !

In conclusion : this is a nice hotel if you are either too late to book ( last min booking) or on a tight budget. Everything is decent but nothing memorable. This would be my back-up hotel if i dont find anything in the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the hallways/ stairs to avoid hearing footsteps at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shremu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This trip was a christmas present from my husband so I had no inout to choosing this hotel. I couldnt have done a better job though, on arrival we were greeted by the male receptionist who although spoke very fast english, was easily understood, he gave us a map with directions of the city and told us were the nearest bus and metro were. Our room was 408 and was very warm and comfortable, it had a double bed, tv wardrobe, desk and mini fridge, as well as a bathroom with shower. The rooms all have shutters which are accesses by a button on wall and do keep out the traffic noise, which was minimal really. Our room was cleaned, bed made and towels changed every day by the freindly cleaner. Breakfast was continental style croissants, doughnuts, friut, cheese, ham, bread, yoghurts, cereal as well as fruit juices tea and coffee and was very nice certainly filling. We arrived via shuttle bus from airport which took about 1 hour and dropped off at the termini, as we had no clue how to get to airport we got a taxi asking how much before we got in, it cost 15 euros. This was the last time we needed a taxi as the bus stop is a 1 min walk from hotel on main road and arrives it seems every 5-10 mins (90 express) it is so easy to get around rome via bus and you can get a 3 day pass at the termini office cheaply. We visited all of the main sites and although a little chilly as it was 21st Jan it was very sunny and bright, some of the sites are free to enter such as the Pantheon and St Peters Basilica, but others are not very expensive. I Would recommend this hotel and I would personally stay here again without a doubt and would love to visit Rome again. Found a nice bar that sells strongbow on draught instead of paying for a bottle - Trinity College bar - Via del Collegio Romano, food was very nice too. All in all a great christmas present.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulaGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Some rooms were a bit small but had everything you needed in them. My room was very warm and I had to keep opening the window to cool it down. My room was very clean and tidy and the staff removed any empty bottles I left in the room, which I thought was very good. The location was good, fairly close to the metro and there are some good restaurants around and a supermarket just down the road. Breakfast was different to what I'm use to but still very nice. Overall a good hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hotel was part of a tour package so we didn't have a say in this. Our first impression with the staff was when the taxi driver (who was trying to rip us off) started complaining about us to the reception staff in Italian when we were next to him. The receptionist was unsympathetic and also contributed to the conversation in Italian.
Nothing improved when we went to our room which stunk of cigarettes. The receptionist insisted that this was a non-smoking establishment.
The breakfast is also terrible with croissants being the only edible thing.
While we had to stay there multiple times due to the tour package, they always insist on taking our room key every time you leave the hotel, even if you say you're going round the corner to get a coffee. They insist! Which gave them the name 'Hotel Gestapo' while we were staying there.
I also had a friend who needed to crash for a couple of hours in the afternoon while she waited for a flight. For her to be allowed into the hotel, the insisted on keeping her passport and were really really rude about it.
The location isn't great either as only one bus goes to the city and the train station is ages away. Not too many food choices too but there is a supermarket 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: make sure you check that your room doesn't reek of smoke before you accept it. If it does, pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#273 of 1,263 in Rome
1,642 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#444 of 1,263 in Rome
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#490 of 1,263 in Rome
1,557 reviews
Osimar Hotel
#385 of 1,263 in Rome
446 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#295 of 1,263 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Costanza

Property: Hotel Santa Costanza
Address: Viale Ventuno Aprile 4, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#267 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Costanza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Costanza Hotel is set in a quiet residential area of Rome, away from the chaotic city centre but with excellent transport links to easily reach the major sights ( LINE B METRO BOLOGNA ). Hotel Santa Costanza is located in the center of the fantastic Nomentano district, the area with the highest concentration of embassies in the middle of patrician neighborhood and near some of the most important Roman attractions. A spacious hall shall welcome you and the comfortable breakfast room will greet you every morning. The entire building is served by Wi-Fi access and an internet point is available at reception. The hotel offers also a cosy garden with a romantic Mediterranean flavoured atmosphere, lighted by the colours of the nature. This is the great kept secret by the Hotel Santa Costanza in the Heart of Rome. Recently refurbished, we have made an effort to recreate the natural style of the gardens of the Nomentano district. The area is perfect to relax for the mix of flowers, lights, shadows and silence create a unique environment. In within the outside spaces it is possible to take advantage of the Snack /Bar services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Costanza Hotel
Santa Costanza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing