We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Costanza
Ranked #579 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent traditional styled hotel with a reasonably good location. Very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and left luggage facility after you check out. Better to get off at Bologna metro station and walk from there. You have to get wifi connection slip from the reception. Recommended hotel when you are in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jobair99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

A very friendly welcoming hotel in traditional style. The staff were excellent - very helpful and well informed.

Breakfast was included each day, with a good choice of cold foods.

The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or evening meals, however, close by are several restaurants and bars of good to excellent quality.

The hotel was very well kept, my room was spotlessly clean, and the air-conditioning was very good considering that the temperature on one day reached 34c.

There are many local buses, and the nearest Metro station 'Bologna' is only 10 minutes walk giving access to much of Central Rome within minutes.

I would have liked to have had tea/coffee making facilities in my room or a place to get tea/coffee during the day. There is a bar in the evenings.

All in all a very comfortable place to stay, well located for trips into Rome or beyond. i.e. I took a day trip to Naples on the train, the local station being only about 20 mins walk and metro.

The wifi facility was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank swinsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at the Santa Costanza, this being our first time in Italy and Rome in particular, totally unaccustomed to the sheer noise of the city and it's surrounding areas. But arriving in reception we were greeted by a small team who immediately put us at our ease. We had booked two rooms and a double. We got a twin room and a room with two single beds pushed together :) But this was the only negative during our four day stay.The rooms were very clean with efficient air conditioning. The house staff tidy your temporary home from home as soon as you leave for the day. Each room had a balcony and good quality tv's although the choice of English speaking channels very limited...interesting to watch Two and a Half Men in Italian! The breakfast was very good although not too varied from day to day.
Don't be frightened and be prepared to utilize the knowledge and experience of the staff, they are only too welcome to help out. Chucking in a few Italian words helps no end.
The transport systems around the city are generally first class but not always that clean. (We were really surprised at the amount of graffiti that is everywhere you look in even some of the classier areas and around the more well known monuments).
The principle modes of transport apart from the taxi is the bus, metrobus and underground/overground train. Tickets can be bought at tobacconists and markets and can be for a couple of hours, days or weekly. From The Costanza lobby turn left out the door and walk up to the junction and (carefully) cross the road. This is one of the main thoroughfares into the city. The signs are well written and self explanatory. The 60 bus takes you to the centre of Rome dropping of at the Pia Vincenza where all the sightseeing starts. Our concierge, Claudio told us of Rome's very own beach, Ostia Lido. Less than an hour away by train, a real gem of a beach resort. Everyone we met, local or tourist visitor alike were more than happy to help and converse as much as they were able.
Food wise we were keen to try authentic food and the staff told us about place the locals use, always a good sign. The San Marino restaurant serves a wide variety of wonderful food at great prices...ask for Angelo. With shops and markets a short distance away down the hill and the Bologna Square 10 mins walk away, the Costanza is a wonderful first introduction to the seductive place that is Rome.(We forgot about the local tax payable at the end of the stay so be ready to pay a little on leaving.) Otherwise Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had booked accomodations elsewhere prior to our arival in Rome. When we arrived in the area we were quite lost. After wondering the streets looking for our destination we stepped in to this establishment to ask if someone might be able to point us in the right direction. The concierge at the desk was our savior that night. Pointing us in the right direction and even assisting us with calling our host from their front desk. In spite of us not being his customer, his professionalism and hospitality was one of the highlights of our trip. Should we find ourselves traveling that way again this gentleman had certainly earned our business in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank HooahWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel only have 1 elevator 1.2 sq meter for 5 floors and 250 guests. 1 lady & men restroom on the 2nd floor, while the breakfast room is on the 1st floor. closest Metro is station "Bologna" 15 minutes walk from hotel.
Too bad because personal are very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armandhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in 2009 for valentines.

The hotel was great, had a lovely room, breakfast was great and services from the staff was lovely.

We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the hotel as there is soooo much to see, and 3 nights just didn't quite cut it. Need more time!

The only thing i really regret was taking down the name of a restaurant one of the Reception staff gave us for dinner. It was a little place not to far from the hotel, but you could tell it was more for the locals as we where the only tourists there....

the food was AMAZING, portions was excellent.
we ate there all the for the duration we were there, as the menu had so much Italian food it was perfect.
As we gave a lovely tip the 1st time, we got even more food and treated with even more kindness the other nights.

I would recommend this hotel hands down, it is close to the underground station, a little out but not bad at all to get to nice and easy.
clean, comfortable, lovely staff, love the food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinkerTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Me and my partner went to Santa Costanza for 4 nights! it was clean enough and suited your basic needs however, ants were a problem in the room on the last night and we could not sleep well! Furthermore, the breakfast was fresh and tasty with a range of options. Before coming to this hotel I had read reviews about the staff and people had said that they were very friendly. In my experience it was not this way, when I asked a question the staff member was blunt and not very helpful. Overall the hotel was average but the staff could be more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Osimar Hotel
#387 of 1,271 in Rome
465 reviews
Hotel American Palace EUR
#1,051 of 1,271 in Rome
1,386 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#346 of 1,271 in Rome
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Fleming
#468 of 1,271 in Rome
1,326 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#290 of 1,271 in Rome
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Costanza

Address: Viale Ventuno Aprile 4, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#279 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £40 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Costanza 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Costanza Hotel is set in a quiet residential area of Rome, away from the chaotic city centre but with excellent transport links to easily reach the major sights ( LINE B METRO BOLOGNA ). Hotel Santa Costanza is located in the center of the fantastic Nomentano district, the area with the highest concentration of embassies in the middle of patrician neighborhood and near some of the most important Roman attractions. A spacious hall shall welcome you and the comfortable breakfast room will greet you every morning. The entire building is served by Wi-Fi access and an internet point is available at reception. The hotel offers also a cosy garden with a romantic Mediterranean flavoured atmosphere, lighted by the colours of the nature. This is the great kept secret by the Hotel Santa Costanza in the Heart of Rome. Recently refurbished, we have made an effort to recreate the natural style of the gardens of the Nomentano district. The area is perfect to relax for the mix of flowers, lights, shadows and silence create a unique environment. In within the outside spaces it is possible to take advantage of the Snack /Bar services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Costanza Hotel
Santa Costanza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing