We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Orso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
190
131
52
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
131
52
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorsopiazza navonagreat locationhotel facesancient buildingboutique hoteljunior suitenice rooftopwalking distancenecessary amenitiesfew issuesextremely helpful stafffront desk personchange roomsshort stay in romehistoric centerthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location.
The staff were all smiley and helpful - and they gave me the impression that they were already used to the feedback we gave them. They gave us a discount on the room, without question, once I explained that we did not get what we booked, but it isn't about saving a few pounds, when you have looked forward to staying in a boutique hotel with lovely photos and description.

The design of the hotel is very trendy - BUT - as per the previous reviews - the functionality has not been considered at all. We booked a room with a memory foam mattress and got a designer camp bed! The lighting is impractical and our room had a flimsy adjoining door - do not book room 104 - which proved really inconvenient on both nights as we too heard everything and this was more noises of the nocturnal variety, after our neighbours had obviously had a few drinks..... and then decided to smoke afterwards and the smoke came underneath the door.....
The breakfast is not acceptable for the room rate - disappointing.
Our overview view ( 2 couples) was either open the hotel and provide a full service that reflects the price you charge, open with the flaws, discount heavily and tell the guests why, or don't open until you have everything ready.
Rome was a fab, but the hotel was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Don't book room 104.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Great quiet location near piazza Navona in a small hidden street.
Everything is very new, staff is very helpful and polite. Elevator is not functioning yet so you have to carry your luggage by yourself. Rooms are smaller then they appear to be at the photos. We had connected room, no one warned us about this, but we were lucky no one was in the room next to ours.
Good design but no one was thinking about functionality - there is no space to put your clothes. One open hanger no shelves, no closets so you have to leave you luggage in your bags which is very inconvenient and it is impossible to keep your room tidy.
The bed has excellent mattresses but it is actually a pull-out sofa. Very good air-conditioning.
Breakfast was below the average, especially if you take into consideration the price you are paying, it is apsolutely not appropriate.
The main complaint was the terrace, one of the main reasons that I've chosen this hotel - it wasn't ready for opening yet, and on ther web pages you can see some relay nice photos. I would expect a price discount until everything if working properly (elevator and the roof terrace).
Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not connected
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetraZagreb_Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The location is unbeatable, everything is walking distance and is hdden in the backstreets giving you an authentic Italian feel.

Service was great, employees were really helpful

Interior was very modern and we even upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi bath, althought the rooms were small and we had a connecting door to another room so could here everything in the other room.

Breakfast was really poor.

Room Tip: Ask for Jacuzzi and with out a connecting door
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meenesh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

great location and outstanding design!
very friendly staff
highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Let me begin by saying the location of this hotel is unbeatable for a tourist--within walking distance of The Vatican, Piazza Navona, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, etc. It is also one of the most aesthetically-pleasing and beautiful hotel interiors I have stayed in. The building has been redone very well from a design standpoint.

That being said, I have some major concerns with the rooms. We stayed in a Deluxe Room (the middle price tier). Photos from the website for the Deluxe rooms do not reflect the bathroom that was in our room. Immediately upon walking in the room is a jacuzzi tub/shower IN the room. The only privacy is a narrow mirror, and there is NO privacy if someone is bathing/showering and another person opens the hotel room door. Anyone in the hall of the hotel could look in and see the bather. The photos on the website show a separate bathroom with shower, but this was not the case. We also had no desk, as was also shown in the website photo, only a narrow chair-less sill (6" deep) under the window, which faced a narrow alley. We were told no other rooms were available.

Perhaps my largest and most serious complaint about this room was the fact that it had an adjoining room separated by a sliding door. This sliding door provided NO sound insulation. I can understand the hotel not providing certain creature comforts, but privacy from room to room should be a bare minimum when staying at a hotel room. I could unfortunately hear far more than myself or my partner cared to hear: the individual in the adjacent room using the hairdryer, closing doors, bed springs when he/she sat or moved on the bed, flipping light switches, etc. This is unacceptable. No privacy.

A second major concern: our bed was a fold-out. Had we wanted, we would have been able to fold the bed up. Perhaps this would be okay for a room's second bed, but at the rate we are paying for this hotel room, the room's only bed should not be a fold-out. Because of the design of the fold-out, the bed is left away from the wall by over a foot, so do not expect to lean against the wall to watch TV on the bed or read.

A separate room holds the toilet and sink, but there is literally NO storage in the bathroom. The only (small) shelf in the room holds extra toilet paper and towels, and was above my head (I am 6' tall, so not practical for storage). The entire hotel room only has one small towel bar for a hand towel, so I am not sure where Relais Orso expects you to hang your wet towels after showering, let alone the robes that are provided.

Lighting is not functional: poor reading lights, NO light over the tub/shower. Clothing storage in the room is minimum--only two small open shelves. No closet of any kind. Certainly not enough to unpack a suitcase. No closed shelving, and only 5 hangers to hang clothes, which are open to the room.

When asked to place a local phone call (Rome to Rome), I was told the rate would be €5 per minute. Outrageous.

The dining space/restaurant was not completed, so we were sent down the street for espresso and a pastry at Papa's. The room has a small mini-fridge with expensive drinks (expected) but contained no wine bottle opener. They do, however, have a beer bottle opener.

The bottom line is that Relais Orso spent far too much time and money worrying about how the hotel looks, instead of actually thinking about how a traveler stays in the room. They have left out very basic things which are vital to a hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews